We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Rashleigh Arms
Charlestown Road, Charlestown, St Austell, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

A good pub grub type of place. they do smaller portions of some dishes, which is good, and the wine and beer selection was good, an not too expensive.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    110
    37
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Returned to this pub after eating here around 5 years ago, we came back because of the good value pub food.
Quick service, wide range of choice.
Quality food for a good price, lovely atmosphere too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Needs to do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had two visits during our stay in the area and neither was without problems. Booked a table for the first evening and stood around for 5 mins while staff walked around us before we were acknowledged. We chose a la carte starters and then carvery main (it was Sunday). Great starters, miserable roast dinner! Dry beef, burnt potatoes, veg that had been sitting on a hot plate too long and tasteless yorkshire pudding and gravy. The staff were on the whole uninterested in customers. We returned a few days later to give it a second chance and it generally was better. All a la carte choices this time and all well cooked and tasty (though they did bring me the wrong starter)....i didn't complain. Staff were slightly better, but two people to serve the ten tables occupied, take orders and serve at the bar meant a bit of waiting around. The decor is generally clean and tidy but tables are a bit squashed together. If you go then eat in the bar (there's more space) and if you value your car tyres park in the street.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Visit with added bonus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The four of us walked down for an early evening couple of drinks and meal. St Austell real ale selection was a treat and very tasty. My local mussels and frites were perfect and followed by some wonderful local ice cream. Enjoyed the experience and will probably be back for more.
The added bonus was a Wednesday Seniors 10% discount.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited for lunch and the food was nice but the atmosphere was average. It's a pretty big pub with a large restaurant room which is probably why it didn't feel like it had much atmosphere. We would visit again if we were in the area for lunch but not for a special dinner or anything.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rashleigh Arms also viewed

St Austell, Cornwall
St Austell, Cornwall
 
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rashleigh Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.