We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walls thin” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel della Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel della Valle to your Saves list
Hotel della Valle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ugo La Malfa, 3, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€49 (EUR)
Ranked #16 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Northern England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“walls thin”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Located down the hill from the town of Agrigento and walking distance to the Temples, down the hill. Has nice gardens. Main problem is the room walls are so thin you can hear everything in neighbouring rooms. Ok for a short stay but any longer it becomes obtrusive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    104
    114
    76
    37
See reviews for
37
154
15
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late April as part of a tour organised by Riviera Travel. The hotel met most of our requirements; quiet, clean and comfortable but quite hard beds. The location was OK for a tour where we had neither the time or inclination to explore independently. There are local bars and restaurants within walking distance (and a grocer/deli/wine shop if you search for it!) but it is not convenient for Agrigento centre.

The food in the restaurant was OK (we were on half board terms) but definitely mass catering style with limited choice. The breakfast buffet was of a reasonable standard. Hot and cold drinks were from machines and quite good, but queues formed when busy e.g. two tour groups aiming for the samr departure time!

No complaints about the staff, the wifi worked for me (and was free...maybe they forgot to charge!)

Would I stay again, as part of a tour then I would, as an independent traveller I'd go elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in July of 2012 because the hotel I had originally booked was having electrical problems and rebooked me at this hotel.
I was upset at first but ended up being quite happy to stay here, The room was huge and quite nice. Wonderful room and bathroom but some of the actual furnishings were a little dated and scruffy.GREAT pool setting and outdoor dining area (weather was stiflingly hot!). I don't know if there is much to say about dining in Agrigento or staying nearer to town (I really don't think there is), but this hotel is definitely a little too far out of the way to be walking anywhere (somewhat near to the Valley of the Temples however which may be a plus). I had dinner at the hotel one night and thought the meal was very nice, not to mention the beautiful setting amidst the palm trees which was very nice.
Parking was free, WIFI was free and very solid and reliable.
I would recommend staying here without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaunas, Lithuania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

hotel is situated quite far from the city center - if you want to have a glass of wine out of th ehotel - no chance to get taxi. The swiming pool is charming. Environement around - paradise. for one night is was fine, but not for longer stay.
Rooms were not that luxury as I expected from 4 stars hotel .Staff was angry. Food was average.

Room Tip: rooms to the garden are better ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

if I was here on work I probably wouldn't mind this hotel, but for a holiday it was decidedly lackluster. It's neither in the town nor out of it so you get the worst of both world's, the gardens are lovely but as you're out all day that doesn't really matter. The room had no available socket for re-charging, the safe didn't work and the door frame was coming loose. Really a bit of a shambles. Also the food [mind you I was on a Riviera package], was dire, except for the breakfast coffee which was very good. I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: ask for one that works
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel does not care about it's clients. Hotel caters to tour groups. Staff EXTREMELY rude, probably because they are grossly understaffed. Only 1 tv channel, expensive Internet, which did not work, leaky towel warmer soaked towels, warped wood floors from water, bad maintenance.
Front desk staff, over worked and very unhappy. Better to drive an hour away then stay at this unfriendly location! Best view of this hotel,,,your rearview mirror.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This hotel is well located for visiting the valley of the temples and has very beautiful gardens. And that's about the end of the good things I have to say! It seemed to us as though it was dying on its feet. It was more overdue for renovation than pretty much anywhere I have stayed. Our room was large and clean (hence its ok if you are just in and out overnight as we were) but all the furniture and furnishings were heavily worn. The same was true of the public areas. The staff seemed to have given up - so would I in that working environment.
For any disabled readers of this - we had a disabled access room. Neither of us has any mobility restrictions but we do try to take note of how the room would work for wheelchair users. The doors were wide enough for access as was the shower cubicle BUT there was not room for a wheelchair to go down the side of the bed so you would have needed to access the bed from the bottom only. We thought this would probably make it impossible for some people and very hard work for partners. I did wonder if our room was worse than others as it was not much used but discussion with others in our group suggested they were all as bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel della Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Valle

Address: Via Ugo La Malfa, 3, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel della Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four-star hotel, the Hotel della Valle offers its guests all the benefits of being at the center of everything. Located in a quiet and elevated position, close to the historic center of Agrigento, the Valley of the Temples, and the clear blue sea and coastline. The hotel offers its customers a perfect combination of panoramic views of the Valley of the Temples and easy access to major places of interest thanks to its proximity to main roads. In addition to basic services - Reception 24 hours a day, fast Check-in and Check-out, and Luggage Storage - Hotel della Valle offers its guests a number of useful services on request: laundry and ironing services, breakfast in your room, Internet WI-FI, Fax / Copier, newspapers, 1 extra bed or cot, baby sitter.Completing the range of services on request you may wish to: enjoy spa treatments in the hotel Wellness Center, take advantage of shuttle bus services to a private beach with sun umbrellas and sun beds, join guided excursions, make use of a convenient connecting service directly to Catania, Palermo and Trapani airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel della Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Della Valle Agrigento
Jolly Della Valle Hotel
Hotel Della Valle Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel della Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.