We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unhelpful staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Foresteria Baglio Della Luna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Foresteria Baglio Della Luna to your Saves list
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Serafino Amabile Guastella 1/C | Valle dei Templi, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Agrigento
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Unhelpful staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Perhaps its because we were there in the offseason, but we found this hotel very lacking in services. My husband wasn't feeling well, and although we understood the restaurant was not open, I asked if there was any food available, thinking they must have some breakfast food, like yoghurt or fruit, but the answer was no and NO. We were cold as the heat wasn't turned on, they said it was too early and finally offered another blanket. There were only two pillows, we asked for two more - but argued and said there were more in the closet (there weren't) and finally brought us one. Almost no one else staying in the hotel, but we were unluck with very loud people right next to us. Asked for a 1:00 checkout and they, of course, said no, until I went down and discussed with the manager, and they said OK but only until 1 PM, no later. Well you get the picture.

Breakfast was lovely as was the service. Location a bit difficult when restaurant is not open as there are no other restaurants near by.

Oh - and no wifi in the room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    62
    17
    5
    1
See reviews for
32
109
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying in this propriety is traveling to the past, being in a rural propriety with a beautiful view and not to far from the city of Agrigento. It's well located in respect of the "Valle dei Templi", visit that no one can miss. Hosted in an old rural propriety, the hotel retain the charm of the past.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The building and grounds for this hotel are lovely. The view to the Valley of the Temples is fantastic (not particularly close, but very visible) particularly at night. Their breakfast was one of the best we had in Sicily - their home-made cookies were so good. Lots of parking. The room was fine - though very PINK!

Unfortunately we were there off-season and the restaurant was closed. There really is nothing else nearby. The reception people weren't particularly helpful. While the hotel was obviously not busy, they seemed to not have time to answer our questions - nor would they give us any recommendations for restaurants.

The WIFI was particularly irritating - several people were hanging out their windows trying to get reception. But you pretty much had to go to the bar to get WIFI.

And they badly need some kind of sign at the turnoff from the main road - it is very hard to find, especially in the dark.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014

Very nice rooms. Spiral stairway to ours was a bit tricky but manageable. Great night view of the temples. About three miles by car to temple park gate. I would suggest more hotel signs closer in because you turn onto a gravel road the last 150 yards which was puzzling. Excellent staff, very helpful. Breakfast was very good with a large selection. If in the area again I would make it a point to stay again.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, Ny
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This hotel is not easy to find and precise directions didn't help at all. Follow signs for Valley of the Temples and it is between there and the beach.Once you get there, parking is very easy and safe, The staff of one or two off season are thoughtful..the grounds and design are top notch - very attractive with flowers, terraces, a fountain and spectacular views. Unfortunately the restaurant and beautiful dining room were closed in November - I have heard they are excellent and the space is beautiful. We did have a sumptuous breakfast overlooking the ruins in the distance. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit spartan...very Sicilian and we had little windows looking out over Agrigento and the Valley of the Temples. The bed is very hard and sounds carry with all the tile. I would like to visit again, earlier in the season.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the garden and some look out over the temples. The Public spaces are the attrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

If you are planning to visit the Greek Ruins (Valley of the Temples), I highly recommend this hotel. Very clean, very hospitable staff, great restaurant on site and beautiful and tranquil garden area overlooking the temples in the distance. Only area of improvement this hotel can offer is better wi fi service. Your best bet is to go to bar area where the signal is strongest. Plan on at least two days to see the temples and enjoy the local area.

Room Tip: Enjoy a great dinner that offers custom choices off of the menu and enjoy a very hearty breakfast in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

Baglio della Luna appears as a stucco covered building surrounded by a high wall when you arrive via an unpaved road off the highway. But, as soon as you walk through the gate, you are in a Garden of Eden. We were welcomed by friendly staff who found some prosciutto sandwiches and sparkling water for us which we enjoyed in the garden. Our room was not large but quite comfortable on the second floor, with a balcony overlooking the Valley of the Temples, lit beautifully at night. Instead of the one hotel set in the valley, Baglio dell Luna has the views, is close to the Temples AND it is near the highway so that we could be flexible with time to meet our itinerary. They are also a short walk to a beach on the Mediterranean. The staff is extremely accommodating. Their restaurant of fresh farm-to-table food is excellent. The location perfect.

Room Tip: We strongly recommend the building facing the Valley of the Temples with the 2d floor balcony overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Foresteria Baglio Della Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foresteria Baglio Della Luna

Address: Via Serafino Amabile Guastella 1/C | Valle dei Templi, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Agrigento
#2 Family Hotel in Agrigento
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agrigento
#4 Business Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Foresteria Baglio Della Luna 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Baglio della Luna is an historical relais developed around a meddle age coast tower builded between 1311 and 1343 . The Baglio as a panoramic view of the whole Temples Valley and a mediterranean garden . The Hotel's restaurant offers a wide variety of mediterranan food . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Foresteria Baglio Della Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna Hotel Agrigento
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foresteria Baglio Della Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.