We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should I keep it a secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tonnellerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Tonnellerie to your Saves list
La Tonnellerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 rue des Eaux-Bleues, 45190 Tavers, Beaugency, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavers
Overveen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Should I keep it a secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

For years we have been looking for the perfect hotel in this area. Now that we found it we want to keep it to ourselves. But the new owners deserve good publicity.. So yes, it is perfect. Warm welcome, nice and very clean rooms, very nice dinner and delicious wines. When they go on renovating it will become better and better. But please leave us a room?

Room Tip: We had a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A special place in the middle of French country side, one of these hidden gems the French are notorious for, La Tonnelerie is truly a great find. This is my second stay there and I was not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, very clean and welcoming. The restaurant is fist class, offering a limited but succulent menu. Staff is cordial and helpful. The location is convenient, close to the Chateau de Chambord, the largest of the Loire Valley Royal residences. It is also close to Blois, and it's historical Chateau as well. Just tell your very best friend about La Tonnelerie, you do not want to spoil its charm by becoming too crowded

Room Tip: There are great rooms on the main floor opening up to a wonderful yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

We loved everything about this hotel. This is one of the loveliest hotels I have stayed in and is excellent value for what we paid. Be careful that some websites list address incorrectly as Beaugency. Tavers is about 3k from Beaugency. Rooms were spacious and beautifully styled in French provincial character fittings. Quiet and comfortable. The lounge area had a wonderful collection of books and magazines. We could have stayed for some days and left feeling sorry we hadnt booked for longer. Restaurant superb and reasonably priced for the quality of the hotel. Service excellent, helpful and thoughtful at all levels. Having off street and secure parking meant we didnt have to drag our heavy suitcases upstairs. The village is small and quaint and nearby Beaugency worth a visit and has all facilities.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, UK
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

We only stayed one night en route back to Caen for the ferry (the end of a 3 week holiday). At first we were a little miffed that we were unable to park close by as advertised: this was because they were preparing for a 'brocante' in the village the following day. So we had to park at a farm on the edge of the village - the next morning we realised brocante stalls filled the centre of the village and there was absolutely no way through! However once inside the hotel, we found it delightful: our first floor room was charming and comfortable with a view onto the courtyard garden. Dinner was excellent as was the breakfast. In fact it was probably the best breakfast of our entire stay in France. We would like to return as we had little chance to explore the village and surrounding area - we didn't even have time to browse round the brocante!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

The new owners of this lovely village hotel are just great. Very welcoming and helpful.
The family feel is still present and they have lots of plans to upgrade the property which has real charm. The homely,well presented food,using local produce is a move in a good direction.
We will come back again,to enjoy a home from home.
Thank you. From the hotel you can walk through lanes to the River Loire,for amongst others a perfect walk to Beaugency. Well done again.

Room Tip: Suites are good value and overlook the courtyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

Anybody who had stayed at the previous hotel/restaurant run by this charming and genuine couple (L'Auberge de Launay at Limeray) would know that they would put heart and soul into this new - and slightly daunting - prospect.
La Tonnellerie is a large, fascinating and rambling old building with a history, as the name implies, immersed in wine production as a barrel-makers preWhilst the stone buildingmises. A beautiful courtyard/garden dominated by a stunning chestnut tree offer al fresco dining in cool shade with a swimming pool, boule piste and plenty of seating around. There is limited private parking inside the gates, too.
Whilst the solid stone building, along with most of the picturesque village, may look a little austere any such feeling will disappear once inside. On our first recent visit we were lucky enough to be greeted by the personable and ultra-efficient Adeline who had previously been at Limeray and looked after all our needs so wonderfully, often pre-empting them!
We found our room spacious and well-equipped and look forward to seeing it again following the re-furbishment that will shortly take place. The owners have a schedule of work to complete throughout the hotel which is massive but will make it more comfortable and practical.
The restaurant is charming and attractive and the menu intentionally small...but interesting and delicious. Based around classic, regional dishes with the occasional twist the presentation is attractive and the quality of ingredients is high. Sadly we had just one night this time so we look forward to the next.
The buffet breakfast is exceptionally good - wonderful bread - and a very relaxed affair.
Above all this, the hospitality from Francois and Helene is warm and attentive as are all the staff we met....special thanks to Adeline for her humour & professionalism!
The hotel is a classic from the legacy of the wonderful French family hotels which we remember from years gone by and thought were almost gone for-ever only to find that it will live on with this enthusiastic young and creative couple.
We look forward to seeing La Tonnellerie blossom under its new ownership and wish M & Mme Thevard every success - it will be well-deserved

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest USA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We were there on the first leg of a bike tour and were thoroughly charmed by both the villages of Tavers and Beaugeancy. Everyone was accommodating and our room was quiet and nicely furnished.
We liked the decoration of the main building and even got a tour of the wine cellar one evening.
The meals were wonderful and nicely served and the coffee was some of the best I had over my sojourn in France.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
François T, Propriétaire at La Tonnellerie, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your review. We were very pleased to read that your recent stay with us was very enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future! Kind Regards, F&H Thévard, owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Tonnellerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Tonnellerie

Address: 12 rue des Eaux-Bleues, 45190 Tavers, Beaugency, France
Location: France > Centre > Loiret > Beaugency > Tavers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tavers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Tonnellerie 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Tonnellerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Tonnellerie Beaugency
La Tonnellerie Hotel Beaugency

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tonnellerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.