We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning hotel with view of 400 BC Doric Temple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Athena

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Athena to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Athena
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fairfield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Stunning hotel with view of 400 BC Doric Temple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Agrigento to see the Valley of the Temples and other sites. Location could not be better as we looked at ruins from our room , the pool and the dining terrace. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable. Pool beautiful. Staff very helpful in providing car service to and from Spizzulio, a unique restaurant experience in town. And lovely uncrowned Mediterranean beaches are a mere 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    194
    65
    21
    13
See reviews for
164
645
15
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The Hotel Villa Athena is an enigma. I cannot understand that such a phenomenal location has somehow lost the concept of hospitality in Italy where nearly all of the people one meets are so friendly and hospitable... oh well.... We loved the location which is beautiful with superb views of the Concordia Temple. The room was immaculate with very modern conveniences. We also really liked that we could walk to the Valley of Temples entrance. The pool area which is beautiful and well cared for is a perfect place to relax. Nice comfortable lounge chairs and large towels provided.

Unfortunately the general service from our arrival to the restaurants and on the grounds was just abysmal. The staff looked very unhappy and uncomfortable with the patrons. There was a constant look of disdain on their faces as if they were either feeling taken advantage of or just unhappy about their working conditions. This detracts from an otherwise excellent hotel with very fine rooms. It is strange that you seem to get good service but it comes with a price. We never had a fun light encounter with a waiter staff member during our two night stay. It is also unfortunate that even though there is a great space, there is not a nice well stocked bar with light music and drinks available after dinner. PS: Dinner at the hotel is not good. I tried to rate the hotel on the property and not the restaurant. Again, you are tempted to try the restaurant in such a beautiful setting but the service and food is poorly executed. Do it just for the setting...So unfortunate. With all this said....the views are OMG and the rooms are excellent. If spending time and $ in Agrigento and if you have a car, try to find some cool places outside of the hotel to visit. No matter what, Italy and Sicily are amazing!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the second floor with a direct view of the temple!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hotel Villa Athena is beautiful and refined. Sitting on the terrace either dining or just relaxing with a view of the Temples is unforgettable. Most guests arrive by car, but we got there via bus and taxi. We stayed in a Classic room which suited us just fine.
I requested a Temples tour guide and the staff engaged Lorenzo for us. He was an excellent guide besides being an interesting young gentleman.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Hotel Villa Athena is beautiful! We arrived at 2:00 pm, after a stressful four hour drive. Our room wasn't ready, but the bellhop took our bags, and one of the staff led us to the terrace, where we had a delicious lunch overlooking the Temple Concordia. Our first floor room had a terrace overlooking the hotel pool and the temples. The room and bathroom were spotless and beautiful, and the sheets were wonderful (I love Italian linens...). We unfortunately only stayed for one night, but the breakfast the next morning was one our favorite breakfasts: fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh eggs, bacon, pastries, fresh fruit and excellent cappuccino. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a true five star hotel and recently upgraded to that standard. Professional service beautiful standard room with 5 star amenities, but the highlight is dining on the terrace. Excellent service and good but not terribly creative food, but the atmosphere will make it one of the best experiences anywhere in the World as you look up at the Temple Concorde sparkling by day, bathed in light by night. One night at the hotel is a bargain at twice the price.

Room Tip: Don't need to pay extra for a room with a view, just go out on the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you are visiting Agrigento and the historic Greek temples, this is THE place to stay. I stayed at this hotel with my husband and parents last week. My parents had one of the first level terrace rooms with an unbelievable view of the Temple of Concordia. This was my favorite! At night, the temples are lit, and, well, it is just something indescribable, and you will never forget it. My husband and I were given a room on the 3rd floor with a nice view of a different temple (Juno, I think?). We also had an interesting view of the city of Agrigento, which was much larger than I expected.

In addition to the splendid views, the best part of this hotel is its proximity to the Greek Temples. You can easily walk there. Since we had already visited Greece and many Greek Temples prior to this trip, frankly I did not expect to find this site very compelling. I was wrong. The view from the Temple of Juno was remarkable and something I will never forget.

Prior to our visit and stay at this hotel, I read through several TripAdvisor reviews. I was concerned about the "stuffiness" of the hotel and its staff. I understand where those comments came from, but I have to say that we did not encounter that vibe. The staff certainly maintained a certain posture that I might describe as mildly aloof, but once engaged, all were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat dinner at the hotel's restaurant because we were looking for something more casual, and a gentleman at the front desk was very helpful with a great recommendation in a nearby town.

I could go on and on about this hotel. It was definitely one of our favorites of the trip. (The other was Hotel Algila in Siracusa.) The rooms are very clean and contemporary. Our shower/bathroom area was a bit unusual. The walls were entirely made of glass. I told my husband that it was a good thing we knew each other so well. :-)

Breakfast is served in a low-rise building across the parking lot from the hotel. It was very ample, and service was very good. Try the yogurt from the yogurt machine -- it is VERY cold and quite good. (I am normally not a yogurt fan due to its tartness.)

I really cannot think of a negative about this hotel, other than, of course, you have to pay the price for the location, views, and great service...but that is to be expected!

Room Tip: Definitely splurge on a Temple view. Try to get one of the Terrace rooms with a view of the Temple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

it is such a rare privilege to have a room and a pool overlooking these ancient Greek temples, particularly, at night the view is awe inspiring. However, even if you have a superior class room having to put up with the continous reverberations of the scraping and walking noises in the upstairs terraces is just frustrating. You can be kept awake for hours at night and be awakened at the crack of dawn. Also the chipping paint in the rooms and the doors reming that the site requires better upkeeping

Room Tip: Do not get a room below the terraces to avoid sleepless nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Athena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Athena

Address: Via Passeggiata Archeologica 33, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#1 Family Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Athena 5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Athena re-opened in July 2009 after an extensive and authentic restoration which lasted one year. The entire villa underwent a massive renovation to meet international luxury standards. The hotel features 27 large comfortable rooms and suites, most of them facing the enchanting Tempio della Concordia. A traditional cuisine-based restaurant Il granaio di Ibla, a Lounge bar, an outdoor swimming-pool and a gorgeous park complete the outstanding services of this new luxury property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Escapio, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Athena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athena Hotel Agrigento
Hotel Villa Athena Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Athena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.