We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Calm & Care.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lukenya Getaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Lukenya Getaway to your Saves list
Lukenya Getaway
Athi River 00202 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Athi River B&B and Inns
Sri Lanka
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean, Calm & Care.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is a great place which I ever stayed. I stayed 7 nights there which was very good. I just participated a training workshop at this hotel and we had good service from the staff. It has number of training rooms with plenty of space. Rooms are fairly big enough (Lukenya suite). The bathrooms also big and very clean. The staff are very friendly and supportive. Their hospitality is appreciated. meals are very good. but only thing was, we didn't see big difference meals over the time I stayed. However, meals are very tasty and the service of the restaurant staff was friendly.

You can see Zebras, Giraffe, Antelopes, Wildebeest, and many more wild animals on your way to the hotel as well as around the hotel. Hotel environment is nice and safe.

Hotel situated bit far away from the Nairobi city. It is located 4 Km away from the Nairobi-Mombasa Highway. there may be 20 Km from the Nairobi Int. Airport. There is a huge traffic on that road during the morning & evening time. If you need to go to the city you have to spend 80 - 90 USD for the taxi. But no available taxi near by. You have to inform the hotel in advance and then they will arrange hotel taxi for you. The nearest town is Athi River located in about 10 Km away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Room number from LS 016 to LS 022 are very big rooms. room number Ls 001 to LS 006 are small. accord...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

This the 4th year our organization has stayed at Lukenya. We stayed for 5 nights this time. We have been impressed every time with their cleanliness, menu and staff. The rooms are comfortable too with mosquito netting. I stayed in Room 15 with my husband and a 89 year old lady traveling with our group, which is a suite with a sitting area, 2 bedrooms and 3 baths (2 full baths and 1 half bath in the hallway) as well as a small kitchen with a sink and coffee/tea pot. There is also a porch.However, it is quite a distance from the dining hall and the paths are dark. Lukenya has beautiful manicured gardens and a swimming pool as well as paths that lead through the property. During the day we went into Nairobi to do humanitarian work, so it was great to come back to warm showers, running water, toilets and great food! On the way to and from Nairobi (right outside Lukenya) we were able to see giraffe, zebra, gazelle, hyenas and warthogs roaming freely. The view is spectacular, with the hills nearby. Wi-fi is available in the lobby area and we had good cell phone reception. There is a wall around the hotel with a guarded entrance, so safety has never been a concern to our group.

Bring a flashlight! If you are coming from the US bring an adapter for the outlets. Also, it can get chilly at night, so bring a light jacket or sweatshirt.

Room Tip: Room 15 is a suite with 3 bathrooms, 2 bedrooms and a sitting area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and traveled 30 mins each day to our destination which was pretty good. Food could be varied a bit more from night to night but consistent quality. We felt safe and staff were some of the friendliest ever. Great Christian music over meals too. Bit a distance to the CBD but that was not what we wanted. Will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I just love Lukenya Getaway. It keeps getting better with time. My third time here, and each time the place looks different- better! The food was awesome! They have great chefs and the variety is really something. The rooms are comfortable and clean and they have excellent service. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. They have excellent grounds for team building activities. Would definitely go back to Lukenya Gateaway!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's the perfect place to escape to, when you need a break from Nairobi's hustle and bustle. The food is really good. My companions and I had a lovely dinner, the chicken was cooked to perfection! We whiled away the afternoon by the pool and all too soon it was time to get back to the city. If you want to go do stay longer than a day.. something about the place relaxes you. The new wing rooms are really nice, I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Get the new wing rooms, beautiful, fantastic showers and I like the beds there plus there's a cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thika
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Turn off Mobasa road and are greated by giraffes,zebras,wildebeests,gazelles roaming freely along the well maintained rough road to the hotel. A true wilderness. Getting into the hotel, you get into a calm and serene enviroment with beautifully manicured lawns and trees turning the hotel compound into an evergreen area. The reception was wonderfull with a welcome glass of fresh juice as you complete the booking details before being escorted to the rooms. The rooms for all in our group were spacious clean and meticulously furnished. Beds were large and comfortable for a good refreshing sleep.
The Service team was very pleasant and professional, always ready to assist. The meals were of very high quality and variety not to mention the dessert which always had something wonderful. We enjoyed every bit of the foods.
The conference facility for our use was well set after every sitting. The grounds patched with swings and playgrounds is all you need for bonding and team building. The swimming pool was very enticing thou we ran out of time before we could get in.
Overall, a quiet, refreshing, peaceful, safe and very relaxing stay were you get value for money. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Passing zebras and giraffes on the way to a hotel is always a good start. It's a short distance (50km or so) from Nairobi and it certainly is a 'getaway'. Conference facilities were fine, although there were some problems with internet access. Rooms were large and clean, and the food was of a very good quality. Swimming pool looked nice and it seemed relatively busy, but because of it's surroundings you don't feel like there are too many guests. Receptionist were very helpful. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lukenya Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukenya Getaway

Address: Athi River 00202 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Athi River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Athi River
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lukenya Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukenya Getaway Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lukenya Getaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.