We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Terra & Mare

Terra & Mare
Piazza Lena, 7, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
092225413
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 171 Restaurants in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Organic, Pizza, Coffee Shop, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: La Trattoria Terra&Mare, sita nel cuore del centro storico su di una piazza molto tranquilla, offre ai suoi clienti la possibilità di assaporare la cucina siciliana e più in generale la cucina mediterranea con piatti tipici a base di pesce e carni locali; il tutto all'interno delle 2 piccole sale (discrete e romantiche, ideali per la coppia e per un gruppo di amici), della grande sala centrale (ideale per occasioni speciali o per gruppi numerosi), ed inoltre la possibilità di accomodarsi nella terrazza presente sulla piazza oppure su un terrazzino interno, più intimo.La Trottoria funziona anche come Bar e come Pizzeria alla sera; inoltre presenta un intero Menu SENZA GLUTINE, piatti a base di prodotti biologici, vini locali biologici ed una modesta lista di vini in bottiglia siciliani.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Probably we arrived with very high expectations given the other dining experiences we had during this trip, but must admit that the food was just...average.
The ambiance would be nice if we had not to cope with a big plasma TV with a soccer game which was NOT on mute.
Last but not least, the wait was way too long. I noticed that people around us had similar waiting times.
I couldn't wait to get out...

This is a pity because there is potential. If a suggestion is allowed, reduce drastically the menu options and focus on just those.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    89
    46
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Wholesome fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Situated on the corner of a small Piazza, this little restaurant offers great outside dining. The indisde is brightly lit, large and a bit Stark. The Terrazze is the place to be. Local dishes, good service and wine by the litre...what more can you want. If we were here for longer, we would go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We were advised by friends to try this little gem and it was really worth getting lost inthe taxi first before finding the restaurant. The staff were very friendly and the food was excellent and great value. The house wine was yummy and went down a bit too quickly. I would re visit this little gem anytime and reccomended it to any visitor to Agrigento.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This place is really up in the neighborhood and it just does not get much better than this. We sat outside and enjoyed the street life, while we had a truly wonderful dinner. I would go back to Agrigento just for this restaraunt. The wait staff was great too!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Try the risotto with salmon and caviar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

We had lunch at this restaurant after discovering both our intended restaurant and a back-up were closed.

We ate on the outside terrace on a quiet corner of town. The food was generally very good, the risotto with salmon and caviar was delicious.

Possibly not worth a journey in itself but if you are in the area and in need od a good meal well worth considering.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terra & Mare also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Terra & Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Terra & Mare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.