We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but room allocation is a lottery” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 10%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice resort but room allocation is a lottery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

I had read great reviews here of the fabulous, spacious apartments and thought they would suit us perfectly. We booked a 2 bedroom residence with 1 king and 2 singles with a large terrace for a family of 5

I rang the Reservation Dept as soon as I placed the internet booking to confirm that there were 2 single beds in the second room, and was told there were definitely were.

When we arrived, we were put in Room 1013, which had only one single bed, no terrace and horribly dark, small and pokey.

The older boys had to sleep on a sofa bed in the living area which no-one could move around, and was a serious health and safety hazard. The smallest child was up early every morning and had nowhere to go, so woke everyone- which was why we had booked the larger apartment in the first place.

There was also no way in or out of it without going up or down lots of steps which made it very difficult to access with the baby in a buggy.

Considering how much we had paid for our "luxury holiday" it was extremely disappointing.

The resort was overbooked so we couldn't change rooms. After many, many complaints daily we eventually got moved - 5 days later, but it very much spoilt the start of our holiday - we couldn't even unpack there was so little space, and it was very frustrating to be told every morning "maybe we will move you tomorrow".

I did not get so much as an apology. The staff and manager were polite but It was a real "shrug the shoulders" attitude They could "do nothing". It has left me with a very bad impression of the Radisson .

I asked several times for a refund to compensate for the first 4 nights. and was told I would be emailed, but as yet I have heard nothing, 2 weeks later.

I will try to be objective about the rest of the review...

The location is stunning.
Everything you need is on site from a supermarket (reasonably well stocked apart from salad veg), banking machine, shops, restaurants.
The resort is spotlessly clean and the apartments are of a high quality finish and well equipped.
The pools were lovely and the beach great if you don't mind the pebbles ( you can get jelly shoes in the shop there), the water was really clean
The sports centre was great, although it took us a while to locate it and find out what was on.
The boys did soccer coaching, which we set up for them every day. Antonio, the coach, was excellent.
We took the boat trip to Lopud and would recommend it.

On the down side
The steps and hills make this resort very unsuitable for small children in buggies. The layout is very frustrating - even a small trip became very long to try and avoid the steps, and involved going through 2 separate lobbies to get the only lifts.It seemed deliberately awkward - there were steps in places they didn't even need steps! A few ramps or external lifts could be added easily now to make the resort more accessible.

Its not very child friendly from a toddler perspective. There are a couple of toddler pools, but they were too cold for small children (in July!). They have no fence around them, so too easy for a small child to either run into the pool, or run away. Same with the little play park - a fence and a few adult seats would make a big difference. There is no kids club or indoor play area for under 3s.

Everything seemed very expensive, the food quality was fine, but it was not up to the 5 star prices they charged. Dinner for 2 adults and 2 children was €150.

There were a few "intro" free activities but most activities were charged. The Sports Centre was very underutilised for that reason eg there is a custom built Wii room, but you have to pay to use it.

Those issues aside, it is a nice resort, but you cannot be confident of your booking, so it is a bit of a lottery when you book

I wont be taking the risk again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    618
    321
    71
    20
    9
See reviews for
323
418
16
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We had a week in a delux room in the hotel. The view was amazing. The room itself was functional, clean and perfect for a week away. There were 3 of us - myself, partner & 4 year old.

The resort is fantastic, it's so clean and well groomed. After our initial walk around we settled on the Sunset kids pool as our hold up for the week. It was convenient to the hotel, the facilitiies here were clean and you could have a drink or food the bar. My ONE upset of the whole week happened at this pool. My 4 year old daughter loved the pool but on day 4 suffered cuts to her feet from sharp tiles on the bottom of the pool, so she wore her crocs in after that, but the next day she cut her fingers quite badly. We had to ask asked for first aid but the pool attendants didn't have any at that location and had to go to the hotel to get some bandages. The cuts where not life threatening but still bled quite a bit. The next day my daughter had been warned what not to do and what to do, and while hanging out with her friends unfortunately she decided to rest up against the side of the pool and the water filter sucked her in and bruised her back quite badly. At the pool there is a notice you use it at your own risk - just be aware there are risks, our daughter was not the only child who suffered cuts. I did bring it to the reception staff attention, they weren't interested, I asked for extra tissues as we'd used the supply in our room, they never arrived. A security guard brought us down for take some photos of where this had happened ant told me I would receive a report - but at no stage were we asked for our name, room number - so I knew we wouldn't get a report. Their lack of interest really bothered me!

Putting aside my upset with the reception staff, we had a lovely time. The restaurants on site are quite expensive but we did get good meals. We ate at Cilantro twice, the staff there were really good and accommodating. The pineapple chicken curry is fab! Breakfast was an experience, plenty of choice and a great view from the balcony if you're lucky enough to get a table there.

The airport transfer was very luxurious and well worth the €85 cost. The ferry transfer to the old town was great, and we have to compliment the guys on board, we had gone to the wrong pick up point and they searched us out, they had parked somewhere else in the port as it was busy but made sure we were looked after. Also the bus transfer was good, on time and very comfortable. We thought reasonably priced too!

