We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place for bikers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vezia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vezia to your Saves list
Hotel Vezia
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Via San Gottardo 32, Vezia, Lugano 6943, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vezia
Certificate of Excellence
Calella, Spain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good place for bikers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were making a tryp through the Alps from Spain and we stopedd there for two nights.From the welcome with a welcome drink through the complete buffette brekfast and the dinner with good american Burgers were special old nice fashioned.
But more important than this was the special attention that all de personal offers always smiling and helping to make a comfortable stay.
For bikers have a private parking under the room is very important.
rooms are comfortable and good cleaned and with good air conditioned.Only bathroom needs a remake more modern style.
Romano.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romano Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vezia f, Direttore at Hotel Vezia, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Romano,

thank you very much for having stayed with us and for your nice review.
We actually are restyling several bathrooms. We hope to welcoming you soon again, so that you can enjoy one of these new-50s-bathrooms.

We wish you all the best and send you best regards from Lugano-Vezia!

Conny Wilke
Co-Direktorin, Hotel Vezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Stopped off for one rainy Sunday night between Reims and Lake Garda, Rooms were small and decor was old and faded (clean though). Odd pictures of random cars, combined with an unusual seperate Lounge/dining area, more a Motel/Travelodge than hotel, and overpriced too.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Vezia f, Direttore at Hotel Vezia, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Mr. Tim,

we thank you very much for staying with us.
The Hotel Vezia is an authentic 50s Hotel. It has been built in 1956 in the typical American style of this time and was later renovated maintaining its 50s spirit. Therefore you can find this kind of 50s-retro-decoration, with a juke box, pictures of vintage cars and of famous people who lived in the 50s, like Marilyn Monroe, James Dean, Elvis Presley, etc. Maybe you have also seen the Vespa and our original pink Thunderbird-cabriolet of 1956.

Having a separate lounge/dining area (the “Diner”) was also very typical in the 50s. The big advantage is that the hotel guests are never disturbed by the noise of the restaurant. Besides the local (Italian) cuisine, we offer in our restaurant several American specialities.

We hope to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Vezia, so that we can show you all these things and you can feel the authentic 50s spirit.

With kindest regards,

Conny Wilke
Co-Direktorin, Hotel Vezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a very quick stay here one Sunday night breaking a journey from Reims to Florence. I have to say we loved it. I had chosen it on location and price; this was quite reasonable compared to just about all the other hotels in Switzerland.
It had a very comfortable king size bed plus a comfortable single for my daughter. The shower was superb and I could not fault the cleanliness. As other reviewers have indicated we had a garage under our room with private access which was very hand as it was throwing it down with rain!
We did not eat at the hotel as we were on a flying visit but ate in the evening at the Italian ristorante directly across the road which was perfectly fine. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and had big smiles to greet us.
Lugano is an absolutely beautiful location and this is a very nice, reasonably priced hotel (with easy parking) from which to visit it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed at the the Motel Vezia for an overnight stay on our way from Como to Reims.
The hotel is very neat and clean, on the main road of Vezia, a small and slightly dull town near Lugano, set within beautiful Swiss mountains.
Our family room had its own garage, a bathroom which was too small (but had the most powerful shower I can remember) and a bunk bed for the kids, which was quite short (ok for our young children but not so comfortable for kids over 10 I would expect).
The 60's look throughout the motel is very nice and makes it stand out from other places, but what we absolutely hated was the duvet covers in our bedroom and the small sofa covers in the lobby near the "petrol pump" with their dated pattern.
We did not have dinner at the hotel restaurant as we got an ok pizza across the road but we did have breakfast there, which, as other reviewers have pointed out, is really expensive for what you get.
Overall, I would have giving it an average rating, but the swimming pool area is very leafy, green and pleasant, there are swings and a slide for the little ones and a giant chess board too - exactly what our kids needed after a long car drive.
My tip to other travellers who are simply driving through Switzerland from Italy to northern Europe is to avoid Switzerland as a stopover: all the Swiss hotels we looked into seemed very expensive compared to places in northern Italy or south France/Germany.

