We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living like a prince” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roma Imperiale

Save Saved
You added Hotel Roma Imperiale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Roma Imperiale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Passeggiata dei Colli, 1, 15011 Acqui Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Acqui Terme
Limhamn, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Living like a prince”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I love these "Grand Hotel" from the late 1800s. Large spaces and beautiful interior. The exterior is also imposant and a beautiful garden with swimming pool surrounds the hotel. My room consisted of two very large rooms - one with TV, sofa and armchairs and a bedroom with large double bed with canopy. Classic paintings accentuated the feeling of living like a prince. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The breakfast was ordinary but perfectly OK.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    61
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
21
88
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Well, admittedly it's been a few years since we stayed here, but it cannot have changed much. Excellent service! Polite staff, and there wasn't anything they wouldn't do to help us! Okay, it's a decent walk from town centre and the piazza della bollente where we found an excellent local restaurant with an American Chef! Food there was GREAT! Wine was local and really high quality, so much so we visited their vineyard!! In Italy it has to be REAL! and AT is such a place, it has everything for a serious chill out holiday. You seriourestaurantsly need to stay HERE and try the restaurant! And the vineyard!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

Lovely hotel but really disappointed with acoustics in upstairs bedrooms. Did not sleep for 2 nights as we could hear every noise and sound from the next door room....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is old and rundown. The service happens to be great. The rooms are horribly decorated and terribly showcased. I hate when the shower is like a dressing room with those cheap plastic puzzle piece doors and the hairdryer looks more like a vacuum attachment. Breakfast is the WORST! Rice cakes rather then bread and no fresh fruit. Total let down.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Top Contributor
304 reviews 304 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

This hotel itself is very nice, clean, very beautiful rooms. No idea why the pool 'closes' at 5PM, that was actually the time the heat became bearable and I wanted to go in. I keep having mixed feelings about this place. While pretty much everything was ok, it did not really feel like a 4 star hotel. I had the feeling they tried to save on staff cost (i.e. the morning reception person was also in charge with making the breakfast coffees) ... out of the 3 reception ladies we encountered, only one was truly in service mode .. the others .. not so much (but still very efficient). The location is a bit out there, we took the car to get to town, which was very nice. There are some nice places to have food (i.e. Gusto for apperitivo ... and even better: a small wine place right behind the hot water spring at Piazza Bollente). Speaking of breakfast ... at least they had one variety of meat and cheese each ... but no egg (one other customer asked for eggs and was told they only had fresh eggs, and the kitchen is closed ... wtf?) . The internet connection for guests is provided in the lobby through a 3G modem .. and sucks big time. I had to reset that thing many times... and if you try a bigger upload (like on youtube) the connection often breaks off ... at least it was free. As for the restaurant, I have never seen anyone having dinner there ... and around lunch, the only thing I saw being prepared were ham and cheese toasts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

My fiancé booked a night at Hotel Roma Imperiale as a 30th birthday treat; and we had planned to have dinner in the hotel and spend the rest of the time in the spa. However, when we arrived we learned the restaurant was closed that day and you had to book spa treatments in advance as the masseur only comes in when he has appointments; neither of which we were aware of until the receptionist informed us. We didn't book directly through the hotel though; perhaps they do let you know info like this if you do.

We were the only guests that night, being off-season in Piedmont, so the hotel was amazingly quiet. Our room was an enormous suite – 6ft sleigh bed, chesterfield sofa in the sitting room, the works. As the restaurant was closed we set off to Aqui Terme, a 15 minute walk away. It’s a nice-sized town with lots of bars and restaurants; the hotel can provide you with a list of good restaurants. We found a great enoteca, sadly I don’t know the name, we were just meandering down the roads; it was just off a square with a thermal fountain. Ditto the restaurant, can’t remember the name; it was the one the receptionist said was the best in the town, and we weren’t disappointed.

We slept like the dead; the bed was incredibly comfortable and the hotel was so quiet.

The breakfast was nice; nothing warm but plenty to choose from. We had booked massages the day before for the morning, so turned up at the beautiful little spa, which again we had to ourselves. The massages were excellent; and the desalinated seawater bath has a recliner built into it, which makes it the perfect place to relax even further.

A lovely place to stop over when touring the wine region.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We had a suite on the first floor overlooking the pool. Staff were relaxed and not in your face. Restaurant was great but the waiting staff don't speak English. They are great though and a combination of us not being fussy and German got us through.
The spa is simple but good and fairly popular.
Only negative was the wedding party on our first night - noisy to the early hours.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Roma Imperiale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roma Imperiale

Address: Via Passeggiata dei Colli, 1, 15011 Acqui Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Alessandria > Acqui Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Acqui Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Roma Imperiale 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Roma Imperiale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roma Imperiale Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roma Imperiale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.