We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Location for Valley of the Temples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Location for Valley of the Temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The position of this hotel cannot be beaten if you wish to see/visit The Valley of The Temples. It is a short (500m) walk to the park entrance. We had a "Concordia" room, overlooking The Temple of Concord, which was surreal to experience as it changed colour from daylight, through dusk and into the darkness as the floodlights illuminated it. The room was stylish and very comfortable, though not huge, and the rainforest shower was the best I've experienced - complete with porthole, so that you could see the Temple whilst showering! The staff were very friendly and professional, remembering us throughout the establishment, which made us feel valued guests. We dined at the hotel's stylish restaurant and enjoyed one of our two best meals in Sicily. Try the stuffed, deep-fried artichokes (starter) - amazing, followed by the tender rack of lamb, done exactly to our liking. The breakfast spread was also excellent and again the staff were welcoming and willing to provide any cooked items you wanted. A charming and elegant hotel with very welcoming staff. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Temple of Concord.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    580
    162
    63
    19
    11
See reviews for
138
520
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a wonderful place. Luckily we visited off-season, when room price was more affordable. Easy car parking; staff rush to take bags and to proffer umbrellas if you arrive in a downpour, as we did. The view from our window of the Temple of Concord was unsurpassable. In more clement weather, we could have eaten on our private terrace with that amazing sight as a backdrop. The bathroom shower was the best ever. There is an attractive, airy lounge area with books to look at.
The restaurant is across the driveway, which meant dashing through pouring rain (and even hail!) for dinner and breakfast. Staff are charming. The restaurant entrance has a glass floor beneath which you can see an excavated Greek stone cistern/wine store. Prices on the menus were not outlandish. One weird thing, though. Many dishes had €" in the price column, which we at first took to mean those dishes were off that evening. However, it actually indicates that the price is the same as that of the dish above.
I was a bit disappointed not to find freshly squeezed orange juice on the breakfast buffet, since we seemed to be surrounded by orange groves, but maybe I was just unobservant. The coffee machine produced dreadfully stewed coffee, but we realised the next table had grabbed a waiter and requested fresh cappuccino, so we did the same. The cooked breakfast isn't laid out, so again you need to ask a waiter for that.
It was a short walk downhill to the entrance to the temples site, and a short walk uphill to Agrigento's comprehensive archaeological museum.
All in all, a perfect situation, and a lovely place to stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We booked a superior double in order to have the view south, over the temples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a window we've got in our room in villa Athena. We have the view of the Temple of Hera in the Valley of the Temples. You can easily walk to the archaeological sites, the Valley of the Temples and the Museum. Love the 2 sinks in the bathroom.

The staff are really attentive. For those who have a car, the hotel has good parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the Temple of Hera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in Agrigento las February. This hotel is wonderful. Beautiful rooms and nice staff.
From one of the windows we could see Hera's temple. The location is also great since you can walk to the temples and to the Museum of Archeology. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 7 days at the Villa Athena in February. We had a super stay and the hotel was lovely. It is very clean and our room, a superior - number 108, was very comfortable with a perfect view of the temples. They are definitely worth visiting and the cafe near the entrance does a super pizza and large beer.
Our only disappointment was not due to the hotel, but due to Agrigento itself. It was not what we expected and there was very little to see - it was very run down. We recommend hiring a car and visiting Ragusa and also the shopping outlet inland.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a super view of the gardens and temple. Try to avoid those on the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay. My room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The staff was very attentive. But the best aspect is the location, a bare five minute walk to the entrance of the fabulous Agrigento archeological park. To my knowledge there is no other hotel in the area that has this kind of access. The location permits you to explore the park at your leisure and at different times of the day (which is good for photography). Attached is a picture of the hotel as seen from the park, through the gorgeous almond blossoms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.