We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy place with tasty food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Expanificio

Expanificio
Piazza Pirandello alla fine della Via Atenea, 92100 Agrigento, Sicily, Italy
+39 0922 595399
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 156 Restaurants in Agrigento
Price range: $0 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Moscow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
“Cozy place with tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This restaurant is hidden in the corner of the square; we went there following the advice of our hotel and did not regret it. We liked the atmosphere; the restaurant offers typical food which was very tasty. Good value for money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    514
    337
    102
    44
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Amazing fine food – really!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely lunch on their patio in this central piazza located restaurant. The food was absolutely incredible – so many interesting possibilities on the menu. We started with a potato and mushroom timbale – so delicate with melty cheese inside. Not sure what was on top – my guess is crème fraiche with poppyseeds. Our other starter was beef carpaccio with what I think might have been a big dollop of whipped ricotta. My pasta was the most delicate homemade ravioli – stuffed with a spinach puree and smothered with a very tomato-y rose sauce. My husband had noodle type pasta with anchovies, raisins, fennel and tomato sauce. It was all so decadently tasty.

Parking in this town isn’t easy but there are lots of spaces near the restaurant. Not a great view outside – the restaurant is tucked into a little corner.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a nice, quiet place. Most of the tables were outside, full of clients.
Food is very good, staff is very gentle, price is honest for this kind of place.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Tucked away in the corner of the Piazza Pirandello in Agrigento is Expanificio. We arrived rather late for Sunday lunch, and at first it looked as if there was no table for us. Then the very young waiter rapidly brought a table from inside the kitchen and set us up in the corner of the outside area.

The service was rapid (little English spoken). My wife and I had veal, our daughter had pasta. All were excellent and were followed with the Sicilian speciality cassata, which was good but perhaps not quite excellent - that's why it gets four starts rather than five. The house wine was very drinkable and admirably cheap. The coffee was up to the usual Italian standard.

Prices were also very reasonable. All in all, a most enjoyable way to spend a hot Sicilian Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Food and service was very good! Definitly would recommend this restaurant! Quality of the food is very high standard.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Expanificio also viewed

Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
Agrigento, Province of Agrigento
 

Been to Expanificio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Expanificio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.