We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dream Window” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The Dream Window”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a window we've got in our room in villa Athena. We have the view of the Temple of Hera in the Valley of the Temples. You can easily walk to the archaeological sites, the Valley of the Temples and the Museum. Love the 2 sinks in the bathroom.

The staff are really attentive. For those who have a car, the hotel has good parking.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view of the Temple of Hera.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    772
    203
    69
    21
    15
See reviews for
170
689
17
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I stayed in Agrigento las February. This hotel is wonderful. Beautiful rooms and nice staff.
From one of the windows we could see Hera's temple. The location is also great since you can walk to the temples and to the Museum of Archeology. It was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for 7 days at the Villa Athena in February. We had a super stay and the hotel was lovely. It is very clean and our room, a superior - number 108, was very comfortable with a perfect view of the temples. They are definitely worth visiting and the cafe near the entrance does a super pizza and large beer.
Our only disappointment was not due to the hotel, but due to Agrigento itself. It was not what we expected and there was very little to see - it was very run down. We recommend hiring a car and visiting Ragusa and also the shopping outlet inland.

Room Tip: Room 108 has a super view of the gardens and temple. Try to avoid those on the car park side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay. My room was clean, comfortable, and spacious. The staff was very attentive. But the best aspect is the location, a bare five minute walk to the entrance of the fabulous Agrigento archeological park. To my knowledge there is no other hotel in the area that has this kind of access. The location permits you to explore the park at your leisure and at different times of the day (which is good for photography). Attached is a picture of the hotel as seen from the park, through the gorgeous almond blossoms.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything has been said about the rooms by others and not much about the restaurant and food so here goes. As we stayed in January we were in the restaurant building rather than under the stars looking up at the temple of Concord. For a five star restaurant the décor is disappointing and clinical rather than comfortable and chic. My wife and I would have preferred something with a little 'older feel' rather than 'Italian designer'. Lighting is on the glaring side and the overall effect is 'un-cosy'. Some curtains would probably soften the whole place rather than the black of the night-time windows. However the waiter who looked after us couldn't have been nicer and friendly and suggested some quite amazing typical Sicilian dishes, particularly the remarkable desert; a baked pistachio casing with a chocolate centre somewhat like a soufflé. The linguine with eggplant sauce, mushrooms and swordfish strips was to die for.

And the breakfast was great with dishes not on the buffet available to order. Eggs any style, grilled tomatoes etc.

The Archeological Museum is a good half a kilometer from the hotel (uphill) and the first Temple of Concord the same distance although not such a climb. Something to be aware of if you plan to walk on a hot day in the sun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the most expensive suite in this hotel and it was an outrageous price but, because the weather turned out to be unexpectedly hot, we were able to sunbathe on our private terrace while overlooking the Temple of Concord. We were also able to lie in bed and see it floodlit at night. The second room in the suite had a hot tub which was very complicated to fill and work but there was no other bath. There were not enough staff over Xmas so that one exhausted young woman ran backwards and forwards to put right the inevitable mistakes made when ordering room service. The food in the restaurant was not very good. The beds were comfortable but there was only one room downstairs in which to sit. It really isn't a 5 star hotel except for its remarkable view.

Room Tip: Only worth staying if you have a room facing the temples
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fabulous view of the temples, and within walking distance, so you can leave your car at the hotel while you walk to the site. Beautiful lush grounds and nice swimming pool. All very tastefully done. Our room was quite simple, not particularly spacious for a triple. Nice bed linens and a bathrobe and slippers in the bathroom. Friendly front desk staff. Average breakfast.
We have recommended it to many friends, all of them very happy with it too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Escapio, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.