We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every year a wonderful experience....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President Terme

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel President Terme to your Saves list
Hotel President Terme
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Montirone 31, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Abano Terme
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Every year a wonderful experience....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We don't know any other hotel i Italy, where the "antipasti buffet" is done with so much care every evening. But also the wine card is interesting and the whole dinner - candellight or not - is worth staying there.
The outdoor pool is our favorite in wintertime - great athmosphere.
And, last but not least, the hotel crew is always nice to our dog, which is travelling with us and likes the near park for getting walked.
We are allready planning to go again to Hotel President in winter 2014.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    46
    13
    9
    2
See reviews for
46
84
20
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Was there for a St.Valentine-romantic week end and decided to follow some friends.

I have experience with some other hotels in Montegrotto and Abano and this is by far the best, even if a bit pricy.
Good elegance, nice atmosfere and a complete set of waiters and assistants very very attentice and nice. Surprisingly for an Italian hotel.
Another positive surprise: cooking level. Great, mostly considering it's not easy to prepare high level meals for 100+ people.
Because of the end range of price, the average age is high. Dogs are more than welcome!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

President hotel is SO special. Its just hte perfect vacation, its the Best gift you can give yourself...for your HEALTH, phisic and spiritual both...its Fun!, its class,chic still very warm
and friendly...its is great Italy!...
Its well known that the quality of the Thermal Water and mud (fango) is the best in Europe and I would say maye in the world.
It really helps treating and curing so many health problems bone ones, arthritus, osteoporosis, respiratory problems, sinusitis, for your skin and so on.

The owner is Mrs Sabbion,(I would say she is quite a QUEEN) she is around supervising as only she do... she likes all to be perfect,regal,exquisit,professionally done, She and her son the Manager Dr Massimo are there to supervise that you are 101% satisfied...and believe me
YOU WILL SO satisfied.

The experience begins when you arrive to the hotel and a team of kind italians are receiving you at hte reception, Luigi, Luca, Veronica, Vittorio...its amazing they all speak so many languages German, English, French,Spanish, for sure Italian... what can I tell you ...unbeilivable... they are professional,smily, they are really happy to have you there,...
in a minute you are alrady in your room...pleasent , comfortable, They have simple rooms and also suites. Equiped with ALL you anneed, for sure Wifi and then a computer in the Lobby.
You are immediately addresed to Lucia, she is the great Lucia Manager of the fantastic Spa.
Lucia will explain (she all her fantastic team).
The treatments, mud followed up by a thermal private thermal water pool, then shewill be offering the diverse massages, facials, or if you need them inhalations for respiratory problems
(and they really really work...I spoke with people that come at least 2 times a year and they are being cured. Before starting Lucia will address you to the Drs of hte Spa managed by Dr Angelo who will check you up and are there constantly to advise what will behte best for you.
2 ftastic Big , beautiful pools, one inside the other one outside.
The FOOD! unbeilivably good and healthy.Well...its Italy...all quality ingredients and exquisite dishes, great variaty ..so tasty and healthy food, seved with so much love by the team headed by Mario.
There are also so many extra activisties included in theprice of your stay, Mrs L.Sabbion, and her son Dr Massimo are always thinking of ALL... that you should be happy and occupied doing interesting and fun activities.
As
a- Everyday gym class... easy...a walk in the park, streching (they call it a...muscular wake up)

b- every day at 12 a aquagym at the beautiful pools.

c- a fantastic experience. WINE TASTING at the Wineyard...oh you will never forget it...so tipic... you taste and get a class on great italian wine... complemented by cheeses and, cake...they transport you there in a special car , and adorable driver that explains all the pretty places we passed by. Unforgetable experience.

d- The same driver is taking you every friday for Nordic Walking, doesn tmatter if you never did it , he will teach you and provide you with all you need.

e- Family Sabbion is alternating, in the evenings there always diverse entertaining.... sometimes fabulous Fashion Show, chocolate home mde taasting with licors, , again wine tasting with cheeses, always they have great great pianinsts accompaning delicious diners.

All this is included in the room price. All is done with so so much love and elegance. Unique!!

Then in the WINTER...so SPECIAL... the big and so beautiful outside pool is opened with the Jacuzzis...and the water is warm (33 degrees) and the you are swimming outside and its so pleasent.. for sure the inside one is working also. In winter so are so entertained...all is working Luigi is ther, Lucia at the Spa is ther, all is even greater and more special in the winter...just TRY IT! Take my word... I would say President Abano Terme... its a must tovisit one time and then you can not live without it... you just feel helathy and happy!. You just want to go back again and again... You will see, it happened to me. I met there people that keep returning a few times a year the ones living in Europe an dhte US or Canandian or Australians come maye only 2 or 3 times a year... well a bit far , but still they can t help it...it is so great , that you will keep returning....

TRY IT, as I did, you will thank this fantastic Mrs Sabbion and her son for creating this Magic place.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, you can get a suite with not too much difference in price...isn t that fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I booked a single room for one week beginning of November 2012. I enjoyed every day. Even I had planned to do some excursions, I hardly left the hotel. The single room is spacious with big wardrobe, a drawer, a desk with enough drawers for all kind of stuff and a big single bed:-), The bathroom is spacious with a shower cabin, toilet, bidet and a bassin set in marble with enough space underneath and above to store all the cosmetics a lady has. The hairdryer is strong and a magnifying mirror. Bathrobe and slippers are in the room, foc. The Spa is excellent and offers a big choice of treatments. Famous are the Fango therapies for which you have to consult a doctor first. There is a huge indoor pool with thermal warm water and a channel to swim outdoor where another big pool is. Two smaller bassins with different jacuzzis which you can start when and however you like. The temperatur of the water is abt 35°C. There are plenty of deckchairs indoor and outdoor. Breakfast (until 11am!) in a smaller restaurant which you can visit in bathrobe or sportswear, too. Lunch is served either in the restaurant or in the "pool restaurant" (smaller but still excellent choice) where you can sit in your swimming suit and bathrobe - even now in winter. Daily aquagym Mon-Sat. On Friday afternoon Nordic walking and on Wednesday wine-tasting in the Eugenian hills (all f.o.c.).Staff is attentive, well trained, discrete and remembers room number after one day. Room is fixed twice daily. Free wifi in room and probably lobby. It did not work everywhere with my mobile phone. I saw an internet point in the lobby (which I did not use/need). Free parking (video controlled), free bycicle rent. The choice of dishes is exorbitant. Even healthy and low calory dishes are offered, I doubt anyone leaves with the same weight, as you arrive. At least not me:-) Galadinners, candlelight dinners, pianomusic during dinner and in lobby, classical concert. For dinner please dress up, Gentlemen with jacket. Finally we ladies can bring all our beautiful dresses and jewelleries and are not overdressed. Lots of beautiful places in the surroundings.

Room Tip: The rooms toward the pool area are direction Abano centre, so you see the roof of the indoor pool an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Extremely attentive and professional service. I could not recommend this hotel highly enough: we has a very relaxing stay after 6 hectic days in Florence and Rome. This was a haven of peace and tranquility whilst providing very access to Venice. It is a family hotel which caters and attracts an older and discerning clientele.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I very much endorse all that I read on TA, concerning accommodation, staff and facilities.
I had a single room with queen-size bed, comfy armchair, furnished lobby and balcony. The furniture is refreshingly old style, with reproduction furniture as opposed to the banal current trend in hotels. The bathroom was spacious with hot rail for drying the towelling robe (supplied with slippers) overnight; however a 5 star establishment should steer clear of shower curtains that stick to your body and systematically flood the floor: a screen would save the embarrassment to call the maid for mopping the floor (which gets and stays dangerously slippery), save labour ( I glimpsed the cleaners kneeling when doing the rooms on my floor) and protect the beautiful marble tiles. Also, I would have expected more and better quality toiletries: I’m not one for dozens of plastic miniature pots and sewing-kit, but dispensers (that would be nicer to the environment) filled with top quality products, no less than Roger&Gallet or Crabtree&Evelyn, nail kit, toothbrush, should be standard in a luxury hotel.
The staff is President’s best asset, invariably capable, multilingual, smiling and compassionate with elderly and disabled guests.
The spa area is tip top and I wouldn’t go for anything less, with a quantity of fluffy towels, fresh covers for sun beds, attentive staff (again) and, of course, two beautiful swimming pools, large Jacuzzi area, gym, natural steam bath, aromatic shower, aqua gym class and a number of treatments - payable extra - such as massage, mud and detox. Pure bliss. Remember, however, to leave designer swimwear at home, because the thermal water spoils any fibre and colour in a matter of days. Physical and post op rehab under medical surveillance available.
Breakfast and dinner were impeccable, with nice food served in style in two separate rooms, wine tasting events and live piano music at night. There is also a pool restaurant for lunches. A dress code is in place for the evening but I saw nobody being turned away for not wearing jacket and tie, with well-heeled customers generally overdressing anyway. In the lobby, the crest of the Rotary Club make me think that President is either home to or preferred venue of local Rotarians..
One final word about the hotel rates. I booked directly with the hotel on HB basis, at the rate stated on the website, only to find that going BB through booking.com and settling dinners upfront would have been cheaper. A ring was enough to get the best rate and, again, all praise should go to the staff for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Abano Terme is a spa town, treatments based on Fango, hot volcanic mud in which you lie and are wrapped in hessian blankets like a mummy, then left to stew. After this you are hosed down then left to soak in a bath of ozonised bubbling water. It sounds bizarre, and it is. We also thought so 20 years ago when we were first persuaded to try it, much against our wishes.

However the treatments are fantastic, at the end of 10 days or so your skin is like silk, and you feel completely rejuvenated.

Much as we like the Fango, we love the hotel. We have now being going for 20 years, sometimes twice a year. The welcome was great the very first time, but we are now old friends with everyone, and the affection, efficiency and charm of the place has not diminished over the years. Perhaps only the Italians can truly treat you as family.

The bedrooms are smart in an old-fashioned way, so go for a Junior suite for more space. The food is not haute cuisine, but it is well prepared and keeps to a tradition of local Italian specialties. Dinner starts with a huge buffet table of things to pick at, stuffed courgettes flowers, tuna, oysters, prawns, grilled vegetables, dozens of salads, Then a choice of about 6 soups or pasta, 4 or 5 main course choices, then cheeses, fresh fruits, and desserts.

Every evening Madame Lisetta Sabbion, the owner since it was built by her architect husband, visits the guests in the restaurant. She knows everyone by name, must speak at least a dozen languages, and welcomes new guests personally. She is also the eyes of the hotel ensuring that the highest standards are followed by all the staff.

Lunch out by the pool is more relaxed, dining in the open under the umbrellas. Start with an aperitif, then another wide buffet that specializes in many freshly cooked fish dishes, then the inevitable but wonderful pasta, something simple for mains such as a grilled veal steak, and lots of fresh fruit for dessert. Add into this mix a half bottle of rose wine, and you are set for a sleep by the pool, before a leisurely swim in the hot natural spa waters.

All menus change daily with what is in season. We have never seen them repeated.

Abano is generally very smart with people dressing for dinner and to promenade around the pedestrian areas. Expect even the local teenagers to be well behaved, well dressed and chic. In summer there is often entertainment, opera excerpts, local people who come together to sing, concerts in the monastery, etc. A bit of culture which you can dip into as you wish.

There are some excellent artisan shops, Mariangelo where I have my suits and jackets made, Roberto who makes wonderful handbags (to your design or from a photo), and Loredana Boutique who sells the widest range of really smart Italian clothes for ladies, especially liked by us as they are mostly in non-crease fabrics and finally Bettin who have the widest range of smart and fashionable shoes.

Why would we choose this hotelif we were only allowed one? Well the rooms do not surpass and neither does the food, but there is absolutely nowhere on earth that we feel more relaxed, where we chill out instantly, where the staff are all so excellent, where we can sit outside and have a cocktail before dinner and talk to people from 50 other countries, most of whom have been coming for much longer than us, and now it's their children bringing them. The hotel is a mixing pot of European cultures and we love it.

Room Tip: Higher floors with the mountain view we think are preferable to overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President Terme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President Terme

Address: Via Montirone 31, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Abano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 63 Hotels in Abano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel President Terme 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel President Terme reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President Terme, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.