We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
Campbellford, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you've come to Agrigento to see the Valley of the Temples, then this is the hotel where you should stay. The view from our bedroom window after sunset, overlooking the Temple of Concordia warmly floodlit under a starry sky, must be amongst the most romantic we've seen.
Service at the hotel was professional and courteous, even if a little impersonal. Our room was clean and well appointed, with a big bathroom and three windows overlooking the archaeological site.
The biggest drawback? There's a restaurant on site, the Granaio di Ibla, but we wouldn't recommend eating there, and you have to drive into town to eat somewhere else.
The bottom line? This was one of the very finest hotels we stayed at in Sicily. We'll be going back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    577
    164
    63
    19
    11
See reviews for
133
505
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at a very good-value winter rate. The location - overlooking the temples from the gorgeous gardens with swimming pool - has to be seen to be believed. The rooms are ultra-modern and luxurious, glass bathroom not to everyone's taste, excellent beds. The lobby staff are helpful and efficient and speak excellent English (the only place we found this anywhere in Sicily). The breakfast is certainly not five-star and was most disappointing, breakfast staff were of no help.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay that is let down by the breakfast. On winter rates an excellent choice, would hesitate to pay top dollar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First impressions were good - the location is great with amazing views of the valle dei templi. But from thereon nothing stood out. The hotel restaurant is a dull pastiche of five star clichés - with one a wall covered by bottles of big name champagne (what about the prosecco, guys?). Our room is nice enough - we had a suite (202) with nice views but nothing in particular to stay in the memory. The biggest disappointment was the bland and disinterested service - you'd be much better off staying at the wonderful Mandranova and visiting the valle dei templi on a day trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to learn that your stay at our hotel, the only 5 star situated inside the archeological park of the Valley of the Temples ( recognized by Unesco as a World heritage site ) was not a memorable experience for you.
Looking out of the suite that you mention that was assigned room 202 ( giving you a free upgrade ) there is a breathe taking front view of the Temple of Concord … centuries of history and uncontaminated nature isn’t enough for you ???
Our restaurant has a renowned wine cellar looked after with passion by our wine-steward : we have an entire wine rack divided into 3 sections champagnes, red and white wines mostly Sicilian as you can see from our wine list ( I deduct perhaps you did not consult it ? ).
I hope to have you once again as our welcomed guest so you can discover the wonders of our territory that cannot certainly be appreciated on a one day trip as you mistakenly suggest.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORVALLIS
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Villa Athena is a small hotel with a fantastic location if visiting the temples at Agrigento. The winter rates are a fantastic bargain, we paid the same price or more at many other hotels in Sicily for far inferior rooms.
The service in the hotel was impeccable with every facility available even a loaner Apple iPad! The breakfast buffet was by far the best that we had at any hotel during our stay in Sicily and the restaurant choice, service and food was very good but somewhat pricey compared to the room cost.
Our only quibble would be with the bathroom arragements...the architect or interior designer decided that it would be a good idea to have glass walls! Few bodies can stand up to that kind of scrutiny!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friend and I were very excited about staying in this beautiful hotel.

We had booked the room months in advance, purchasing a room which overlooked a temple. However when we arrived, our room which supposedly overlooked the temple, in fact looked out onto an Olive tree which blocked the entire view of the temple!
We politely went to discuss this with the receptionist who smirkingly told us 'It's not our fault there is an olive tree. What, do you want us to move it?'

The rest of the stay was pleasant enough, however the rudeness of the staff and having to pay for a view we didn't receive tainted the whole stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your note that you wrote on Trip Advisor concerning your stay with us.
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the annoying circumstances occurred, I was sorry to read from your comments that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations.
I have noted your feedback about the room: as we purpose you to change the room i don't think is appropriate to define our reception staff "rude".
It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I would like to once again offer my personal apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Villa Athena.

Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a family of four. We had a suite which was very generously sized with a separate living area, which at the cost of 70 euros, was converted into two beds for our young children....a little pricey in my view but I guess that's the beauty of a five star rating. We thought the rooms were worthy of the rating but the services lacking and not worth five stars. We cant fault the reception, we were shown the presidential suite when requesting a view and offered it at a discount...which we decided against given the cold weather meant we would not have utilised the large terrace anyway. But there the service stopped. There was no staff available to proide drinks or coffee in the bar area, we went out there in a number of occasions. No room service menu, other than breakfast which was subject to a 15 euro delivery charge. The breakfast in the restaurant was also lacking in my view, we had a far superior breakfast choice at Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina which is a lesser rated hotel.

Location and view cant be beaten...we initially drove down to the gate of the ruins but realised the parking was further away than the hotel, so dropped off the kids and returned the car to the hotel. Somene mentioned the walk bordered a busy road but we did not find it s problem crossing (low sason) with young children. Although the hotel culd consider putting a paath through the almond grove to the sidewalk on the left side of the street to remove the need to use the footpath on the other side.

Room Tip: 104 was a spacious suite on the ground floor so no stairs. A small side view of the temple of concor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to report us your feedback.
On behalf of all the staff, we are extremely sorry that your visit failed short of your expectations.
As you could have noticed on TripAdvisor, we are accustomed to receive only very positive comments and your criticism has been taken in a very serious concern.
Unfortunately we can't have a private access to the Valley because for entering inside the park you must pay a ticket and for this reason they didn't allowed other entrances.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your impression of our hotel.
Looking forward to assisting you personally.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location - easy walk to the entrance of the Valley of The Temples. Lovely, well appointed comfortable rooms.attentive and helpful staff. Breakfasts excellent. It was on the pricier side of our accommodation during our 6 week sojourn but you get what you pay for! We liked the restaurant too, local dishes, good wine and again top service.
We rate this hotel as our equal best this trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.