We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and Rude!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #1 of 27 hotels in Agrigento
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Rude!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friend and I were very excited about staying in this beautiful hotel.

We had booked the room months in advance, purchasing a room which overlooked a temple. However when we arrived, our room which supposedly overlooked the temple, in fact looked out onto an Olive tree which blocked the entire view of the temple!
We politely went to discuss this with the receptionist who smirkingly told us 'It's not our fault there is an olive tree. What, do you want us to move it?'

The rest of the stay was pleasant enough, however the rudeness of the staff and having to pay for a view we didn't receive tainted the whole stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your note that you wrote on Trip Advisor concerning your stay with us.
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the annoying circumstances occurred, I was sorry to read from your comments that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations.
I have noted your feedback about the room: as we purpose you to change the room i don't think is appropriate to define our reception staff "rude".
It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I would like to once again offer my personal apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Villa Athena.

Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    538
    153
    61
    19
    11
See reviews for
122
478
14
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a family of four. We had a suite which was very generously sized with a separate living area, which at the cost of 70 euros, was converted into two beds for our young children....a little pricey in my view but I guess that's the beauty of a five star rating. We thought the rooms were worthy of the rating but the services lacking and not worth five stars. We cant fault the reception, we were shown the presidential suite when requesting a view and offered it at a discount...which we decided against given the cold weather meant we would not have utilised the large terrace anyway. But there the service stopped. There was no staff available to proide drinks or coffee in the bar area, we went out there in a number of occasions. No room service menu, other than breakfast which was subject to a 15 euro delivery charge. The breakfast in the restaurant was also lacking in my view, we had a far superior breakfast choice at Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina which is a lesser rated hotel.

Location and view cant be beaten...we initially drove down to the gate of the ruins but realised the parking was further away than the hotel, so dropped off the kids and returned the car to the hotel. Somene mentioned the walk bordered a busy road but we did not find it s problem crossing (low sason) with young children. Although the hotel culd consider putting a paath through the almond grove to the sidewalk on the left side of the street to remove the need to use the footpath on the other side.

Room Tip: 104 was a spacious suite on the ground floor so no stairs. A small side view of the temple of concor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to report us your feedback.
On behalf of all the staff, we are extremely sorry that your visit failed short of your expectations.
As you could have noticed on TripAdvisor, we are accustomed to receive only very positive comments and your criticism has been taken in a very serious concern.
Unfortunately we can't have a private access to the Valley because for entering inside the park you must pay a ticket and for this reason they didn't allowed other entrances.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your impression of our hotel.
Looking forward to assisting you personally.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location - easy walk to the entrance of the Valley of The Temples. Lovely, well appointed comfortable rooms.attentive and helpful staff. Breakfasts excellent. It was on the pricier side of our accommodation during our 6 week sojourn but you get what you pay for! We liked the restaurant too, local dishes, good wine and again top service.
We rate this hotel as our equal best this trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Athena is ideally located walking distance from the Valley of the Temples. It is a 5 minute drive up hill to the main part of Agrigento and 10 minutes down hill to the harbor. The hotel service was very good and we had a temple view. Our room was more 4 star than 5 but very comfortable and roomy. The desk staff, particularly the lady in charge, were extremely helpful. She arranged a massage for my wife and called a previous hotel for us to sort out a problem. The breakfast was very good, with lots of selection. The hotel has a beautiful garden and pool with views of a temple. It is silent at night and there are sliding doors that seal off the rooms from the lobby.

The temples and the rest of the National Park are well worth the trip and we liked Agrigento very much. The main town has Via Vittoria, something out of Paris, overlooking the valley and the main shopping street has very upscale stores. Parking is no problem. There is an accessible public garage right in the center and we parked on Vittoria. Put two Euro in the parking machine and you are good for 5 hours. After 8 PM it is free.

We dined at a fish restaurant on the harbor, the Pescatore, and the food and service were excellent. Use your GPS to get there but there were very few turns and lots of parking. The second night we found an enormous modern restaurant built into old vaults of some kind on Via Vittoria, full of people and with some groups celebrating birthdays, engagements etc. Everyone was smartly dressed and the waiters wore the real waiter garb. We were surprised at the upscale nature of much of Agrigento and friendliness towards tourists lacking the language.We went to a pharmacia on Vittoria and they could not have been more helpful. They even found someone to speak with us in a common language, French.

For us Agrigento is a "must see" in Sicily and we would stay at the Athena without question. The perfect location and tranquil atmosphere make it an easy choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a temple view. Even better ask for a room with a terrace, which many have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hello everyone! I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Athena in Agrigento.
Council to all of you this hotel if you happen to be in the beautiful Sicily and especially in Agrigento.
I've been there for 3 days. Full board, and I found everything exceptionally well-groomed.

My wonderful room, in addition to being clean. There was a balcony with a view of the temple of concord, and a small window in the shower, and also from there you could see the temple. The bathroom great attention to detail, beautiful floors and furniture with which they decorated the rooms are fine.

The cleaning service is impeccable. Every time I came in the room I found the room spotlessly clean, with clean towels.

Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. I remember Claudia, very polite and with a mastery of languages ​​really excellent.


I have almost every day had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. Hotel restaurant is really gorgeous. The breakfast is a mix, you can do the Italian and international. As for lunch and dinner is traditional Sicilian cuisine. The products are selected with care and presented with lovely attention.

Too bad it started the winter, because I would have liked to have lunch or dinner in the panoramic terrace where you can enjoy a unique view of the world, the temple of concord.

They were three beautiful days, I recommend you all to go to Agrigento, there are many beautiful things to see, and you happen to be staying at the hotel villa athena. Perhaps it is not accessible to all budgets, but I know there are lots of offers.

Hello everyone, I hope my review helpful.
Valentine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We got a great rate through booking online in advance and we're very happy with this hotel. Amazing location to explore the ruins and lovely hotel. Great amenities and helpful staff. We also had dinner here (as well as the included breakfast ) and enjoyed both meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went during off-season and managed to get one of those rooms with the terrace facing the famous Concord Temple. This view by itself is worth the trip! The restaurant is fabulous too both for dinner and for breakfast. Last but not least, service is really friendly. Now why is it not a five? Agrigento is not a nice place for tourists and the area of town closest to the hotel is outright filthy. So once you fancy more than just the luxuries of the hotel, you are stuck. If the hotel with a view, a great pool and amenities is what you want, you have found the right place!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the temple, ideally on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Alex H,
thank you for your note that you had posted on Trip Advisor.
Sincerely, we feel honored to have been able to assist you and we are happy to understand that your stay with us has been enjoyable. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the entire Staff.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Agrigento to show you that Agrigento is not just Valley of the Temples: we have a rich archeological museum, nice churches and a great historical city centre.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of future assistance you may need.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Splendia, Tingo, Travelocity, Escapio and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.