We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love ecotourism - remote, quiet, beautiful location with powder white sand and an azure ocean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pemba Lodge Ltd.

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pemba Lodge Ltd. to your Saves list
Pemba Lodge Ltd.
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Shamiani Island, Kiweni (Shamiani) 3361, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Zanzibar, Tanzania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“I love ecotourism - remote, quiet, beautiful location with powder white sand and an azure ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

What a special place to stay! If you really want to experience ecotourism this is the place - and you can feel good that your carbon footprint is a lot smaller due to the energy and effort of the owner of this rustic lodge. Simple but comforable decor, solar energy and the creative use of environmentally friendly materials.............etc etc and friendly staff and plenty of tasty food. The perfect place for an author to squirrel away and write that best seller. I enjoyed the journey to the lodge by boat through the mangroves, the snorkelling trip and meeting other guests. For people who like 5 star air conditioning and swimming pools keep away - this is for the truly wild spirit. I loved it and will be back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    6
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
11
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The lodge is really new and the management was a disaster. We were the only guest there has at this time and there wasn’t prepare. Special the meals. Every time tuna, same vegetables, same fruits. No bread for breakfast two times. One day they forgot to clean our rooms. The huts we lived had an eco toilet with one problem she smells. Two times no water at the shower. The lodge is not easy to reach. When you like to go for diving you need 2 hours for one way and it cost for 2 person $250. Our conclusion is that the place/beach is wonderful, but price and the rest don’t matched together.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
4south, Frequent visitor at Pemba Lodge Ltd., responded to this review, August 23, 2011
The food can be repetitive, but one must bear in mind that the supply is limited, only locally produced seasonal fruit and vegetables are used, and fresh fish and sea food caught daily. The lodge has to be self sufficient, as there is no bakery down the road.
The water used in the showers is either harvested rain water, or water brought from the mainland by dhow.
There is no electrical grid to tap into on the island, all power for lighting and refrigeration is supplied by solar power and battery banks.
If you are looking for extravagant gourmet meals and European style luxury accommodation , you would be better off somewhere else. The lodge has a special appeal for people wanting something different, people trying to escape the normal resort type experience.
One needs to ensure that the lodge chosen for your holiday is selected carefully and research is done before leaping on a plane. There is nothing worse than not enjoying your holiday, because ones preconceived ideas are not being fulfilled.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I had the priviledge of sending a 3 nights at the lodge & I can only say it was amazing. The lodge is very secluded & remote , besides the incredible beaches & mangrove channels. The hosiptality was superb, great food & very helpful staff. If you are planning to visit Zanzibar, Pemba Island lodge is well worth a visit for the incredible beauty of Pemba island & surrounds

Room Tip: Allow hamock time !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

I visited the Pemba Lodge for a day while on a whirlwind tour of Pemba and its big sister, Unguja (Zanzibar). My experience there, albeit short lived, was extremely relaxing and comfortable and gave me greater confidence in the future of the hotel industry on Pemba. This confidence stems from the principles of eco-tourism on which the hotel itself was founded and by the cooperation I saw between the hotel and the Pembans in the area.

After a short snorkel trip in crystal clear waters, our extremely pleasant boat captain flagged down a traditional sailboat and boat two large fish right there on the spot. The fish had not even made it to shore - that's about as fresh as fish can get. On top of the culinary benefit, this sort of interaction brings profit to the local people and harbors good relations, good relations that you will definitely experience if you go on a tour of the local villages (highly recommended!)

Ultimately, the Pemba Lodge proved to be the perfect escape. The only sounds are the wind in the whistling pines and the waves hitting the beautiful beach just in front of the bungalows (no annoying generators at night...thanks solar power!) I cannot say enough about this place and I hope to return as soon as I can, hopefully for a much, much longer period of time.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

I stayed at the Lodge for three nights while on an unbelievable trip. The unspoilt beauty have to be experienced to appreciate. The friendliness of the staff and management compliments the natural environment, which hopefully would never be spoilt by commercialism. A must for anybody that would like to be exposed to beauty, relaxation and the sea at it's most colourful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

what can I say? It was the best place I have stayed out for a long time... The staff was lovely, friendly, very professional and local, the food was just amazing, the chef was from the neighboring village, the bungalows were private, simple, comfortable and lovely, made from recycled wood and the common areas well thought with games, a salon. It is situated in an island only populated by one friendly village. The owner is also a local whose ethics are inspiring. If there is one place to stay in Zanzibar, it would be Pemba Lodge especially if you want calm and relaxation. We did some lovely long walks in the area... Just check the tides as at low tide one cannot really swim in front of the hotel. You would have to organize to take a boat. If I were to go back to Zanzibar, that is the place I would choose to go back to and for more than 5 days this time.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

This place embodies a perfect combination of modern ecological lodging, amazing food on full board, a touch of luxury, local friendliness and seclusion to make holidays unforgettable. Getting there is an adventure on itself, the relaxed atmosphere a temptation to stay forever and the chance of meeting people, getting to know about local Pembians an their fishing and village culture without any harassment a surplus.

Definetely one of the last perfect unspoiled places on earth to visit!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pemba Lodge Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pemba Lodge Ltd.

Address: Shamiani Island, Kiweni (Shamiani) 3361, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Pemba Island > Kiweni (Shamiani)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kiweni (Shamiani)
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pemba Lodge Ltd. 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pemba Lodge, situated on the remote and beautiful Shamiani Island off Pemba, Zanzibar’s sister island.It is Pemba’s first true eco-lodge ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Pemba Lodge Ltd. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pemba Lodge Ltd. Pemba Island, Tanzania

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pemba Lodge Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.