We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Untouched island paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pemba Lodge Ltd.

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pemba Lodge Ltd. to your Saves list
Pemba Lodge Ltd.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   , Kiweni (Shamiani) 3361, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Durban, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Untouched island paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I returned to Pemba Lodge for another family holiday in my favorite, untouched island paradise. A lovely summer holiday away from the busy city life where you can soak up the sunshine, enjoy the tranquil setting and do lots of exploring of the island, surrounding mangroves, sea and coral reefs. There have been noticable improvements in the help and understanding of the staff and I know it will continue to improve in the future. We sailed the Tiki from Dongoni (place on Shamiani island) to Misali where we spent one night sleeping under the stars - an unforgettable experience! I recommend this Eco lodge to anyone who enjoys nature, simple living (trying to have the smallest possible negative impact on the environment) and going to untouched parts of the world where nature takes your breath away!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Pemba Lodge Ltd., responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you your review it was a pleasure to read that you understood and appreciated what we are trying to achieve at the lodge. We are continually making improvements on Shamiani Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    6
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
12
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I spent amazing 5 nights at the Eco lodge, we cannot speak highly enough of our experience. The service by Mr Ali and Mr Tila was attentive but, not entrusive. Chief Ali's cooking was outstanding with local ingredients. The fresh crab meal is one we never forget, cooked to perfection!

Activities - fishing, sea kayaking, and snokneling were also great highlights.

It was amazing to be the only guests staying, it was like we has the island to ourselves.

This place is rustic but, a real gem for pure relaxation in tropical paradise.

Usually we don't post on trip advisor but, we felt it was a must with this great lodge.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Pemba Lodge is a superb place that gets you away from it all. In a authentic African setting we enjoyed an almost private beach, great seafood, wonderful snorkeling and kayaking in a blue lagoon. The staff is very friendly and they will make sure you will enjoy your stay.
Pemba itself is very picturesque and more beautiful than Zanzibar (Unguja). The protected marine parks that are close (eg Misali Island) are simply stunning.

Room Tip: There are only 4 houses and they are all comfortable and enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassor_Maharouky, Owner at Pemba Lodge Ltd., responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear F.K.

Thank you for your positive comments, myself and the rest of the Pemba lodge team always appreciate the feedback from our guests.

We are more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you.

Nassor Maharouky

Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latina, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Spent a week in this little, secluded paradise.
We were searching for a quite place to relax.
We wanted an hideaway, far from discos - cars - beach-boys - ringing phones ...
...and we have got much more.
Lovely people, simple genuine delicious meals, clean accommodation, stunning view from the bungalow, long desert beach to walk (during the day and at night), cristal clear water to swim.
Those little tiny sailboats cruising in and out from the laguna, listening the screams of the bush-baby while having dinner.
And more: kayaking around the Shamiani island in the mangroves, visiting the local village, snorkelling on the corals of the inside reef, watching monkeys running into the bush.
Pemba Lodge is surely NOT the cheapest place on earth, but the way you are spoiled by Ali & Co. makes the stay so special!
On the way back to Zanzibar the plane was flying just above the resort, and looking from above we realised once more how lucky we were.
There were just a few guest in the resort, and we even managed to perform charity act, as a gentleman from Holland had no shoes to carry on his holiday! (R&W will love this).
Not to forget: Pemba Lodge promotes the conservation of sea turtles, buying the turtles that remain trapped from the local fishermen, and so avoid the animal is killed.
The day we left, we released a turtle on our way to the harbour.
Our 8 years daughter would surely keep this touching memory forever.
Will Pemba Lodge stay like this for the future?
Mr. Nassor S. Maharouky, owner of the resort, did a fantastic job, and we really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4south, Inhaber at Pemba Lodge Ltd., responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Pemba Lodge!

We have taken a leap of faith to build an eco lodge on this beautiful and very remote beach, knowing that we have to put our hearts fully into the project to make it work – and we did exactly that. To see our guests enjoying their stay so much is a wonderful reward and incentive for us!

Will Pemba Lodge stay as it is now? While we’ll continue to improve our services, it will most definitely retain its character and philosophy, since that is who we are and what we believe in.

It was a pleasure having you here, and we would love to welcome you again in the future!

Best wishes from all of us!

