We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, but.......” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gold Creek Tourist Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nicholls
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gold Creek Tourist Resort
Save
You added Gold Creek Tourist Resort to your Saves list
O'Hanlon Place, Nicholls 2913, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nicholls
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Okay, but.......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights to attend a wedding. The motel is well located and easy to find and the staff friendly and helpful. The rooms are of a good size, ours slept five and was a lot bigger than many we've crammed into with the kids! The bathroom is a very efficient design as the basin, toilet and shower are all separate so can be used by different people at the same time. Great for families wanting to get out in a hurry!

Unfortunately the place has been 'let go' quite a bit, it is very 'tired'. There appears to be no attention to detail when it comes to maintenance. The standard of cleaning was so-so. Not gross but not great either. We asked for an ironing board as we wanted to iron our clothes for the wedding. The ironing board cover was quite stained and we had to cover it before we ironed our clothes.

Room Tip: Not for a romantic weekend away but with better cleanliness and maintenance could be a fantastic pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    14
    13
    9
    7
See reviews for
8
11
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We had our staff Christmas Party in December 2011, 2 Course sit down and Accommodation, the food was totally awesome, the room was decorated to perfection, the accommodation was very comfortable, the Motel must have done renovations, as it was very modern, clean and good service.
The Motel is in a great spot in the Village. A pat on the back for the function organisor, excellent job

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCTRCanberra, Owner at Gold Creek Tourist Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments on our Functions, I am glad to hear that you had a successful function with us and we will look forward to accommodating your group again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

As a school Camp we stayed over two Nights at Gold Creek Tourist Resort. All the other reviews said the place was horrible. The beds were okey the rooms were good and had a tv. To start with the tv's had only three channels but we scanned it so we had 33. The food was ok but it would be better if you go to eat up the road………

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCTRCanberra, Owner at Gold Creek Tourist Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, it is nice to see a good reply about our services, we average 500 - 1500 children per week, 90% of our school clientele have been with us many years now and are booked in-advance for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We booked two rooms here for three days for my recent wedding as it was a great location to the Gold Creek Chapel. The rooms are not fresh and clean, appear very worn and weary. After a couple of attempts we finally managed to get a heater remote that worked to warm up the room. On our third night we moved into the honeymoon suite which is much cleaner and more pleasant to stay in. However, reception staff failed to give us a heater remote so we were unable to warm the room to use jacuzzi. Towels in both rooms supplied were thread bare and of a very small size. The only good thing about this hotel is the location to the chapel- extremely overpriced for the poor service!

Room Tip: The three rooms I saw in this hotel were of a budget and threadbare standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nicholls hotels

Canowindra
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Absolutely the worst place we have stayed for sometime. Second time we have been there but wont be back. Room was a disgrace. Rotten wood around the shower, marks all over the walls, a used glass left in the frig, stuffing hanging out of one pillow, mattress old and hard. Definitely not worth the money, by pass this so called resort and stay in a pub!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Our school stayed here early July for our excursion to Canberra, generally the rooms where tidy, however the beds were thin and uncomfortable, the bathroom could of been cleaner, the room we stayed in had a blocked shower pipe resulting in the bathroom to be flooded if we were to have a shower. The towels where not replaced everyday, the air condition was noisy and I had to turn it off the get to sleep. The food was not 5 star but it was edible, it did improve after we got a different chef. If you stay here, bring your own pillow case and if you can, bring your own donna, A sleeping bag is not necessary.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011 via mobile

My school stayed there for a school excursion to canberra. I read all these reviews before i went i didnt really want to go but when our school arrived at the place i was ok about it. We had the best room ever! We had six people in our room and the room could fit eight people in it. One queen two singles two bunk beds our room was the biggest there so that was fun. Tv reception is bad. Food is terrible except the chicken. The pasta was un cooked and gross. Had a good sleep. Comfy bed. Nice bathroom. I recomend this place for larger groups of people. I your by your self or with one other person go to a better hotel. In the other rooms there was i one room three bunks. Two bunks two singles and stuff like that.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gold Creek Tourist Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gold Creek Tourist Resort

Address: O'Hanlon Place, Nicholls 2913, Australia
Location: Australia > Australian Capital Territory > Nicholls
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nicholls
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Gold Creek Tourist Resort is a family oriented business since 1998. The Motel has 65 units and is located right in the heart of Gold Creek Village. The Motel caters for conference's, wedding functions, wakes, birthdays and many school and sporting groups.The Motel has Spa, Standard and Bunk Style Accommodation. The Motel has a Guest kitchen, Laundry & BBQ area.Our Restaurant area is open Monday - Friday for evening meals or room service. Our Bar area operates Monday - Friday 2.00pm - 10.00pm & Saturday's 2.00pm - 6.00pm. Monday - Friday Happy Hour & Free Bar Snacks. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gold Creek Tourist Hotel Nicholls

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gold Creek Tourist Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.