We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway Heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lukenya Getaway

Save Saved
You added Lukenya Getaway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lukenya Getaway
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   Athi River 00202 , Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Getaway Heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's the perfect place to escape to, when you need a break from Nairobi's hustle and bustle. The food is really good. My companions and I had a lovely dinner, the chicken was cooked to perfection! We whiled away the afternoon by the pool and all too soon it was time to get back to the city. If you want to go do stay longer than a day.. something about the place relaxes you. The new wing rooms are really nice, I slept like a baby.

Room Tip: Get the new wing rooms, beautiful, fantastic showers and I like the beds there plus there's a cu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Thika
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Turn off Mobasa road and are greated by giraffes,zebras,wildebeests,gazelles roaming freely along the well maintained rough road to the hotel. A true wilderness. Getting into the hotel, you get into a calm and serene enviroment with beautifully manicured lawns and trees turning the hotel compound into an evergreen area. The reception was wonderfull with a welcome glass of fresh juice as you complete the booking details before being escorted to the rooms. The rooms for all in our group were spacious clean and meticulously furnished. Beds were large and comfortable for a good refreshing sleep.
The Service team was very pleasant and professional, always ready to assist. The meals were of very high quality and variety not to mention the dessert which always had something wonderful. We enjoyed every bit of the foods.
The conference facility for our use was well set after every sitting. The grounds patched with swings and playgrounds is all you need for bonding and team building. The swimming pool was very enticing thou we ran out of time before we could get in.
Overall, a quiet, refreshing, peaceful, safe and very relaxing stay were you get value for money. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

On the drive up to the hotel, you will see beautiful scenery! There are zebras, wilder-beasts, and impalas grazing peacefully. This however will be the best part of your stay! I stayed at this hotel and was utterly disgusted! There were roaches everywhere in my room and for the greater period of my stay there was no electricity, although it wouldn't matter because my t.v. wasn't even working and it didn't look like it had for years! If you enjoy hot showers, this is not the place for you. The food is average; nothing to write home about. The gardens are quite beautiful, though. Overall, I would give this hotel 2/5.

Room Tip: The newer rooms are more modern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Passing zebras and giraffes on the way to a hotel is always a good start. It's a short distance (50km or so) from Nairobi and it certainly is a 'getaway'. Conference facilities were fine, although there were some problems with internet access. Rooms were large and clean, and the food was of a very good quality. Swimming pool looked nice and it seemed relatively busy, but because of it's surroundings you don't feel like there are too many guests. Receptionist were very helpful. Overall, very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at Lukenya Getaway. Our organization brought a team of 23 people and worked in the Nairobi slums during the day. Lukenya was so refreshing to come back to. They have a wonderful pool and excellent staff. Someone on our team got sick (from the hot weather) and they moved her to a new room and got her special food for the day at no extra cost. They were so friendly. Everyday we came back to the hotel we saw giraffe, zebras and gazelles roaming free along the roads and in the nearby fields. The beds were comfortable, our room did not have air- conditioning but we opened the windows and tucked in our mosquito nets and sleep like a baby (and woke up to beautiful birds singing). They have cold water, soda and drinks available for a reasonable price and I loved the wonderful breakfast every morning (I liked lunch and dinner too). It's close enough to Nairobi (45 minutes by van) and you get fresh air instead of the polluted air of Nairobi and it so quiet and relaxing. All in all it is a comfortable and safe place to stay, I recommend spending a little extra money and getting a larger room. I loved the food (and I'm picky) and there was always something wonderful for dessert. I have been to Africa many times and this is like an oasis in the desert without losing the Kenyan culture.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

It's a long way from Nairobi and anything else so be sure you are happy just staying on site! Good place for a work retreat or workshop where you want to spend the whole time together. I have been here 3 times for international work conferences and it's a lovely location, nice rooms spread across the grounds - lots of greenery and flowers. Good size meeting rooms, friendly staff and food was good too.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

This facility is located away from all the noisy inconveniences like traffic and crowds. Natural environment and perfect for a quiet weekend away. Truly a "gateaway"
Worth visiting again! And again!

Room Tip: The cottages are superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lukenya Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lukenya Getaway

Also Known As:
Lukenya Getaway Hotel Nairobi
Lukenya Getaway Hotel
Address: Athi River 00202 , Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Athi River
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Athi River
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lukenya Getaway 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Lukenya Getaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lukenya Getaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.