We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posata Di Federico II

La Posata Di Federico II
Piazza Cavour, 19 | Viale della Vittoria, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
0922 28289/348 5481497
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 135 restaurants in Agrigento
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This family owned establishment was a delight. I was warmly welcomed by the wife of the owner who took care to ensure that I had everything I needed and who added her own personal concern with sincerity. The food was sublime. Absolutely amazing. This restaurant should definietly have a Michelin rating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    251
    71
    24
    11
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“AS LUCK WOULD HAVE IT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Last summer while in Agrigento and getting lost we stumbled into this empty restaurant with an older gentleman inside reading a book. It was nearly 3 pm and we were in need of food. "Are you open?" we asked. Between his English and our Italian we took a table outside and ordered. Little did we know what we had stumbled into. I had a linguine dish with cheese and ground pistacios on top.......OMG. This was the best of our 3 week stay in Italy. What a great way to serve pasta without marinara sauce. Now I must say I am sort of a pistacio nut myself and later found out that all Sicily used this in every way possible. My partner had a wine drenched linguine(purple in color) that was great. This is a small of the beaten track bistro......family run. Worth every penny.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balzan, Malta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“If only all restaurants were like this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

This must be one of the best restaurants I visited in the area, itself being very romantic and cosy. The owners are very nice and welcoming. The food is presented in a very professional way and is cooked to perfection. It is not the cheapest restaurant BUT it defintely gives any food lover his money's worth. Even the simple brushetta is a form of art. I defintely recommend anyone to pay a visit..... Sicilian food at its best!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Delicious food and a lovely warm atmosphere. A most gracioius host. We got stuck there in the rain and the owner gave us a lift home!! Highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balmain, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

We loved this local little sicilian restaurant it is family run who don't speak much english which makes the night so much fun. The food is just lovely we dined on stuffed eggplant, swordfish carpaccio, tuna steaks all delicious and plentiful. The chef came out and chatted a little, it was just an excellent night of great food, great wine overlooking the little square that was still heaving at midnight. Excellent!!!
Those that didn't enjoy, calling 120 of us "bobos". On trip advisor "play the ball not the man"

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Posata Di Federico II also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to La Posata Di Federico II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posata Di Federico II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.