We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and shows it!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel della Valle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel della Valle to your Saves list
Hotel della Valle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Ugo La Malfa, 3, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 25 Hotels in Agrigento
Rockport, Washington
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Old and shows it!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This older hotel was probably once very nice! It is now showing its age and is falling by the wayside! The food was not very good and the drinks are very pricey! Does anybody in Sicily know how to make scrambbled eggs! They should call it egg soup de Sicily!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    124
    126
    87
    41
See reviews for
55
185
19
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is very nice. Surrounded by gardens and has a great swimming pool area. It is located directly above the Valley of the Temples, a wonderful archeological site. There are two separate buildings and I cannot comment on the second building. The room we had was small but adequately sized. The only real complaint was the very small size of the shower.....kept hitting the shower control while turning. Minor complaint, in my view of the universe. Good breakfasts. Short stroll up to the Old Town area from the hotel.

Room Tip: Pay more for a larger room (and bath) if required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Overall we had a good experience at this hotel. Our room was very pleasant with a lovely view across the gardens. The shower worked well and was apparently easier to use than in some other rooms, although it was impossible not to flood the floor when using it. Breakfast had a good variety of items including fresh fruit, cakes, rolls, ham and cheese. The cooked offerings were not so successsful with the most anaemic-looking bacon I have ever seen. We had been warned about the coffee machines in the hotel by our excellent guide - I believe the coffee they produced was ok, but tea was a non-event involving less than half a cup of hot water to use with a teabag. Dinner was not particularly exciting and we had to choose the night before although the risotto was always good. Staff were pleasant and the waiters serving at dinner had a good sence of humour. Our drinks bill was accurate - be warned that if you and try and pay the night before you leave there are likely to be mix-ups, as the computer bill will not register that you have paid for drinks taken on the last evening.

The location of the hotel was good - although it was on the ourskirts of Agrigento it was possible to walk into the old part of town in 15 - 20 minutes, albeit uphill. The gardens and swimming pool were a big plus - the swimming pool was theoretically closed but my husband was told that he could use it if he wished - which he did.

After sampling 3 different hotels in southern Italy I think it is fair comment to say that you should not expect the standard you would find acceptable in the UK for a similar star rating. If you bear this in mind I think the Della Valle is a reasonable choice of hotel in Agrigento, and well placed for visitng the temples.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We were very satisfied with our room - clean with attractive furnishings - and with a lovely view over a beautiful garden. Our primary complaint was that one person at reception was particularly rude and unpleasant when we asked about the availability of services. Another item of note is that the hotel advertises the availability of WiFi but doesn't mention that it cost 6 euros per hour, and in fact the WiFi from the room was especially slow. We had dinner with our tour group on the hotel terrace and the food and service were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
398 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Food as stated by others was poor. Waiters downright rude and unhelpful except for the lovely Mr Simon. Pool nice but room small dark and dingy. Leak in ceiling and after 6 complaints they did move us to a nice room in the annexe for one night. Massage good. Temples outstanding.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were on a tour, and this was the hotel we were booked into. The room was small, older, and unclean. The shower leaked, so water went everywhere. At our planned group dinner, we had to chase down the wine cart three times before he finally condescended to come to our table to sell us some wine. The food itself was probably the worst of any meal durng our 15 day tour. One lady at our table finally got her main course as most of the group was finishing up. At breakfast, the buffet was set up very poorly, leading to a real mess. Somewhere on the order of 200+ people were let in at once, and all the meat, cheese, eggs, etc was at one small round table. There was only one coffee machine working. The result was that you needed a black belt in Karate in order to get to the meat or coffee. We did not have time to use the pool, so I cannot report on that. A poor room, very poor service and a badly set up breakfast made for a very poor experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

One particular reception staff marred our stay there but would probably stay again. Room comfortable and clean. Hotel has problem communicating between reception and restaurant. We were told different stories on how to pay for drinks as part of a meal. No receipt given when we paid the next day for the previous evenings wine. Receptionist adopted "computer says no" attitude, refusing to believe we had previously paid, as good as called us liars. Another receptionist sensibly thought a mistake could have been made. Order restored in the end, but no explanation or apology given. On the plus side, restaurant and bar staff friendly and helpful, food good. Breakfast room can be like a bear garden if too many people using it at same time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agrigento hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Costazzurra
Hotel Costazzurra
#1 of 3 in San Leone
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Athena
Hotel Villa Athena
#1 of 25 in Agrigento
4.5 of 5 stars 1,137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colleverde Park Hotel
Colleverde Park Hotel
#5 of 25 in Agrigento
4.0 of 5 stars 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Foresteria Baglio Della Luna
4.8 mi away
Antica Perla Residence Hotel
4.3 mi away
Baia di Ulisse Wellness & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel della Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel della Valle

Address: Via Ugo La Malfa, 3, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Agrigento > Agrigento
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Agrigento
#6 Business Hotel in Agrigento
#10 Luxury Hotel in Agrigento
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel della Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming four-star hotel, the Hotel della Valle offers its guests all the benefits of being at the center of everything. Located in a quiet and elevated position, close to the historic center of Agrigento, the Valley of the Temples, and the clear blue sea and coastline. The hotel offers its customers a perfect combination of panoramic views of the Valley of the Temples and easy access to major places of interest thanks to its proximity to main roads. In addition to basic services - Reception 24 hours a day, fast Check-in and Check-out, and Luggage Storage - Hotel della Valle offers its guests a number of useful services on request: laundry and ironing services, breakfast in your room, Internet WI-FI, Fax / Copier, newspapers, 1 extra bed or cot, baby sitter.Completing the range of services on request you may wish to: enjoy spa treatments in the hotel Wellness Center, take advantage of shuttle bus services to a private beach with sun umbrellas and sun beds, join guided excursions, make use of a convenient connecting service directly to Catania, Palermo and Trapani airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel della Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jolly Della Valle Agrigento
Jolly Della Valle Hotel
Hotel Della Valle Agrigento, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel della Valle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.