It's a great place, and I would like to go back. The location and setting is second to none. But I think there should be a procedure in place to deal professionally with complaints or issues.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

I need to say, we probably had the best service ever in a 5* hotel. I had booked 2 rooms and a junior suite on the Club floor for our 10 days vacation trip this July. Upon arrival we were really impressed by the warm welcome we got on the 6th floor, the extra cost is really worth it. Enjoy superb rooms and suites, complimentary breakfast on a quiete terrace with breathtaking seaview, extra room service, fruit plates, wine and extra drinks included.
A tremendous effort has been made by management to improve the quality of service which we found about average 2 years ago just after opening. I have asked different staff members and they all were unanimous on the quality of Management and all happy to achieve the same goal: customer satisfaction.
Have you ever seen that?? Shortly after arrival I noticed that one of the sliding doors in my suite was broken. After complainig to the Club Floor Desk, and with the help of Marijana my contact at reservation, we were upgraded to the Presidential Suite. Probably a unique experience in one's life...138 sqmtrs, front sea view and so forth,thank you again Radisson Staff!!
Note that this hotel is the only one i found with an adult pool...enjoy real rest apart from the family pools...
Small negative point...some very noisy people and kids in the oftenly unattended spa, but i bet this will promptly be improved.
As a summary: excellent hotel, best service, best location

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gjovik, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

My x-gf and i stayed here for 9 days from aug. 2. until 11. First of all, we were stunned when we first saw the hotel and the fascilities that come with, as this is all, visually, breathtakingly beautiful.
I noticed that some here have complained a bit about the service. But all of our experiences this far have been greatly positive. EVERYBODY is smiling, they are extremely helpful and serviceminded, and made us feel well in most everything that we did.
Now, the hotel is placed a bit away from Dubrovnik City, but this need not be any problem, Most everything that you desire is to be found at site, and the hotel provides shuttle boats- and -buses at reasonable prices so that you can get in to Dubrovnik City in less than a 30 minute ride.
Thing is, because of the placement, and the sheer scale of this place, all fascilities, shops, restaurants etc seem to work as in some collected macrosystem under the full, or partially administration of the hotel. Therefore, you will find that prices when you eat out can be up to 3 times higher than what you experience elsewhere in Dubrovnik. It is fair to say that the quality of the food is also higher, so it compensates. We came at peace with the genereal mechanics of how and why while here, so this affected us none, as we were conscious about this matters. We ate out, we enjoyed the generally good food, the service and everything, and I have no complaints to be sincere.
All in all, I highly recommend staying here for everyone, business, family, romatics whatever, as soon as your absolute main mission going to Dubrovnik is to party in the city to late hours every night.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

a wonderful hotel. A lot of rooms but no too many people around the swimming pools;
How is it possible ? Perfect breakfast, perfect buffet for the dinner. No complain.
And a beautiful city to discover : Dubrovnik. A city to discover before too many people have the same idea...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This is a lovely resort and I ccould not fault the rooms, pools or surroundings. The prices around the resort were expensive but no more than you would expect from a resort of this standard.
I would recommend hiring a car as with 5 of us this was cheaper than the hotel transport into Dubrovnik and gave us the freedom to explore the wider area and dine at local restaurants - especially Konoba Hill in next village of Trsteno - which provides fantastic home cooked local food at reasonable prices.

Overall a beautiful part of the world with many benefits.

We also drove up to Mostar in Bosnia and Herzegovinia which is definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

As couple with a 3 year old child, you cannot go wrong here as long as you don’t mind the stairs! The resort is immaculate, the apartments top drawer and the staff are a credit to the organisation. Some of the restaurants are a tad expensive and skimpy on the portions, but there is always Dubrovnik if you fancy eating out and a supermarket on site that is reasonable, and sells beer much cheaper than the on-resort restaurants if you fancy a cheap night in. There are multiple pool areas to swim and sunbathe, and the resort as I said before is very well maintained, the staff really take pride in the place and it shows. The resort however, is not a walk away from Dubrovnik, you must take either a taxi or a shuttle from the resort, the journey is about 20mins or you can go by boat! We did upon arrival whilst checking in have to leave a 750 Kuna (approx £90) deposit against the room, that will be refunded in full when you leave (as long as you don’t consume the provided goodies in the fridge!) which was a bit of a surprise, so ensure you have enough funds in your bank to cater for this.
That said this has to be one of the best resorts we’ve ever stayed in to be honest, the apartment blew us away, spotless, fully air-conditioned, bath and shower, electric hob and microwave, large LG LCD TV. Oh, and you can drink the tap water in Croatia just as you can in the UK, no need to buy bottled water! There are excursions available for everyday of the week if you have the energy, we visited Dubrovnik and Montenegro and loved every minute. The young courier on one of the tours ‘Tony’ was a blast!
We are definitely going back sometime in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7305, quite a few steps down to the pools etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens

Address: Na Moru 1, Orasac 20234, Croatia
Phone Number:
Location: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Orasac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Orasac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying a privileged location just steps away from a picturesque beach, resort offers wide array of rooms, suites and residences. With its award winning 3500 m2 Spa, large Sport center, beach, 3 outdoor pools and marina, conference facilities it's designed for ultimate luxury holiday experience. Gourmet heaven is the only way to describe the dining options at this five-star Adriatic Sea hotel. Guests are spoilt for choice with a fabulous array of restaurants, poolside eateries, bars and a unique Market Place concept, serving up delicious international and local dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Rezidor, Priceline, Despegar.com, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Hotel Dubrovnik
Radisson Blu Resort And Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens
Radisson Blu Hotel Dubrovnik Riviera
Radisson Blu Resort & Spa At Dubrovnik Sun Gardens Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Croatia - Orasac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Resort & Spa at Dubrovnik Sun Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.