We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbly Located” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Sydney
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Superbly Located”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic location - easy walk to the entrance of the Valley of The Temples. Lovely, well appointed comfortable rooms.attentive and helpful staff. Breakfasts excellent. It was on the pricier side of our accommodation during our 6 week sojourn but you get what you pay for! We liked the restaurant too, local dishes, good wine and again top service.
We rate this hotel as our equal best this trip.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    655
    176
    64
    21
    12
See reviews for
150
589
15
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Athena is ideally located walking distance from the Valley of the Temples. It is a 5 minute drive up hill to the main part of Agrigento and 10 minutes down hill to the harbor. The hotel service was very good and we had a temple view. Our room was more 4 star than 5 but very comfortable and roomy. The desk staff, particularly the lady in charge, were extremely helpful. She arranged a massage for my wife and called a previous hotel for us to sort out a problem. The breakfast was very good, with lots of selection. The hotel has a beautiful garden and pool with views of a temple. It is silent at night and there are sliding doors that seal off the rooms from the lobby.

The temples and the rest of the National Park are well worth the trip and we liked Agrigento very much. The main town has Via Vittoria, something out of Paris, overlooking the valley and the main shopping street has very upscale stores. Parking is no problem. There is an accessible public garage right in the center and we parked on Vittoria. Put two Euro in the parking machine and you are good for 5 hours. After 8 PM it is free.

We dined at a fish restaurant on the harbor, the Pescatore, and the food and service were excellent. Use your GPS to get there but there were very few turns and lots of parking. The second night we found an enormous modern restaurant built into old vaults of some kind on Via Vittoria, full of people and with some groups celebrating birthdays, engagements etc. Everyone was smartly dressed and the waiters wore the real waiter garb. We were surprised at the upscale nature of much of Agrigento and friendliness towards tourists lacking the language.We went to a pharmacia on Vittoria and they could not have been more helpful. They even found someone to speak with us in a common language, French.

For us Agrigento is a "must see" in Sicily and we would stay at the Athena without question. The perfect location and tranquil atmosphere make it an easy choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a temple view. Even better ask for a room with a terrace, which many have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hello everyone! I recently stayed at the Hotel Villa Athena in Agrigento.
Council to all of you this hotel if you happen to be in the beautiful Sicily and especially in Agrigento.
I've been there for 3 days. Full board, and I found everything exceptionally well-groomed.

My wonderful room, in addition to being clean. There was a balcony with a view of the temple of concord, and a small window in the shower, and also from there you could see the temple. The bathroom great attention to detail, beautiful floors and furniture with which they decorated the rooms are fine.

The cleaning service is impeccable. Every time I came in the room I found the room spotlessly clean, with clean towels.

Hotel staff were really friendly and helpful. I remember Claudia, very polite and with a mastery of languages ​​really excellent.


I have almost every day had breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. Hotel restaurant is really gorgeous. The breakfast is a mix, you can do the Italian and international. As for lunch and dinner is traditional Sicilian cuisine. The products are selected with care and presented with lovely attention.

Too bad it started the winter, because I would have liked to have lunch or dinner in the panoramic terrace where you can enjoy a unique view of the world, the temple of concord.

They were three beautiful days, I recommend you all to go to Agrigento, there are many beautiful things to see, and you happen to be staying at the hotel villa athena. Perhaps it is not accessible to all budgets, but I know there are lots of offers.

Hello everyone, I hope my review helpful.
Valentine

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We got a great rate through booking online in advance and we're very happy with this hotel. Amazing location to explore the ruins and lovely hotel. Great amenities and helpful staff. We also had dinner here (as well as the included breakfast ) and enjoyed both meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We went during off-season and managed to get one of those rooms with the terrace facing the famous Concord Temple. This view by itself is worth the trip! The restaurant is fabulous too both for dinner and for breakfast. Last but not least, service is really friendly. Now why is it not a five? Agrigento is not a nice place for tourists and the area of town closest to the hotel is outright filthy. So once you fancy more than just the luxuries of the hotel, you are stuck. If the hotel with a view, a great pool and amenities is what you want, you have found the right place!

