We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And the restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“And the restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Everything has been said about the rooms by others and not much about the restaurant and food so here goes. As we stayed in January we were in the restaurant building rather than under the stars looking up at the temple of Concord. For a five star restaurant the décor is disappointing and clinical rather than comfortable and chic. My wife and I would have preferred something with a little 'older feel' rather than 'Italian designer'. Lighting is on the glaring side and the overall effect is 'un-cosy'. Some curtains would probably soften the whole place rather than the black of the night-time windows. However the waiter who looked after us couldn't have been nicer and friendly and suggested some quite amazing typical Sicilian dishes, particularly the remarkable desert; a baked pistachio casing with a chocolate centre somewhat like a soufflé. The linguine with eggplant sauce, mushrooms and swordfish strips was to die for.

And the breakfast was great with dishes not on the buffet available to order. Eggs any style, grilled tomatoes etc.

The Archeological Museum is a good half a kilometer from the hotel (uphill) and the first Temple of Concord the same distance although not such a climb. Something to be aware of if you plan to walk on a hot day in the sun.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    578
    165
    63
    19
    11
See reviews for
134
506
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed in the most expensive suite in this hotel and it was an outrageous price but, because the weather turned out to be unexpectedly hot, we were able to sunbathe on our private terrace while overlooking the Temple of Concord. We were also able to lie in bed and see it floodlit at night. The second room in the suite had a hot tub which was very complicated to fill and work but there was no other bath. There were not enough staff over Xmas so that one exhausted young woman ran backwards and forwards to put right the inevitable mistakes made when ordering room service. The food in the restaurant was not very good. The beds were comfortable but there was only one room downstairs in which to sit. It really isn't a 5 star hotel except for its remarkable view.

Room Tip: Only worth staying if you have a room facing the temples
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Fabulous view of the temples, and within walking distance, so you can leave your car at the hotel while you walk to the site. Beautiful lush grounds and nice swimming pool. All very tastefully done. Our room was quite simple, not particularly spacious for a triple. Nice bed linens and a bathrobe and slippers in the bathroom. Friendly front desk staff. Average breakfast.
We have recommended it to many friends, all of them very happy with it too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbellford, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you've come to Agrigento to see the Valley of the Temples, then this is the hotel where you should stay. The view from our bedroom window after sunset, overlooking the Temple of Concordia warmly floodlit under a starry sky, must be amongst the most romantic we've seen.
Service at the hotel was professional and courteous, even if a little impersonal. Our room was clean and well appointed, with a big bathroom and three windows overlooking the archaeological site.
The biggest drawback? There's a restaurant on site, the Granaio di Ibla, but we wouldn't recommend eating there, and you have to drive into town to eat somewhere else.
The bottom line? This was one of the very finest hotels we stayed at in Sicily. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at a very good-value winter rate. The location - overlooking the temples from the gorgeous gardens with swimming pool - has to be seen to be believed. The rooms are ultra-modern and luxurious, glass bathroom not to everyone's taste, excellent beds. The lobby staff are helpful and efficient and speak excellent English (the only place we found this anywhere in Sicily). The breakfast is certainly not five-star and was most disappointing, breakfast staff were of no help.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay that is let down by the breakfast. On winter rates an excellent choice, would hesitate to pay top dollar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First impressions were good - the location is great with amazing views of the valle dei templi. But from thereon nothing stood out. The hotel restaurant is a dull pastiche of five star clichés - with one a wall covered by bottles of big name champagne (what about the prosecco, guys?). Our room is nice enough - we had a suite (202) with nice views but nothing in particular to stay in the memory. The biggest disappointment was the bland and disinterested service - you'd be much better off staying at the wonderful Mandranova and visiting the valle dei templi on a day trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to learn that your stay at our hotel, the only 5 star situated inside the archeological park of the Valley of the Temples ( recognized by Unesco as a World heritage site ) was not a memorable experience for you.
Looking out of the suite that you mention that was assigned room 202 ( giving you a free upgrade ) there is a breathe taking front view of the Temple of Concord … centuries of history and uncontaminated nature isn’t enough for you ???
Our restaurant has a renowned wine cellar looked after with passion by our wine-steward : we have an entire wine rack divided into 3 sections champagnes, red and white wines mostly Sicilian as you can see from our wine list ( I deduct perhaps you did not consult it ? ).
I hope to have you once again as our welcomed guest so you can discover the wonders of our territory that cannot certainly be appreciated on a one day trip as you mistakenly suggest.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORVALLIS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Villa Athena is a small hotel with a fantastic location if visiting the temples at Agrigento. The winter rates are a fantastic bargain, we paid the same price or more at many other hotels in Sicily for far inferior rooms.
The service in the hotel was impeccable with every facility available even a loaner Apple iPad! The breakfast buffet was by far the best that we had at any hotel during our stay in Sicily and the restaurant choice, service and food was very good but somewhat pricey compared to the room cost.
Our only quibble would be with the bathroom arragements...the architect or interior designer decided that it would be a good idea to have glass walls! Few bodies can stand up to that kind of scrutiny!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.