We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aloha Kayak Snorkeling Kayak Captain Cook” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Kayak Co.

Aloha Kayak Co.
79-7248 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua Kona, Honalo, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-322-2868
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$79*
and up
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Honalo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aloha Kayak Co. is a Hawaiian owned and operated full service kayak outfit based on the Kona coast of Big Island of Hawaii. We offer award winning kayak and snorkel tours to multiple areas of the island and are permitted by the State of Hawaii to operate in Kealakekua bay out to the Captain Cook monument. We also operate Kayak tours to the Lava tube caves of Keauhou bay, and snorkel with turtles in the City of Refuge, Honaunau bay. We offer kayak rentals and paddle board lessons and rentals too. All rentals include all proper gear and car racks for mounting on your car! Any car, convertibles too. ATT: Permits are required for some areas please call us for more info! We are open from 7:30 am to 5pm daily. Please call our office for more info about any of our services! We are Located 9 miles south of Kailua-Kona on Hwy 11 just south of the 114 mile marker. Call for further assistance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Aloha Kayak Snorkeling Kayak Captain Cook”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a great time Aug 2013. The equipment was way better than I expected. A snack and water was provided. Great fun and plenty of fish to check out. Adventure gives you a little work out. Our guides were Nick and Rabbit. The guides were a lot of fun and extremely personable. Nick even pulled my wife and daughter's Kayak just for fun. My teen age daughter cut the bottom of her foot earlier in the day at the hotel and then complained about the ground being too hot to walk on. Nick told her to climb on and he gave her a piggyback to the water. Can you believe the attention and service? While in the water, Nick and Rabbit paid full attention to the group. Their eyes never left any of us. Safety was the utmost importance. After our trip they stayed around to talk and goof around with my Black Belt daughters. Rabbit proudly show us a picture of his very young son out on the water already. We also learned that Rabbit can free dive pretty deep! Needless to say, this was a great experience and worthwhile trip. Nick and Rabbit, if you read this - Thank You.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    14
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great snorkel/kayak experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We had a great experience on our Kealakekua Bay kayak/snorkel adventure. Our guides Rabbit and Nick did a fantastic job of making sure everyone was safe but having a great time. They did a great job with everyone from beginners to those with more experience. They have it very organized and the kayak portion was at a nice pace and this bay was a perfect place to snorkel. I highly recommend Aloha Kayak and we will definately go there again when we visit the Big Island.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Aloha kayak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Don't let the store front discourage you! I was initially skeptical of my choice of this tour based on the decor of the store. They are very organized and always have your safety in mind. Our guide Nick made our trip relaxing and enjoyable. The kayak was a little workout. Make sure you are synchronize with your kayak buddy or else it will be a slow ride. Was fortunate to see a few dolphins while kayaking. Snorkeling at capt cook was amazing. Bring an underwater camera even a disposable gets wonderful photos! It's a nice half day tour! Try lunch at teshima restaurant after( across from the shop--- check out reviews! Great local restaurant)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymore, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Best experience; you gotta try it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We went kayaking to the caves. It was an easy trip but did take some effort. It was definitely worth it! Very friendly, professional guide. I wish I could remember his name but it wasn't Iwa because he was at the shop and also seemed like a great guy. This is a great family style business, run with aloha, and if you are considering a kayak trip you should use them. You won't be disappointed! Support local when you travel!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Capt Cook kayak snorkel is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Our guides were wonderful & helpful. The kayaking is super easy and the snorkeling is the best I've ever seen (I've been to 3 Hawaiian islands, Mexico, Bahamas, & Greek islands and this was the mist fish I've seen!)
My favorite was the dolphins, though. There are spinner dolphins in the bay and they put on a show for us as we kayaked. Amazing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Kayak Co. also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aloha Kayak Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Kayak Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.