Room Tip: ask for a view of the temple, ideally on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Alex H,
thank you for your note that you had posted on Trip Advisor.
Sincerely, we feel honored to have been able to assist you and we are happy to understand that your stay with us has been enjoyable. It will be my pleasure to share your comments with the entire Staff.
Hoping to have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Agrigento to show you that Agrigento is not just Valley of the Temples: we have a rich archeological museum, nice churches and a great historical city centre.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for any kind of future assistance you may need.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Obviously some reviewers have had the same displeasure we had of booking a deluxe room and been allocated the sub standard, dark, with a view of a hedge room 109.
This was our experience,
Booked and paid for a deluxe room for 2 nights in January 2012 for a stay in June 2012, for what we believed would be as is written on the hotels website a room with "frontal view of the temple" and a "large private terrace". We checked in and were shown to room 109, stunned was our reaction! Inside the room looking out you get a view of a hedge, the glass doors provide the only light in the room and the hedge takes plenty of that away. If you go OUTSIDE the room and turn to the right you see the temple. On the large "PRIVATE" terrace you are 3 metres from the lunch area/bar area/function area(see photos). After contacting reception and explaining this is not what we had in mind we were moved next door to room 108 a "superior" room(although we were not told this initially) which had a fantastic frontal view of the temple from room and bathroom(see photos). After again returning to reception and enquiring what happened to the large terrace we were then told that this was a superior room not a deluxe. So we had the farcical situation of being downgraded to get a "frontal view of the temple".
If booking this hotel in the summer months be well aware that this hotel has not decided whether it is a hotel or a function centre, both nights we stayed there were functions one involving scaffold construction and they are on a massive scale(see photos), so at night there is no outside area to take a drink/relax/ even a swim as the pool becomes a dessert bar for a wedding for example. There is no peaceful ambience of enjoying the view of the temple as the functions involve loud music and lots of it. You can grab a drink on the couple of chairs outside the restaurant....overlooking the function.
The breakfast was nice but i have no idea why the breakfast room is in the carpark and not served in the restaurant with the great views, especially in summer.
To us the atmosphere was stuffy as is the case with most monopolies they don't really care that much because they know you are coming.
After chatting with some english guests on the first afternoon our suspicions on the restaurant based on reviews was confirmed and we ate up the road at two fantastic places.

If you book a deluxe room we implore you to contact the hotel and say no to room 109 believe us it will save you disappointment. The only deluxe rooms that are similar to the deluxe room pictures shown on their website are rooms 104, 105,106 and 107, request these rooms they are what you imagined you booked. Likewise if booking a superior room ask for room 108.

Room Tip: deluxe rooms don't stay in 109 no view from inside room deluxe rooms request 104, 105, 106 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for taking the time to report us your feedback and first of all, sorry for the terrible annoying experience.
First of all, it’s important to specify that you were well informed that during your stay we hosted an important theater prize: we sent you an email 2 month before your arrival.
There is a trick in all the photo that you posted: by the terrace of the room 109 you can see the temple of Concordia!
This is the description that everybody could find on our website: "A queen-size bed or two twin beds. 32" LCD TV. Frontal view of the temple of Concordia and large private terrace or external patio. Marble bathrooms with Sicilian ceramics with shower and/or bath"
Room 109 has got an external patio from wich you can reach our garden and swimming pool area.
We have a big buffet breakfast with handmade cakes, fresh jam and juices: for hygienic reason we prefer to serve the breakfast in our indoor beautiful restaurant away from all the mosquitos and birds that it's normal to find in a park.
I don't take in evalutation you irrelevant comments on our restaurant: to talk about something you should have tried it...
I strongly invite you to believe and to be assured that the attitude, humility, kindness and professionalism of all our staff are the more important asset and competitive advantage of the Hotel Villa Athena.
I truly hope to have a future opportunity to welcome you back to Agrigento in order to change your tarnished impression of our hotel.
Looking forward to assisting you personally.

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Extremely expensive, but the location in the archeological park is well worth paying for. Sitting on the terrace, eating a wonderful dinner, with the Temple of Concord floodlit in front of one isn't something you get every day. Everything about this hotel was good, but I left my favourite fleece behind by mistake and, despite several telephone calls by my daughter in faultless Italian, we failed to get any sense out of them and I have never had it returned to me. Somewhat sours the after taste, sadly.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the temples, but remember you'll only be sleeping there and you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
htlvillaathena, Responsabile reception at Hotel Villa Athena, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your time in posting a review on Trip Advisor but, first of all I would like to apologize for the inconveniences experienced during you recent stay.
I was concerned to read your comments, in order to have a better understanding and to change your tarnished impression of the Hotel, would very much welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further. Please feel free to send me an email at: info@hotelvillaathena.it
Once again, please accept our apologies and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Claudia Iannantuoni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.