We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eccentric English man finds lost temples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)

Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)
Zona Archeologica | Via Panoramica Dei Templi, Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
0922621657
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$59*
and up
Valley of the Temples and Villa Romana del Casale...
Ranked #2 of 42 things to do in Agrigento
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Picnicking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This region is one of the most important archeological sites in the world with many great temples such as Hera (Juno,) Lacinia, Concordia, Heracles (Hercules) and Olympian Zeus (Jupiter,) all dramatically perched along a long rocky scarp.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Eccentric English man finds lost temples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Of course they were not lost but apparently an English gentleman started the conservation of this site, after putting up his own nice house first of all.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,782 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,693
    848
    162
    55
    24
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
249 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
“Amazing in late light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Worth a detour: charges for both entry and parking. The site takes about two hours to walk and take pictures, well preserved and evocative.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Go at dusk!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We visited Valley of the Temples in August 2012. We went in the early evening, as we heard the temperatures could be brutal in the heat of the day. I would actually recommend going at dusk. There were were less people, and the temples looked great against the sunset, as well as lit up once the sun went down! My one gripe is that there isn't that much signage telling you what you are looking at. We had hoped to take a tour with a guide we booked online, but he was a no-show. You may want to read up on the Temples beforehand, or bring your own guide.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Factastic stop in Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent a fantastic couple of hours wandering around the temples which are superb. Walked from one end to the other with the information packs and by the time we were coming back it was dark and they were all lit up at night so a new set of photos. We had one week in Sicily but delighted to went out of our way to visit Agrigento

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Greeks knew how to choose a location! Temple after temple in a beautiful location, with blossom and olive trees all around.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi) also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Province of Catania, Sicily
 
Realmonte, Province of Agrigento
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valley of the Temples (Valle dei Templi), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.