Nassor S. Maharouky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

After a few days on Ungunja we took the ferry to Pemba. There we we're picked up by a friendly taxi driver and brought to a small fishing harbour at the Southend of the island. Here a small boat was waiting for us with a coconut for some refreshment. We left the harbour and after a stunning 15 min boat drive with mangrove bushes, blue water, beautiful beaches and incredible views we arrived at Pemba Lodge.

Here Ali (assistant manager) welcomed us and invited us in to the mainhouse/restaurant for a drink and some explanation about the rooms, diner and things to do. The rooms where all with a sea view, very spacious and due to the constant breeze very comfortable temperature wise (no air conditioning or fan needed). Keep in mind that if you use a lot of water (showering for example) that it is necessary to pump it up, so just give a heads up to Ali or someone else so they can make sure that you have enough water in your tank for the next time you shower.

The food was mostly catch of the day and nicely prepared if you have any special requests just say this to Ali and they can arrange it for you. Breakfast was fresh fruits, fresh rolls, eggs prepared the way you like and pancakes delicious!

What I think was a really nice activity is to visit the small village. We went there by kajak and Mr Tila was our guide. He knew a lot about the village because he lives there and he even invited us into his home! The kids that live there don't see a lot of mzungu's so don't be surprised if they all come to see you and walk with you around the village.

I think that if you like peace and quiet with a beautiful beach and want to get away from a busy life this is a great place to go. The place is still very undiscovered and due to that unspoiled so you have the feeling of being on a desert island but with the luxury of a great hotel!

Thank you Ali, Mr Tila and the rest of the crew for an amazing two days!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

After almost two weeks vacation on Unguja (Zanzibar), we decided to stay three nights at the less touristy sister island Pemba. As we had stayed at the eco-resort Chumbe island right off the island of Unguja, we wanted to continue our holidays in a similar eco-friendly style and were more than pleased with our choice. Pemba Lodge is located on a remote island surrounded by mangroves and beautiful untouched nature - the perfect spot to get away from the hustle & bustle of big cities and modern lifestyle. When we arrived we were welcomed by Nassor the owner himself and his lovely team, who took great care of us throughout our stay and who made the last days of our Zanzibari holidays and unforgettable experience. Beginning of July we were the only guests for the first days and had the entire white sandy beach for ourselves, it is hard to imagine that such serene and paradise-like places still exist without crowds of tourists and all what comes along with it. Staff were very helpful and friendly and always there to tell us about life and culture on the island, providing information on the local environment and e.g. the turtle conversation project Pemba Lodge has established, and which we went to visit. As staff were all locals mainly from the village on Shamiani island, we felt we were able to give something back to the community, without creating a heavy impact on the environment and at the same time enjoying a magnificent time in this amazing natural setting, which surprisingly had absolutely no mosquitos.
Our bungalow which had just been finalised to accommodate families with kids or larger groups, had a beautiful terrace with view to the sea, and in the morning we would have fresh coffee waiting for us on the porch. Total bliss.
On this note a big thank you also to Ali for being such a great host and for taking us for walks and on kayaking trips along the turquoise water of the island, it was absolutely fabulous and we recommend Pemba Lodge to everyone, who is looking for a calm and back to nature experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Great diving, great relaxing, great atmosphere - just one of these places you could come back to again and again..

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiweni (Shamiani)
39.7 mi away
The Manta Resort
The Manta Resort
#2 of 5 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tanzanite Beach Resort
Tanzanite Beach Resort
#16 of 18 in Nungwi
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mchanga Beach Resort
Mchanga Beach Resort
#37 of 148 in Zanzibar Island
4.5 of 5 stars 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kisiwa On The Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Peponi Beach Resort
Peponi Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Tanga
4.5 of 5 stars 87 reviews
6.3 mi away
Emerald Bay Resort
Emerald Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Pemba Island
4.5 of 5 stars 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pemba Lodge Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemba Lodge Ltd.

Address: , Kiweni (Shamiani) 3361, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Kiweni (Shamiani)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kiweni (Shamiani)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pemba Lodge Ltd. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pemba Lodge, situated on the remote and beautiful Shamiani Island off Pemba, Zanzibar’s sister island.It is Pemba’s first true eco-lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pemba Lodge Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemba Lodge Ltd. Pemba Island, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemba Lodge Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.