We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Visit, Good Food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rashleigh Arms

Rashleigh Arms
Charlestown Road, Charlestown, St Austell PL25 3NJ, England
01726 73635
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $29
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Pub has moved with times and although over 150 years old boasts eight four star gold rated rooms, a public bar, popular with the locals that shows all live sport and has great bands every fortnight. Our lounge bar is fantastic for relaxing in with large leather sofas and armchairs with a touch of historic Charlestown. The restaurant is modern, open plan and serves locally sourced food. And if the weather's good our patio and garden is the ideal place to spend a few hours or more!
cardiff
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Welcoming Visit, Good Food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Got off the bus from Par after travelling down on a Steam Rail Special from Bristol. Very hungry and looking for a quick tasty meal. The Rashleigh totally delivered on both counts !. From the warm welcome by the ladies at the bar to the excellent choice of meats and veg at the carvery eveything was great . Just what we needed,and washed down with Rattler cider, all at a reasonable price too. There is also a varied menu available if you don't want a roast.Left us with plenty of time on our short visit to wander round delightful Charlestown,and enjoy some refreshing sea air on the beach. Thank you to the lovely staff at the Rashleigh.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    132
    51
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

We visited three times during our stay in St Austell. Sunday evening offered a great value carvary, while we ate off the menu the other nights. We particularly liked the meals for smaller appetites which offered excellent value for money at less than £6 each. Different staff on each visit but all were very welcoming and helpful. Meals came as ordered and quite quickly considering they were freshly cooked. Quality and taste left nothing to be desired.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Ate here twice, so must be good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Had two very good evening meals here. Good quality pub food, friendly staff and dog friendly in the bar. Didn't want pork pie with my plough mans so given extra cheese instead, very accommodating. Beer garden gets the sun until late.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Top food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

On my first evening I wandered down to Charlestown and decided to have my supper in the Rashleigh Arms. I asked if it would be possible to have the scampi without chips but with a salad instead which I was told would be no problem! Usually when I request this I am either given a dirty look or the 'salad' turns out to be a few bits of lettuce and cucumber. When my meal arrived, I couldn't believe the amount of scampi on my plate and instead of the token bit of lettuce and cucumber, it was accompanied by a generous portion of fresh, green salad with a delicious French dressing. The scampi was, of course, done to perfection.The house wine is also excellent. Staff are very friendly and biddable, the prices are very reasonable and there is a large outside eating area for when the weather is behaving itself. Can recommend very highly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Pub Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Overall the bar staff were nice and helpful, and the food while your typical pub fair was well cooked and tasty. Also a wide selection of beer and ales including local fairs.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rashleigh Arms also viewed

 
Charlestown, St Austell
St Austell, Cornwall
 

Been to Rashleigh Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rashleigh Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.