We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delicious stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Aqua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Aqua to your Saves list
Hotel Aqua
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Mazzini, 11, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Abano Terme
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A delicious stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Last weekend I had a wonderful time at hotel Aqua! I enjoyed every second, a fresh jump in the swimmingpool, delicious food, the quality of the food was extremely good!! There was al lot of choice all the time. When we arrived we got a cocktail from the Hotel :D And the next evening there was a DJ which my cousins and I enjoyed very much!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    285
    80
    29
    16
See reviews for
160
280
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights when visiting Italy to attend a wedding in Torreglia. The hotel is very pleasant overall, with modern fittings throughout. Our room (311) was extra large, well appointed with a balcony, safe, air conditioning - all of which were most appreciated for our needs. The only let down was that the shower was over the bath but the attachment for the shower was located at knee height rather than above head height do trying to use it wasnt possible without making a mess. We used the bath facility instead.
The breakfast buffet is good for a European hotel - cereals, fruit, cold meats and some hot food too. The location is very good for exploring Abano. The bus stop is nearby if you wish to travel to Padova, the nearest city.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed 2 days in this hotel on our way to Padua, as part of a 3-week trip to Italy. The wellness facilities are very good, the rooms spacious and adequately maintained. The buffet breakfast is very good, one of the best we had in Italy.

We recommend this for anyone willing to make a stop during a visit to Italy, to relax for a couple days when you get too tired of your monument and museum tours.

The only minus of this hotel is the Internet service, as you have to pay extra for wi-fi and they do not give you any log of how much and when you have used your Internet connection.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

The hotel staff is friendly and always ready to help. The swimming pool is excellent for small children. We can recommend the SPA treatments as well. Walking distance to the downtown pedestrian area. Recently renovated although not all floors have the most recent room setting. Breakfast well above the italian 3* average, it's almost a 4*. We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Getting there: from the VCE airport, this can be complicated and take a lot of time. The hotel can arrange for transportation from the airport however, so for about 30EUR you can directly get to Abano Terme which takes approximately 40 minutes under good conditions, and a bit more at rush hour. So unless you really want to use public transportation to Padova and then wait a bit to get the next bus to Abano (with a bus stop conveniently located not far from the hotel) then this shuttle is probably what's best for you.


Surroundings: The hotel is conveniently located near the city centre and the public transportation to Padova. The city at this time of the year is very quiet, and some of the big hotels appear
even to be closed, so it's very relaxing if that's what you're looking for. Night life is
almost inexistant so don't look for crashing a party anywhere here. Even though
transportation to Padova exists, it can be as long as 45' to get there with a bus depending
on the traffic conditions. At rush hour, expect 3/4 busses/hour, and 1 per hour otherwise,
and they can be crowded with (very loud!) school going kids.

staff: extremely friendly and helpful staff, efficient in room cleaning as well as in the
restaurant room. The desk staff, though very helpful and friendly as well, tends to be rapidly overwhelmed and has given on multiple occurences a higher priority to incoming phone calls than to guests in front of them. The waiting line can get a bit long under those circumstances.

infrastructures: The pool is open rather late, until 11pm, and the later hours are
recommended if you want to avoid the crowd and get a chance to use a few of the hot pool's
features such as the intermittent strong water jets to massage your back. (Why these are only
intermittent beats me). Wifi access is good across the hotel, though the speed is
rather slow and connectivity is intermittent as well, so it hardly justifies the cost of its
use if it's not included in your package (3EUR/h). There is a nice lobby with plenty of
stylish seats, accessible all day through. Two elevators are available, and one of them goes
directly to the pool area, so you don't have to walk through the lobby with your bath gear!

room: comfortable bed, in a clean room. There are enough power plugs but my 'economy' room could really use an extra seat to turn the TV table into a small desk, so I wouldn't qualify
the rooms as being "business friendly" if you have to get work done. There is a balcony,
shared with the other rooms, but some of them face the water treatment facilities which
always carry a strong smell of sulfur.


The bathroom is functional and has no major issues besides a very slippery shower tub, which could really need some anti-slip pads. The ladder heater dries your items quite fast which is handy especially if you make an intensive use of the pool.


restaurant: the dining room is very comfy and extremely well laid out. Tables are not too close to each other so there's room for privacy, an interesting feature if you take your meal at the
opening hours when it tends to be rather packed. If you like a quieter mood then take your
meal in the last opening hour around 9pm. All meals are taken buffet-style. Breakfast is of good quality, with plenty of fresh pineapple, oranges and other juicy fruits. Some of them are
more likely to come out of a can, such as the peaches. Decent choice of cereals, as well as
freshly baked cakes and pies. Also noteworthy is the good supply of omelette and broiled
eggs. Coffee is quite good, but the juices do not appear to be freshly pressed and are
probably from a concentrate. Dinner is also very nice with always both fish and meat, a fair
choice of vegetables and plenty of salad. The waiters promptly propose sparkling water
and/or wine, of which there is a fair choice but tend to be a bit on the pricey side. The
hotel bar is strongly recommended, both for an aperitivo before your dinner (have a Spritz
for instance, the super friendly barista Maurizio is a real expert in those!) or for a ristretto coffee afterwards.

