We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly helpful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Rashleigh Arms
Charlestown Road, Charlestown, St Austell, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Portsmouth
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly helpful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here B & B and we also had a dinner here. The room was very nicely decorated and. Comfy bed. It is an old building and the water in the bath ran brown to start with. I guess this is the old pipes! However, the water soon ran clear! The breakfast was fine but the best bit was the helpful staff. They really couldn't have done anymore for us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! It is always pleasing to receive positive comments regarding the customer service and we are also so glad our team looked after you. The Rashleigh is an old building and works on our water supply our taking place as we speak to correct some re-occuring problems.
Many thanks for your positive feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Rob
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    61
    79
    27
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St Austell, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Food was excellent and prompt, service with a smile and a lovely atmosphere. The beer garden was a great place for the kids to play and an ideal spot after some autumn beach fun!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your visit to the Rashleigh Arms. The team and I work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests receive first class service at all times, so it is always nice to have great feedback on our pub. I will pass on your comments to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many thanks Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went for a light supper (3 adults and 1 child). Decent enough for a bite to eat and comfortable, spacious seating. My friends ordered the carvery but it was a long wait and the potatoes tasted as they had been re-heated and not fresh. The pudding (cheesecake) was tasty although did not appear to have been baked in house.
Ok value for money wise so would probably go back if looking for a simple meal.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAustellManagement, General Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Many thanks for your review - we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experiences. Please be assured that all your comments are discussed by us a team and acted upon accordingly.
We are changing our menu in November and although the white chocolate cheesecake has been one of our most popular desserts it is one of the dishes we are changing.

We do hope to see you back here very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice pub, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Always nice to come back here. Traditional pub, probably historic but modernised away. Good selection of ales and nice service. Traditional grub. Nice beer garden to front and if the harbour is hosting some film work then plenty of things to see as well as the improved arts and crafts shops. Lovely beach, dog less to the left and dog friendly to the right.
The beach, it's seclusion, views and wonderful rock pools are what holidays are made of. Great for children.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashleighArms, Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your review, we really appreciate the time you've taken to share your experience. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the Rashleigh Arms, all feedback is important to us and i will share this great review with the team and look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We won't be rushing back there”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

We visited on my dad's birthday. It was mid week but so quiet, there was absolutely no atmosphere. My husbands meal, a pie, was lovely, the children enjoyed sharing their fish and chips, my dad's fish and chip meal was very overcooked. My butternut squash risotto was a joke, I thought it was a starter, such a tiny portion. I was going to say something but I tried it, and it was so bland, I was grateful for the small portion (despite being charged over £10 for this). All in all, it was 'ok' but I'm not worried about going again, eating out is a treat and I find it so disappointing when the food is below average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RashleighArms, Manager at Rashleigh Arms, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback subsequent to your recent meal at the Rashleigh Arms. We were disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with the food which you experienced and would like to apologise for the shortfall on this occasion. We take on board all customer feedback and will strive to improve all areas of our business through your constructive comments.
We are launching a new menu on November 4th with lots of changes and new dishes and also with a dedicated vegetarian section. With Regard to your comments on our restaurant being devoid of atmosphere, it can at this time of year appear so when quiet however we are due a major refurb in the early part of next year with lots of exciting changes planned, hopefully there will be plenty of reason to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rashleigh Arms also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
Charlestown, St Austell
 

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rashleigh Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.