We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in Agrigento” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Expanificio

Expanificio
Piazza Pirandello alla fine della Via Atenea, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
+39 0922 595399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 156 Restaurants in Agrigento
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Davis, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food in Agrigento”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Wonderful fresh fish and seafood served outdoors in a pleasant setting. I had a gigantic plate of very fresh mussels in a wonderful, simple broth. The seafood pastas are also great and service very good. A great value, too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    338
    102
    44
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Everything we got was great! The tuna steak with couscous was phenomenal. Very good selection of local wines. Neat location with outdoor seating.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Stylish osteria”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Recommended by our B&B, we had a good meal at this small osteria in the premises of an old bakery. We shared a plate of mixed antipasti, followed by two pasta dishes, one with sardines, which was particularly good and excellent house wine.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“An excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our host at the B&B and it was so good that we returned on our second evening.
all the dishes were well presented and consisted of the best, fresh produce. everything was cooked to perfection and well presented. the staff were friendly and efficient. a lovely restaurant with a cosy atmosphere. if you are in Agrigento then you must eat at this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Interesting L shaped barrel vaulted interior. Very popular with locals. Good menu and food, rather larger portions than normally expected. My wife commends the squid - best she had during our two weeks in Sicily. Side dishes were overpriced. Wine was reasonable. Service was OK. Being seated near a door was not ideal but it was very busy so no other option.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expanificio also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Expanificio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expanificio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.