We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location for the Temples” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Darmstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Ideal location for the Temples”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights at a very good-value winter rate. The location - overlooking the temples from the gorgeous gardens with swimming pool - has to be seen to be believed. The rooms are ultra-modern and luxurious, glass bathroom not to everyone's taste, excellent beds. The lobby staff are helpful and efficient and speak excellent English (the only place we found this anywhere in Sicily). The breakfast is certainly not five-star and was most disappointing, breakfast staff were of no help.

Overall, a fantastic place to stay that is let down by the breakfast. On winter rates an excellent choice, would hesitate to pay top dollar!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    177
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
150
591
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

First impressions were good - the location is great with amazing views of the valle dei templi. But from thereon nothing stood out. The hotel restaurant is a dull pastiche of five star clichés - with one a wall covered by bottles of big name champagne (what about the prosecco, guys?). Our room is nice enough - we had a suite (202) with nice views but nothing in particular to stay in the memory. The biggest disappointment was the bland and disinterested service - you'd be much better off staying at the wonderful Mandranova and visiting the valle dei templi on a day trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
We are sorry to learn that your stay at our hotel, the only 5 star situated inside the archeological park of the Valley of the Temples ( recognized by Unesco as a World heritage site ) was not a memorable experience for you.
Looking out of the suite that you mention that was assigned room 202 ( giving you a free upgrade ) there is a breathe taking front view of the Temple of Concord … centuries of history and uncontaminated nature isn’t enough for you ???
Our restaurant has a renowned wine cellar looked after with passion by our wine-steward : we have an entire wine rack divided into 3 sections champagnes, red and white wines mostly Sicilian as you can see from our wine list ( I deduct perhaps you did not consult it ? ).
I hope to have you once again as our welcomed guest so you can discover the wonders of our territory that cannot certainly be appreciated on a one day trip as you mistakenly suggest.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORVALLIS
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Villa Athena is a small hotel with a fantastic location if visiting the temples at Agrigento. The winter rates are a fantastic bargain, we paid the same price or more at many other hotels in Sicily for far inferior rooms.
The service in the hotel was impeccable with every facility available even a loaner Apple iPad! The breakfast buffet was by far the best that we had at any hotel during our stay in Sicily and the restaurant choice, service and food was very good but somewhat pricey compared to the room cost.
Our only quibble would be with the bathroom arragements...the architect or interior designer decided that it would be a good idea to have glass walls! Few bodies can stand up to that kind of scrutiny!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friend and I were very excited about staying in this beautiful hotel.

We had booked the room months in advance, purchasing a room which overlooked a temple. However when we arrived, our room which supposedly overlooked the temple, in fact looked out onto an Olive tree which blocked the entire view of the temple!
We politely went to discuss this with the receptionist who smirkingly told us 'It's not our fault there is an olive tree. What, do you want us to move it?'

The rest of the stay was pleasant enough, however the rudeness of the staff and having to pay for a view we didn't receive tainted the whole stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your note that you wrote on Trip Advisor concerning your stay with us.
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the annoying circumstances occurred, I was sorry to read from your comments that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations.
I have noted your feedback about the room: as we purpose you to change the room i don't think is appropriate to define our reception staff "rude".
It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I would like to once again offer my personal apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Villa Athena.

Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a family of four. We had a suite which was very generously sized with a separate living area, which at the cost of 70 euros, was converted into two beds for our young children....a little pricey in my view but I guess that's the beauty of a five star rating. We thought the rooms were worthy of the rating but the services lacking and not worth five stars. We cant fault the reception, we were shown the presidential suite when requesting a view and offered it at a discount...which we decided against given the cold weather meant we would not have utilised the large terrace anyway. But there the service stopped. There was no staff available to proide drinks or coffee in the bar area, we went out there in a number of occasions. No room service menu, other than breakfast which was subject to a 15 euro delivery charge. The breakfast in the restaurant was also lacking in my view, we had a far superior breakfast choice at Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina which is a lesser rated hotel.

Location and view cant be beaten...we initially drove down to the gate of the ruins but realised the parking was further away than the hotel, so dropped off the kids and returned the car to the hotel. Somene mentioned the walk bordered a busy road but we did not find it s problem crossing (low sason) with young children. Although the hotel culd consider putting a paath through the almond grove to the sidewalk on the left side of the street to remove the need to use the footpath on the other side.

Room Tip: 104 was a spacious suite on the ground floor so no stairs. A small side view of the temple of concor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to report us your feedback.
On behalf of all the staff, we are extremely sorry that your visit failed short of your expectations.
As you could have noticed on TripAdvisor, we are accustomed to receive only very positive comments and your criticism has been taken in a very serious concern.
Unfortunately we can't have a private access to the Valley because for entering inside the park you must pay a ticket and for this reason they didn't allowed other entrances.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your impression of our hotel.
Looking forward to assisting you personally.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location - easy walk to the entrance of the Valley of The Temples. Lovely, well appointed comfortable rooms.attentive and helpful staff. Breakfasts excellent. It was on the pricier side of our accommodation during our 6 week sojourn but you get what you pay for! We liked the restaurant too, local dishes, good wine and again top service.
We rate this hotel as our equal best this trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Athena is ideally located walking distance from the Valley of the Temples. It is a 5 minute drive up hill to the main part of Agrigento and 10 minutes down hill to the harbor. The hotel service was very good and we had a temple view. Our room was more 4 star than 5 but very comfortable and roomy. The desk staff, particularly the lady in charge, were extremely helpful. She arranged a massage for my wife and called a previous hotel for us to sort out a problem. The breakfast was very good, with lots of selection. The hotel has a beautiful garden and pool with views of a temple. It is silent at night and there are sliding doors that seal off the rooms from the lobby.

The temples and the rest of the National Park are well worth the trip and we liked Agrigento very much. The main town has Via Vittoria, something out of Paris, overlooking the valley and the main shopping street has very upscale stores. Parking is no problem. There is an accessible public garage right in the center and we parked on Vittoria. Put two Euro in the parking machine and you are good for 5 hours. After 8 PM it is free.

We dined at a fish restaurant on the harbor, the Pescatore, and the food and service were excellent. Use your GPS to get there but there were very few turns and lots of parking. The second night we found an enormous modern restaurant built into old vaults of some kind on Via Vittoria, full of people and with some groups celebrating birthdays, engagements etc. Everyone was smartly dressed and the waiters wore the real waiter garb. We were surprised at the upscale nature of much of Agrigento and friendliness towards tourists lacking the language.We went to a pharmacia on Vittoria and they could not have been more helpful. They even found someone to speak with us in a common language, French.

For us Agrigento is a "must see" in Sicily and we would stay at the Athena without question. The perfect location and tranquil atmosphere make it an easy choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a temple view. Even better ask for a room with a terrace, which many have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.