We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lukenya Getaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lukenya Getaway to your Saves list
Lukenya Getaway
Athi River 00202 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Athi River B&B and Inns
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Getaway Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's the perfect place to escape to, when you need a break from Nairobi's hustle and bustle. The food is really good. My companions and I had a lovely dinner, the chicken was cooked to perfection! We whiled away the afternoon by the pool and all too soon it was time to get back to the city. If you want to go do stay longer than a day.. something about the place relaxes you. The new wing rooms are really nice, I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Get the new wing rooms, beautiful, fantastic showers and I like the beds there plus there's a cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
2
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thika
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Turn off Mobasa road and are greated by giraffes,zebras,wildebeests,gazelles roaming freely along the well maintained rough road to the hotel. A true wilderness. Getting into the hotel, you get into a calm and serene enviroment with beautifully manicured lawns and trees turning the hotel compound into an evergreen area. The reception was wonderfull with a welcome glass of fresh juice as you complete the booking details before being escorted to the rooms. The rooms for all in our group were spacious clean and meticulously furnished. Beds were large and comfortable for a good refreshing sleep.
The Service team was very pleasant and professional, always ready to assist. The meals were of very high quality and variety not to mention the dessert which always had something wonderful. We enjoyed every bit of the foods.
The conference facility for our use was well set after every sitting. The grounds patched with swings and playgrounds is all you need for bonding and team building. The swimming pool was very enticing thou we ran out of time before we could get in.
Overall, a quiet, refreshing, peaceful, safe and very relaxing stay were you get value for money. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Passing zebras and giraffes on the way to a hotel is always a good start. It's a short distance (50km or so) from Nairobi and it certainly is a 'getaway'. Conference facilities were fine, although there were some problems with internet access. Rooms were large and clean, and the food was of a very good quality. Swimming pool looked nice and it seemed relatively busy, but because of it's surroundings you don't feel like there are too many guests. Receptionist were very helpful. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Lukenya Getaway. Our organization brought a team of 23 people and worked in the Nairobi slums during the day. Lukenya was so refreshing to come back to. They have a wonderful pool and excellent staff. Someone on our team got sick (from the hot weather) and they moved her to a new room and got her special food for the day at no extra cost. They were so friendly. Everyday we came back to the hotel we saw giraffe, zebras and gazelles roaming free along the roads and in the nearby fields. The beds were comfortable, our room did not have air- conditioning but we opened the windows and tucked in our mosquito nets and sleep like a baby (and woke up to beautiful birds singing). They have cold water, soda and drinks available for a reasonable price and I loved the wonderful breakfast every morning (I liked lunch and dinner too). It's close enough to Nairobi (45 minutes by van) and you get fresh air instead of the polluted air of Nairobi and it so quiet and relaxing. All in all it is a comfortable and safe place to stay, I recommend spending a little extra money and getting a larger room. I loved the food (and I'm picky) and there was always something wonderful for dessert. I have been to Africa many times and this is like an oasis in the desert without losing the Kenyan culture.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

It's a long way from Nairobi and anything else so be sure you are happy just staying on site! Good place for a work retreat or workshop where you want to spend the whole time together. I have been here 3 times for international work conferences and it's a lovely location, nice rooms spread across the grounds - lots of greenery and flowers. Good size meeting rooms, friendly staff and food was good too.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This facility is located away from all the noisy inconveniences like traffic and crowds. Natural environment and perfect for a quiet weekend away. Truly a "gateaway"
Worth visiting again! And again!

Room Tip: The cottages are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Have been here twice in as many years for workshops. The rooms are basic but check most boxes. Everything is quite clean. There seems to be recurring issues with the shower heads, but it was manageable. There are lots of mosquitoes - but the rooms have mosquito nets and repellents plugged into the wall (two per room would be better). Mattresses are hard but I slept quite well as it is so peaceful at night!

Conference facilities are basic but they do the job. One major issue is the wireless internet - these days it really should be a standard feature of any decent accommodation, even in Kenya, but there is almost no useful connectivity at Lukenya. For conferences and workshops, expect to be offline most of the time.

I'm not sure why other reviewers are complaining about the food - I found it to be very fresh, with varied dishes and the service in the dining room is excellent. Compared to hotel food (even in the Western world), the Lukenya food was great.

It really is in a 'getaway' location - so much so that there really isn't much to do nearby the compound. You can see giraffes, zebras, and other animals without going too far down the road, and sometimes even from strategic locations inside the compound itself. Lukenya have started adding some spaces for recreation - e.g. snooker table, basketball court, gazebos in the garden, etc. The bar is 'dry' so it is a bit pointless - but still a nice place to sit by the pool (well-covered in mosquito repellent).

Customer service was excellent and I would highly recommend Lukenya as a business retreat or workshop option outside of Nairobi.

Room Tip: The 'getaway suites' are larger and more private than the rooms in the larger buildings. Che...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lukenya Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukenya Getaway

Address: Athi River 00202 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Athi River
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Athi River
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Lukenya Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lukenya Getaway Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lukenya Getaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.