We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel-don't stay here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel della Valle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel della Valle to your Saves list
Hotel della Valle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ugo La Malfa, 3, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€95 (EUR)
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible hotel-don't stay here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had originally booked at Colleverde hotel but on arrival, we were told that there was no electricity and that we would have to move to another hotel. We were not given a choice, we were told to go to Hotel Della Valle.
When we arrived, the staff at the reception desk seem to have a don't care attitude and we were given the keys to our room. When we entered the room, we realised that it was definitely not worth what we had paid for: really old room with old furniture.
I sat on the bed for a few minutes and then we went down to the swimming pool. When we arrived at the pool, we were told we had to buy a swimming cap otherwise we could not swim.
I looked down at my legs and saw a few bites, which were definitely not mosquito bites. A work colleague of mine had had bed bugs in her house a few months earlier and I had seen the same bites on her. I then remembered seating on the bed. We went up to the room and checked the sheets. I found small spots of blood in the sheets which are a sign of bed bugs.
I hurried out of the room as quickly as I could and went to reception. The girl at reception said she did not know what bed bugs are (in a hotel, you're kidding? don't they fumigate?), she gave me the keys to another room which looked as bad as the first one. We went back to reception and I told her that I refused to stay there. I went back to Colleverde and requested my money back. The receptionist said she could not refund the money but sent us to another hotel which, this time, was very very nice. I would never stay at Hotel Della Valle or Colleverde Hotel. keep away from these two places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    99
    108
    70
    35
See reviews for
36
144
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed there with an Insight Tour in Agrigento. It is close to the Valley of the Temples and am sure it was the main reason the hotel was selected. The hotel was older but well maintained. It has two separate buildings. Our room was comfortable and clean. Of course we were at the end of a 15 day tour and had been doing lots of walking. Sleeping on the floor would have been acceptable. Our group had a meal at the hotel. The restaurant was outdoor and in a nice setting. Weather at night was perfect. Staff was hospitable and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Washington
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This older hotel was probably once very nice! It is now showing its age and is falling by the wayside! The food was not very good and the drinks are very pricey! Does anybody in Sicily know how to make scrambbled eggs! They should call it egg soup de Sicily!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Surrounded by gardens and has a great swimming pool area. It is located directly above the Valley of the Temples, a wonderful archeological site. There are two separate buildings and I cannot comment on the second building. The room we had was small but adequately sized. The only real complaint was the very small size of the shower.....kept hitting the shower control while turning. Minor complaint, in my view of the universe. Good breakfasts. Short stroll up to the Old Town area from the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more for a larger room (and bath) if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Overall we had a good experience at this hotel. Our room was very pleasant with a lovely view across the gardens. The shower worked well and was apparently easier to use than in some other rooms, although it was impossible not to flood the floor when using it. Breakfast had a good variety of items including fresh fruit, cakes, rolls, ham and cheese. The cooked offerings were not so successsful with the most anaemic-looking bacon I have ever seen. We had been warned about the coffee machines in the hotel by our excellent guide - I believe the coffee they produced was ok, but tea was a non-event involving less than half a cup of hot water to use with a teabag. Dinner was not particularly exciting and we had to choose the night before although the risotto was always good. Staff were pleasant and the waiters serving at dinner had a good sence of humour. Our drinks bill was accurate - be warned that if you and try and pay the night before you leave there are likely to be mix-ups, as the computer bill will not register that you have paid for drinks taken on the last evening.

The location of the hotel was good - although it was on the ourskirts of Agrigento it was possible to walk into the old part of town in 15 - 20 minutes, albeit uphill. The gardens and swimming pool were a big plus - the swimming pool was theoretically closed but my husband was told that he could use it if he wished - which he did.

After sampling 3 different hotels in southern Italy I think it is fair comment to say that you should not expect the standard you would find acceptable in the UK for a similar star rating. If you bear this in mind I think the Della Valle is a reasonable choice of hotel in Agrigento, and well placed for visitng the temples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were very satisfied with our room - clean with attractive furnishings - and with a lovely view over a beautiful garden. Our primary complaint was that one person at reception was particularly rude and unpleasant when we asked about the availability of services. Another item of note is that the hotel advertises the availability of WiFi but doesn't mention that it cost 6 euros per hour, and in fact the WiFi from the room was especially slow. We had dinner with our tour group on the hotel terrace and the food and service were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Food as stated by others was poor. Waiters downright rude and unhelpful except for the lovely Mr Simon. Pool nice but room small dark and dingy. Leak in ceiling and after 6 complaints they did move us to a nice room in the annexe for one night. Massage good. Temples outstanding.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel della Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Valle

Address: Via Ugo La Malfa, 3, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#11 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel della Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four-star hotel, the Hotel della Valle offers its guests all the benefits of being at the center of everything. Located in a quiet and elevated position, close to the historic center of Agrigento, the Valley of the Temples, and the clear blue sea and coastline. The hotel offers its customers a perfect combination of panoramic views of the Valley of the Temples and easy access to major places of interest thanks to its proximity to main roads. In addition to basic services - Reception 24 hours a day, fast Check-in and Check-out, and Luggage Storage - Hotel della Valle offers its guests a number of useful services on request: laundry and ironing services, breakfast in your room, Internet WI-FI, Fax / Copier, newspapers, 1 extra bed or cot, baby sitter.Completing the range of services on request you may wish to: enjoy spa treatments in the hotel Wellness Center, take advantage of shuttle bus services to a private beach with sun umbrellas and sun beds, join guided excursions, make use of a convenient connecting service directly to Catania, Palermo and Trapani airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel della Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Della Valle Agrigento
Jolly Della Valle Hotel
Hotel Della Valle Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel della Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.