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay at Aqua, we look forward to go back there on the next opportunity, and we can only recommend it for a stay of any duration.

Room Tip: ask for a room not facing the hotwater extraction facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I travelled from Ireland for a lazy 5 days in a beautiful part of Italy. My girlfriend and I had a wonderful time here and she enjoyed the spa treatments especially having several of them. The hotel has a classy, yet homely touch to it. The food was my personal highlight of the trip. For us, the hotel was ideally located to the centre of Abano. A short stroll around town was a nice way to walk off the fantastic meals, before using the gym and relaxing by the heated pool.
We found the staff to be genuine and caring with regard to our stay. The Hotel Aqua has a feel of a fancy boutique Hotel where the little things matter. We are already planning our next adventure to Abano.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Just back from a short stay in this hotel, my family & I decided to return after spending Christmas there last year when we had a magnificent time.
We were really looking forward to a repeat performance; pity it turned out to be a great disappointment.
It seams the hotel-spa tried to save money everywhere & the quality dropped immensely.
Food was the biggest disappointment. Last year it was the highlight of our stay. We were under the impression that the poor chefs (same as last year) had to struggle to create something decent with a much lower budget.
For Christmas eve the gala dinner was so bad I rejected my 2 main courses; when I complained, not only was there no apology, but dismissive looks and attitudes.
I’m not picky regarding food, but when the quality is so low one, naturally, gets upset.
The following day it was apparent at breakfast the staff hadn't bothered wiping the floors after the previous evening. Under the tables, the residue of the previous night’s food was visible.
As to the staff: one waitress was courteous and amiable, the others were rude and unfriendly.
I found prices for water very expensive: one doesn’t have any choice but to buy it since tap water is not available,even though drinkable throughout the town.
Prices went up and service down; pity, because the hotel surely lost 4 potentially regular clients.
My overall impression was: the Hotel is failing and the owners are doing precious little to rescue it.
Patronage was evidently in decline.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gianlucamaregotto, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Aqua, responded to this review, January 7, 2012
We thank our guest for the review (also if really critical) that we respect a lot for its living to us different points of reflection on the services disliked during the stay.

We are obviously so sorry that our cuisine won’t have the same appreciation of the last year. We think it’s correct to inform that there won’t be any changes on the staff (as the guest wrote in the review) and also on the behavior of our chef that still has all the freedom he needs to express himself on preparing dishes using ingredients and foods of first quality.
In the same way we are sorry if the disappointment won’t be threaten with the attention expected during the stay.

We apologize and we hope that this negative perception was done by a misunderstanding maybe due by a customer strong disappointment, and not by a bad behavior of our restaurant staff.

With reference to the remark about the cost of a bottle of water (same price as the host’s last stay) we only want to say that the price of our water has not changed since some years and it still is € 3.
Also if we confirm that public water is absolutely drinkable, we never propose water carafes because they don’t fit with our image.

At the end we apologize for the clean less, aspect that we will care as much as possible in the future.

We want to reply to the picture that the guest gave about the hotel describing it like a failure company where we only think about saving money. We always accept critics and suggestion, but we cannot agree with opinions that only want to damage our image in personal and superficial ways like in this case.

Aqua hotel is not a failing hotel.
We started a restyling project and we know that we have to accelerate it, in order to express our new design philosophy in all the areas of the hotel.
Our guests, as we red in the big part of the reviews they leave in this web site, are always satisfy about our warm welcome and our services and this make us aware that we have to work as hard as possible to give soon a modern design also to the part of the hotel that are still waiting for a renewal.
All this changes will replace the positioning of the hotel that want to distinguish itself from the traditional thermal offer of the area with a more modern philosophy.

All the intervention we have done till now and all the ones we have planned for the future make us able to accept critical opinions and to reject conjectures that have no foundation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Aqua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Aqua

Address: Viale Mazzini, 11, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Abano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Abano Terme
#13 Family Hotel in Abano Terme
#13 Spa Hotel in Abano Terme
#26 Romantic Hotel in Abano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Aqua 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Hotel Abano Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Aqua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.