We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy views of the temples over a glass of wine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy views of the temples over a glass of wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We only stayed here for one night, but it was perfect. We got here in the late afternoon and rather than hustling to get to the archeological park before it closed, we relaxed by the pool with beautiful views of the Concordia temple. The temples are all within walking distance and we were there first thing the next morning before all the tour busses arrived. We had a room to the side of the hotel (no view of the temple) but it was one of the cleanest and most comfortable and soothing I have ever stayed in - I felt like I was in a spa and at that point I was not disappointed to not see the temples from our room, especially knowing that I just had to step outside the room to do so. We enjoyed an apperitivo on the hotel terrace overlooking the eliminated temples in the evening and then went to the hotel restaurant. The restaurant was the only disappointment - it was good, but very expensive and in my opinion not worth the price of admission. This could have been a fine, expensive restaurant anywhere in the world and felt sterile. I wished we would have just driven off and gone to one of the local restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    581
    165
    63
    19
    11
See reviews for
134
508
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here the last two nights of our trip and I wish we had stayed for three or longer. After all the dashing around sightseeing and driving in busy cities, this was the perfect place to take a slow look around and regroup. We arrived in a thunderstorm and kind of ran to our room overlooking the swimming pool through the garden. Having unpacked the sun came out and we walked up to the bar area and gazed across to the Temple of Concord. Surreal! Dinner was in the restaurant (inside because of the uncertain weather) and it was superb. Everything was cooked to perfection and served beautifully. Breakfasts are also served in the restaurant and consist of a very good buffet with a choice of eggs (all styles) and bacon. The next day we visited the museum just up the hill which was fascinating - full of grave finds from the surrounding cemetery and artefacts from Sicily previously displayed by museums worldwide. We followed this later in the afternoon with a walk to the temples. Found time to lounge by the pool for a little r&r. Dinner on the second night was served outside and was as delicious as the first. A truly wonderful hotel with friendly and efficient staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Maryland
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I don't often stay somewhere that the bellman comes away from the door to greet you at your car, but that was our first impression and great way to start our three night stay here in this elegant and spotless villa hotel. We booked a room with terrace and view of the Temple of Concordia and the lovely garden with ancient olive trees around the pool. Escorted to our room after a sincere and cordial greeting at the front desk, our host told us he thought Room 103 was the best of this type, and we agreed. Really well done interior design, this is carried throughout the hotel from it's cozy library and bar, and into the restaurant. Had we arrived a few days later, the restaurant would have been operating outdoors, as it was opened on our departure. That would have been a welcome addition to our stay, as the restaurant is enclosed and quite hot and stuffy, especially at dinner, which was full with diners. We did enjoy our breakfast each morning, with an excellent assorted of meats, cheeses, fruits, and wonderful cakes and pastries. The staff here in the restaurant was always friendly and very efficient. In fact, the staff here is large with a very high guest/staff ratio. We had two lunches here which were excellent and extremely convenient, since there are no good options at the temple site. Expensive and exclusive, we felt well care for, on this long-anticipated visit to Agrigento. Despite the foreboding guidebooks information on the actual town of Agrigento, we found it quite nice up at the top, and a very easy drive up from the hotel. You are in easy walking distance of both the temples entrances as well as the museum.

Room Tip: Room 103 with terrace and excellent view of the temples is on the end of the villa, so quiet and ful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Villa Athena with our 4 children and loved the experience. Best possible location in Agirento, with breathtaking views of the temples, great rooms, excellent service.... On the expensive side, but wortH every penny!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerly, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The Villa Athena was the perfect choice for visiting Agrigento. It is located directly in the Valley of the Temples. We were upgraded to rooms with private terraces and my view was the main temple. The service was outstanding. Alessio behind the desk was extremely accommodating and helpful. The restaurant on the premises had wonderful menu choices, all fresh and beautifully prepared. We were also given a recommendation and a reservation for the Kalos Restaurant in Agrigento and that was a fine choice. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully appointed, the bathrooms were fantastic, and the grounds were lovely. All in all, the perfect place to stay if a 5-star hotel is your choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

This was one of the most fabulous hotels I have ever stayed at. Everything from the views, to the service to the rooms were perfect. The hotel looks unassuming upon arrival however once you enter it is transformed into spectacular interiors.

CROWD: Chic Italians, well travelled couples and families, individuals looking for an escape to the countryside. Very quiet, peaceful and enjoyable group of people.

ROOMS: state of the art rooms. Every hotel room goes above and beyond in it's finishings and interiors. The bathroom is pristine and the furniture is contemporary chic. Very tasteful. There is not a bad room in the entire hotel and every room boasts a perfect picturesque view of the valley of temples. It is truly breathtaking waking up and falling sleep to such splendor

STAFF: very friendly, polite and professional. Willing to help if looking for suggestions. My only critique is that a tour of the valley of temples does not cost 120 eur per person - that's quite absurd.

COST: we spent 300 eur for one night. Definitely on the expensive side but worth it for the fabulous hotel and pool.

Con: the only tealy crtique i have is that the hotel has a fabulous view of the temples and will not serve you a glass of wine while admiring the view! The pool is spectacular and it would have been wonderful to enjoy the views w a glass of wine. The only place you can get food/drinks is a little cafe behind the hotel which does not have a view or anything.

Thank you for a fabulous stay! I will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was giving a suite facing the Valley of Temples. Extremely clean, excelent service, very good food and a fantastic view, all very private, which was exactly what I was looking for. I could drive easily to town to go to a nice restaurant. The breakfast, included, was very good, with fruits, jams, breads, hotties and a very good fresh coffee. Recepcionists were knowledgeable and helpful and the olive trees were a charm. Oranges from the trees were also a treat. All in all, the best hotel I stayed in my 40 days in Italy. Highly recomend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the temples. If you are looking for a honeymoon, be ready because you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
Free internet...
Show More
4.1 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
1.7 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
Romantic, Free...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra
Hotel Costazzurra
#1 of 3 in San Leone
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
1.3 mi away
Hotel Exclusive
Hotel Exclusive
#3 of 27 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 stars 146 reviews
Beach, Pool, Fr...
Show More
3.7 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#4 of 27 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.