We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go soon! Kealakakua Bay closing to snorkelers.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Kayak Co.

Aloha Kayak Co.
79-7248 Mamalahoa Hwy, Kailua Kona, Honalo, Island of Hawaii, HI
808-322-2868
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$79*
and up
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Honalo
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Aloha Kayak Co. is a Hawaiian owned and operated full service kayak outfit based on the Kona coast of Big Island of Hawaii. We offer award winning kayak and snorkel tours to multiple areas of the island and are permitted by the State of Hawaii to operate in Kealakekua bay out to the Captain Cook monument. We also operate Kayak tours to the Lava tube caves of Keauhou bay, and snorkel with turtles in the City of Refuge, Honaunau bay. We offer kayak rentals and paddle board lessons and rentals too. All rentals include all proper gear and car racks for mounting on your car! Any car, convertibles too. ATT: Permits are required for some areas please call us for more info! We are open from 7:30 am to 5pm daily. Please call our office for more info about any of our services! We are Located 9 miles south of Kailua-Kona on Hwy 11 just south of the 114 mile marker. Call for further assistance.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Westwood Los Angeles County, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Go soon! Kealakakua Bay closing to snorkelers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We were told that Kealakakua Bay is being closed to snorkelers, so we took the opportunity to go kayaking and snorkeling with Aloha Kayak. They are a really nice and well-run operation, notwithstanding the difficulty contacting them by phone. Give it a try soon, before access is discontinued to the Bay.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    14
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Manta Ray Night Time Snorkel Trip – the most amazing experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our guide (Matt) was great. I felt a bit jittery at first about kayaking out on the ocean at night, but the minute we met and talked to him we felt totally safe. He knows a lot about the island, the culture and the ocean. Once he had made sure we knew everything we needed to not endanger ourselves or the animals we got into the kayaks. We did a short paddle to the spot where the Manta Rays are known to come. Matt found a place to anchor the kayaks, tied them up nice & safely. We put on our snorkel gear and jumped in, to swim a bit closer to the place where we hoped to see them. And indeed: Just after a few seconds the first one came swimming towards us, attracted by our diving light. Wow. A bit later we saw another one (or was it the same?), Matt knew so well how to attract and even guide it with the light, so the Manta came really, really close, over and over again. What an amazing sight and experience. We snorkeled for at least 40 minutes, all the time with the Manta there, gliding gracefully through the water and "somersaulting" mere inches from us. Cool: a little fish (called "remora" I believe Matt said) stuck to the Manta's underside, freeriding. After the Manta finally left we did a little swim back to our kayaks, with Matt showing us other sea creatures like sea urchins and funny looking porcupine fish. We got back into the kayaks and paddled back ashore… awed.

The experience was very special and intimate, and I was glad we didn't go with any of the larger companies where you're on a boat with many other people and will only see the Mantas from a distance.
Aloha Kayak is run by locals, and this makes all the difference. They can tell you so many interesting things and you can feel they love their island and ocean and are treating it with respect.

So: Aloha Kayak, Matt: Thank you for this wonderful, great experience. You guys are great!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Highlight of our Two Weeks on the Big Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Where to start? We found this little company on the net before our visit and since it's Hawaiian-owned we gave Aloha first priority in "fulfilling our snorkeling and kayaking dreams". We found that Iwa, Rabbit and Keane went above and beyond what any customer would expect to make our tours---the coral reefs at Capt. Cook Monument & Kealakekua Bay and night snorkeling with Mantas---fun, safe, educational, and legal. Rabbit is very well informed on the history of the area as well as cultural aspects. Both experiences were fantastic! magical!, even spiritual for some in our family. We don't believe we would have had the same kind of experiences with the big outfits. One feels really "immersed" in the environment in a small, quiet kayak that also gives you the chance to see and hear dolphins when they glide over to check you out. The different corals are awesome (no other word for them) and the fish are like jewels (they're less timid than in other locations we snorkeled and it's amusing the way they sometimes turn on their sides to get a better look at you). It was wonderful to be treated like regular folks instead of like tourists. These gentlemen were very informative, congenial and patient (and very helpful to an old lady hoisting herself into and out of a moving kayak). They truly act as stewards of the waters and shores they make accessible to us visitors. We found their rates very reasonable and worth every penny. They deserve your business.----Linda, Dan, Gwyn, Mikkel, Hal & Christine

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent experience due to excellent service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Upon arrival to the conveniently placed Aloha Kayak Co. We were instantly set up with all of our gear for the upcoming kayak adventure. We were then instructed on how to get to where we needed to launch, how to set up our kayaks, and everything else we needed to know. It was excellent service and I would love to come back and do it again! Great business!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Laid back staff but super nice and helpful, good rates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We wanted to kayak/snorkel in Kealakekua Bay but did not reserve a kayak ahead of time. I had read some reviews about some of the local Kayak outlets and decided to go with Aloha Kayak over some of the others. We were happy we did. A big shout out to Spencer who was the only person working at the time. He got us two 2-person kayaks even though we didn't have a reservation and we got snorkel gear and a dry bag as well. He was super helpful and answered every question we had. He loaded the kayaks on the roof of our car. We then drove from Aloha Kayak to the bay (~15 min drive due to the zig zag road downhill). As you may have read from other reviews, the parking lot has plenty of helpful locals who will offer to help you. They don't demand tips but are hopeful to receive some in return for their help. We politely declined their help since we were confident we could take care of everything. Spencer had mentioned that one of the people down there was somehow related to the owner of Aloha Kayak but we couldn't remember which one so we decided not to get help. Everything worked out and we had a great time.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aloha Kayak Co. also viewed

Captain Cook, Island of Hawaii
Kealakekua, Island of Hawaii
 

Been to Aloha Kayak Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Kayak Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.