We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and Rude!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Rude!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My friend and I were very excited about staying in this beautiful hotel.

We had booked the room months in advance, purchasing a room which overlooked a temple. However when we arrived, our room which supposedly overlooked the temple, in fact looked out onto an Olive tree which blocked the entire view of the temple!
We politely went to discuss this with the receptionist who smirkingly told us 'It's not our fault there is an olive tree. What, do you want us to move it?'

The rest of the stay was pleasant enough, however the rudeness of the staff and having to pay for a view we didn't receive tainted the whole stay for us.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank savgirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your note that you wrote on Trip Advisor concerning your stay with us.
First of all please accept our sincere apologies for the annoying circumstances occurred, I was sorry to read from your comments that your recent stay at our property was not up to your expectations.
I have noted your feedback about the room: as we purpose you to change the room i don't think is appropriate to define our reception staff "rude".
It is never our intention to disappoint our guests and I would like to once again offer my personal apologies for any inconvenience and disappointment caused.
We will always welcome the opportunity to be of service and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel Villa Athena.

Kind regards,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for one night, a family of four. We had a suite which was very generously sized with a separate living area, which at the cost of 70 euros, was converted into two beds for our young children....a little pricey in my view but I guess that's the beauty of a five star rating. We thought the rooms were worthy of the rating but the services lacking and not worth five stars. We cant fault the reception, we were shown the presidential suite when requesting a view and offered it at a discount...which we decided against given the cold weather meant we would not have utilised the large terrace anyway. But there the service stopped. There was no staff available to proide drinks or coffee in the bar area, we went out there in a number of occasions. No room service menu, other than breakfast which was subject to a 15 euro delivery charge. The breakfast in the restaurant was also lacking in my view, we had a far superior breakfast choice at Hotel Villa Schuler in Taormina which is a lesser rated hotel.

Location and view cant be beaten...we initially drove down to the gate of the ruins but realised the parking was further away than the hotel, so dropped off the kids and returned the car to the hotel. Somene mentioned the walk bordered a busy road but we did not find it s problem crossing (low sason) with young children. Although the hotel culd consider putting a paath through the almond grove to the sidewalk on the left side of the street to remove the need to use the footpath on the other side.

Room Tip: 104 was a spacious suite on the ground floor so no stairs. A small side view of the temple of concor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Expat_Kiwi_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to report us your feedback.
On behalf of all the staff, we are extremely sorry that your visit failed short of your expectations.
As you could have noticed on TripAdvisor, we are accustomed to receive only very positive comments and your criticism has been taken in a very serious concern.
Unfortunately we can't have a private access to the Valley because for entering inside the park you must pay a ticket and for this reason they didn't allowed other entrances.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your impression of our hotel.
Looking forward to assisting you personally.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
203 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location - easy walk to the entrance of the Valley of The Temples. Lovely, well appointed comfortable rooms.attentive and helpful staff. Breakfasts excellent. It was on the pricier side of our accommodation during our 6 week sojourn but you get what you pay for! We liked the restaurant too, local dishes, good wine and again top service.
We rate this hotel as our equal best this trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sydneysida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level Contributor
202 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The Athena is ideally located walking distance from the Valley of the Temples. It is a 5 minute drive up hill to the main part of Agrigento and 10 minutes down hill to the harbor. The hotel service was very good and we had a temple view. Our room was more 4 star than 5 but very comfortable and roomy. The desk staff, particularly the lady in charge, were extremely helpful. She arranged a massage for my wife and called a previous hotel for us to sort out a problem. The breakfast was very good, with lots of selection. The hotel has a beautiful garden and pool with views of a temple. It is silent at night and there are sliding doors that seal off the rooms from the lobby.

The temples and the rest of the National Park are well worth the trip and we liked Agrigento very much. The main town has Via Vittoria, something out of Paris, overlooking the valley and the main shopping street has very upscale stores. Parking is no problem. There is an accessible public garage right in the center and we parked on Vittoria. Put two Euro in the parking machine and you are good for 5 hours. After 8 PM it is free.

We dined at a fish restaurant on the harbor, the Pescatore, and the food and service were excellent. Use your GPS to get there but there were very few turns and lots of parking. The second night we found an enormous modern restaurant built into old vaults of some kind on Via Vittoria, full of people and with some groups celebrating birthdays, engagements etc. Everyone was smartly dressed and the waiters wore the real waiter garb. We were surprised at the upscale nature of much of Agrigento and friendliness towards tourists lacking the language.We went to a pharmacia on Vittoria and they could not have been more helpful. They even found someone to speak with us in a common language, French.

For us Agrigento is a "must see" in Sicily and we would stay at the Athena without question. The perfect location and tranquil atmosphere make it an easy choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a temple view. Even better ask for a room with a terrace, which many have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canuck22SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hello everyone! I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Athena in Agrigento.
Council to all of you this hotel if you happen to be in the beautiful Sicily and especially in Agrigento.
I've been there for 3 days. Full board, and I found everything exceptionally well-groomed.

My wonderful room, in addition to being clean. There was a balcony with a view of the temple of concord, and a small window in the shower, and also from there you could see the temple. The bathroom great attention to detail, beautiful floors and furniture with which they decorated the rooms are fine.

The cleaning service is impeccable. Every time I came in the room I found the room spotlessly clean, with clean towels.

Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. I remember Claudia, very polite and with a mastery of languages ​​really excellent.


I have almost every day had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. Hotel restaurant is really gorgeous. The breakfast is a mix, you can do the Italian and international. As for lunch and dinner is traditional Sicilian cuisine. The products are selected with care and presented with lovely attention.

Too bad it started the winter, because I would have liked to have lunch or dinner in the panoramic terrace where you can enjoy a unique view of the world, the temple of concord.

They were three beautiful days, I recommend you all to go to Agrigento, there are many beautiful things to see, and you happen to be staying at the hotel villa athena. Perhaps it is not accessible to all budgets, but I know there are lots of offers.

Hello everyone, I hope my review helpful.
Valentine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We got a great rate through booking online in advance and we're very happy with this hotel. Amazing location to explore the ruins and lovely hotel. Great amenities and helpful staff. We also had dinner here (as well as the included breakfast ) and enjoyed both meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne_baal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went during off-season and managed to get one of those rooms with the terrace facing the famous Concord Temple. This view by itself is worth the trip! The restaurant is fabulous too both for dinner and for breakfast. Last but not least, service is really friendly. Now why is it not a five? Agrigento is not a nice place for tourists and the area of town closest to the hotel is outright filthy. So once you fancy more than just the luxuries of the hotel, you are stuck. If the hotel with a view, a great pool and amenities is what you want, you have found the right place!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the temple, ideally on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Alex H,
thank you for your note that you had posted on Trip Advisor.
Sincerely, we feel honored to have been able to assist you and we are happy to understand that your stay with us has been enjoyable. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the entire Staff.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Agrigento to show you that Agrigento is not just Valley of the Temples: we have a rich archeological museum, nice churches and a great historical city centre.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of future assistance you may need.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agrigento
2.4 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra
Hotel Costazzurra
#1 of 3 in San Leone
4.0 of 5 stars 738 reviews
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
4.1 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.3 mi away
Verdura Resort
Verdura Resort
#1 of 11 in Sciacca
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
100.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#3 of 89 in Taormina
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Venere, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing