We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place - just how a luxury hotel should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abano Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Abano Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Abano Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valerio Flacco, 1, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 63 hotels in Abano Terme
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“What a lovely place - just how a luxury hotel should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed here in May and had a lovely time. We wanted a few days to relax after a hectic couple of days in Venice and this didn't disappoint at all - our Italian travel agent came up trumps for us as we had never heard of Abano. The suite was very well appointed, but the view from the balcony over a neigbouring block of flats was a disappointment. Fortunately, the lovely outdoor pool was where we spent most of our time relaxing. The full board option is an excellent idea as it gave us a chance to try all our favourite Italian food, plus a few more dishes that we didn't expect. The sommelier, Roberto, was excellent and didn't let us down with any of his selections. The hotel was nearly deserted while we were, which was a shame as there wasn't much of an atmosphere in the evenings after dinner. If you're used to a little bit of luxury in a relaxing area, this is definitely the place for you. Make sure you take the bikes out and ride up to the local monastery at San Daniele - amazing views over Abano and Montegrotto.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Relations049, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Abano Grand Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear TheHootsL,

I really appreciate your positive comments on our Trip Advisor site. What great feedback on your recent stay with us.

I have passed on your positive comments regarding the food and beverage service to our Executive-Chef Claudio and the Sommelier Robert, and they have asked me to thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed the food , particularly the quality and presentation.

We are very proud of the hotel and it is always lovely to hear from our guests who enjoy every aspect of their stay.

Please do contact me directly upon your next visit and we are looking forward to welcome you back.

Francesco Alfare
Guest Relations Manager
Abano Grand Hotel -Antiaging Thermal Spa GB Thermae Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    238
    53
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
53
157
34
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I just came back from a weeks stay. Full board in a standard room. The room was huge and very clean, the staff were very helpful and had an Italian charm. The choice of food at both lunch and dinner was faultless, in fact they will accomodate most dietery needs.
A perfect place for total relaxation
The position is great two minutes walk to shops and cafes. I will definately go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel is great but there in not enough people/ sevice for a 5 stars. At the door there is nobody welcomming and taking your suitcases, at breackfast and dinner you can wait long time before getting served. We spent 30 min to the bar and finally we left with no drinks. At the pool the lifegard is always somewhere else. On the other hand the room is clean, quiet and confortable, the food is great ( wonderful fishbuffet) and the therapists are very nice and competent.

Room Tip: ask for front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

This beautiful Hotel exudes elegance all the way. From the marble floors to the opulent
chandeliers and furniture, to the gourmet meals delivered by waiters in formal attire,
along with the wonderfully refreshing spa offerings, this place has it all. A pedestrian
area for an evening stroll, bikes for your use to explore the many roundabouts and
biker friendly streets, or just lounging in your beautiful room with a balcony and enjoying the quiet and scenic atmosphere of this place will make your vacation one to remember.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Have been going annually to Abano Terme for many years.

The Abano Grand, has a very attentive staff, with the son of the owner, following matters on a daily basis.

Up to two years ago, stayed at Victoria Trieste Hotel, which is a sister of this family owned group. The V-T Hotel is equally fine.

When considering Abano Terme, one firstly considers: Fango (mud) and Massages et cetera for which it is world renowned, and the venue as a hotel is equally important.

The therapists at the Abano Grand and it's sister hotels, are the very best in Abano Terme.

Room Tip: Request room facing the front or the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2011

This was our first visit to Abano Terme and to this hotel. We booked it thru Jetsetter and we have some misanderstanding between the hotel and Jetsetter which finally cost us a lot of money. Leaving that behind; i will like to write a sincere review. We choose this hotel because was a 5 stars with a fitness center and was located in the middle of the cities we wanted to visit (Padova, Verona, Vicenza and Treviso). The hotel is not a 5 stars, the rooms are large but the decor , the Tv all inside is old. The fitness center was a joke, a large space with a few machines. The internet signal is so weak that if you want to have good reception you will have to ask for a room at the 1rst,floor, The pools are ok. The breakfast was very well served and the quality was excellent, the food at the dining was impressive, not tasty but impressive. The people dress up for dinner time and at your arrival before leaving your room read all the rules and timetables, they have plenty !.
The staff is nice and polite. Abano Terme is a quite location, we went to an excellent restaurant 8 minutes driving at Montegrotto called "CENCIO" (Via Enrico Fermi 11), and 2 blocks from the hotel is a beautifull bar where we enjoyed deliciuos Spritz. Also we dine at La Scala a fish restaurant, the food was ok.
We prefer modern facilities so this is the reason I will not reccomend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is my 4th visit to this hotel and my friends 6th visit and the best holiday ever. Now under the managerment of Francesco this is a very well run hotel that offers excellent service throughout. Frequent visitors are remembered by name! The Maitre D'hote Lorenzo runs an excellent restaurant to cater for all dietary requirements and a lovely selection of fresh food. Staff check with the chief before lunch /dinner to reassure guests on the daily menu. The Sommelier Roberto is always available to offer advise on the extensive wine list. The Spa treatments, swimming pools are excellent and I enjoyed the acqua aerobics with Emelia in the afternoons. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abano Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abano Grand Hotel

Address: Valerio Flacco, 1, 35031 Abano Terme, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Padua > Abano Terme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Abano Terme
#1 Family Hotel in Abano Terme
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abano Terme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Abano Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abano Grand Hotel, near Venice’s Marco Polo Airport, 11 Km from Padua, is an ideal place for relaxing in well being. The hotel provides charming rooms in Louis XV style, with bright and spacious marble bathrooms and suites complemented by fine fabrics and exclusive furnishings. The Grand Hotels also offers the magic of well being in its cozy and luxury “Anti-Aging” Thermal Spa® , with an extraordinary variety of treatments and massages.Large garden with palms trees and tropical plants surrounds 3 thermal swimming-pools, one indoor with Kneipp path and 2 outdoor with Jacuzzi, Whirlpool, and resistance pool, connect each other. Elegant restaurant with a refined cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Escapio and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Abano Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abano Grand Terme

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abano Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.