We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Captain Cook Monument” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Kayak Co.

Aloha Kayak Co.
79-7248 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua Kona, Honalo, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-322-2868
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$79*
and up
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Honalo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aloha Kayak Co. is a Hawaiian owned and operated full service kayak outfit based on the Kona coast of Big Island of Hawaii. We offer award winning kayak and snorkel tours to multiple areas of the island and are permitted by the State of Hawaii to operate in Kealakekua bay out to the Captain Cook monument. We also operate Kayak tours to the Lava tube caves of Keauhou bay, and snorkel with turtles in the City of Refuge, Honaunau bay. We offer kayak rentals and paddle board lessons and rentals too. All rentals include all proper gear and car racks for mounting on your car! Any car, convertibles too. ATT: Permits are required for some areas please call us for more info! We are open from 7:30 am to 5pm daily. Please call our office for more info about any of our services! We are Located 9 miles south of Kailua-Kona on Hwy 11 just south of the 114 mile marker. Call for further assistance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Tillamook, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Captain Cook Monument”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Amazing trip to Captain Cook Monument with Rabbit and Cricket as our guides. Very informative and we laughed all the way. Great time for my 13 year old to unleash all his jokes while paddling. The variety of fish was fantastic as were the number of coral types. Booking was easy and the guides took great care in helping in adults/children in and out of their boats. Loved how respectful they were of the monument given the number of boats in and out of the bay. My kids loved paddling there versus sitting in a power boat. The kayaking was equal in fun to the snorkeling. Thank you Rabbit and Cricket!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    14
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great outfit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

... didn't even have a chance to kayak with Aloha Kayak because my wife and I didn't know we couldn't rent a same-day kayak to visit Captain Cook's monument. However A.K. was super helpful in giving us information about the Bay and the recent laws to help control the tourist traffic and reef impact. A.K. was genuinely interested in helping us make the most out of our vacation.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Don't hesitate - Aloha Kayak is FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We did two separate trips with Aloha. The first was snorkeling at Captain Cook's Monument. The fish variety and water clarity was the best here compared to everywhere else we went on the big island, Maui, and Lana'i. Our guide was fantastic, a human history book, who used the time paddling across the bay to tell us all about the history of Hawaii and Captain Cook's interactions with the native culture. After snorkeling, we took a short nature walk on the shore over to the monument where our guide showed us some edible plants and taught us more about the island's history. The second trip we did with Aloha, was the night snorkeling with manta rays which we did the following night. The mantas, hands down, was the BEST part of our 10 day trip to Hawaii. By going with Aloha, we had all the mantas to ourselves and the guide let us stay in the water as long as we wanted. It was so nice to swim in the open water and the mantas came incredibly close to us without touching. It was scary until you got comfortable knowing the animals will not touch you, but amazing once you got used to it. Our guide was knowledgeable and hilarious. He made sure we were having a great time from the moment we stepped into the shop. Also worth noting is that EVERYONE we spoke to at the company was knowledgable and professional, I recommend calling them prior to your trip to confirm dates and times as they may have recommendations based on weather or seasonality. Aloha is well worth it, don't hesitate, and don't let their simple website scare you away - they are THE BEST.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Amazing!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Thanks so much Rabbit for a great morning and end to our Hawaii visit!! Highly recommend any tour through Aloha Kayak! Guides are super knowledgable and really make the trip! Also, recommended a great restaurant for lunch afterwards and I had a loulou burger, only place on the island you can get one!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Day on the water!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Thanks, John for a great day of kayaking in Keahou Bay. We were very fortunate to have a private tour and learned so much about the Hawaiian Islands and culture from John. He is a walking history book. We loved it. The water was great and we enjoyed the kayaking, snorkeling and cliff jumping. I was very scared but my husband went right up with John and jumped. It went so quickly that I didn't get a picture. The cave was really neat that we kayaked in. John is also a good Kayak guide. He made us feel very comfortable and helped us stay on course. Thanks Aloha Kayak for a great adventure.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Kayak Co. also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aloha Kayak Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Kayak Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.