Room Tip: Pets are only allowed in the rooms with private garages
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We only stayed one night, but we got the warmest welcome ever! They showed us our rooms, a drying room, where we could dry our wet clothes because it was pouring rain and they gave us time to unpack and park our motorbikes in a garage before the actual check-in. They were almost fully booked but still found rooms for us to stay the night. All the garages were occupied, but they still tried to find a space for our bikes and moved some things so that our bikes would be kept safe and dry. When we asked for help, because we lost our keys for the locks while on the road, the owner himself came to help us and he found a solution to unlock the locks in no time. I truly recommend this motel to all the travelers who want to sleep well, not worry about their vehicles and sleep in a very expensive city for the lowest price in the best hotel/motel ever! Thank you once again for everything!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DKiSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

Spotlessly clean, private parking garage, best shower we've had in Europe, friendly and affordable. Great find.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank richlovedshower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We chose the Motel Vezia because we were on a driving tour, and safe parking was very important. The option of having your own, private garage directly under your room was too good to miss.

The motel gives a good first impression. The building is interesting, in nice clean grounds, and has a decent looking swimming pool at the one end (which we didn’t get to try, since we were only here for two nights).

After checking in, the receptionist showed us how the garage worked. You park your car, and there is a locked door inside which leads directly up into your unit. There’s a landing, off which is the bathroom, the bedroom, and another door that can take you out to the motel hallway so you don’t always have to enter/exit through the garage.

The bedroom was quite a good size, decorated in a modern style mainly in white with black touches. The furniture included a wardrobe shelves, a safe, bedside table, a desk-like chair and room for writing. The separate bathroom had a shower (no bath), and not much shelf space, but it was perfectly adequate otherwise.

The TV had numerous channels, but only CNN in English. The bed was, as is typical, two singles pushed together, with bedspread and blankets rather than the duvets usually found in Switzerland. The bed was firm, but comfortable. It was difficult to sit up and read, however, due to the shelf arrangement immediately behind the bed.

The motel has a very nice Italian-style restaurant, at which we ate one evening since they offered a set menu for 30CHF, which was reasonable compared with other places we had seen. We enjoyed our meal here, and would recommend it.

Breakfast was not included in the price of the room, and was an extra 15CHF each. This seemed excessive for what looked like a pretty standard continental spread. Luckily, there is a Manora department store right next to the hotel, which was great for buying some drinks and groceries, and had a small café on the corner, from where we had a coffee and pastry each for around 12CHF in total.

We caught the bus into Lugano, rather than drive and attempt to find parking there. The stop was only a short walk away from the motel, and we bought our bus tickets from reception. This seemed a relatively easy way of getting into Lugano, although it wasn’t at all clear where to get off the bus on our first ride in, and we ended up quite a way out of the town centre before somebody helped us and directed us back. Maybe this was just our own stupidity, but I mention it just as a bit of advice for any other new tourists – have a good map, and know where you want to get off, or ask somebody to help!

We found Lugano pleasant, but a little bit dull if I’m honest. It was a great base from where to visit Lake Como, which is what we did on our one full day there. We will never forget driving to and from Lugano to the Lake Como area – an experience not for the feint hearted, but one that we thoroughly enjoyed.

The motel is a great choice if you’re visiting the general area with a car. It’s probably not the best if you just want to visit Lugano itself, since it seemed about a 15-20 minute bus ride out of town. It’s not cheap to stay here, since the rate didn’t include breakfast, and is inflated somewhat for the privilege of having your own private garage – but that’s the main reason we stayed there, and it worked out well for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank reddiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vezia
1.6 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 252 reviews
2.4 mi away
ibis Lugano Paradiso
ibis Lugano Paradiso
#23 of 44 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 stars 352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.6 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Albergo Stella Hotel
Albergo Stella Hotel
#14 of 44 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vezia

Address: Via San Gottardo 32, Vezia, Lugano 6943, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano > Vezia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vezia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vezia 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Vezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vezia Hotel Lugano
Vezia Motel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing