We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Koliba Likava

Restaurant Koliba Likava
ul. Holleho | Likavka near Ružomberok, Likavka, Slovakia
+421 905 716 603
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Likavka
Cuisines: Czech
Restaurant details
Raynham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food at Koliba Likava is excellent. I had duck which was cooked very sweet and tender. I had other food here also, but I remember the poppy seed pastry. This was yummy. The staff and owners were accomodating and attentive, and wore traditional costume. The building itself is a log cabin. It has a few hotel rooms at the first floor level and a small gift shop. There is a main level eating floor, and a upper level, also for eating. There are nice views from the back porch of the hills and mountains, with a large back field leading from building. Across the street is Hrad Likava, a ruined medieval era castle made of stone. This is open during the summer months, and is managed by the Ruzomberok Museum in the downtown.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv District, Israel
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We come to this restaurant after a long day hiking. It seems that most of the costumers are locals and this is what were looking for. The soup we had was the best we had in Slovakia. the meats also very good . Good service. Nice portions. Would love to return. Good value for moeny

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samorin
1 review
“Výborná cesnačka”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for new year´s days. Excellent kitchen. Good atmosphere. Reasonable price for rooms and restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Beautiful original slovakian log house-Koliba Likava.interior is just perfect.handmade chairs,tables etc.our dining experiece was unforgettable.very tasty food(grilled salmon,pirogy,mutton stew).waiting sfuff very attentive,polite,quick and with very good english knowledge.best lunch i've ever had in Slovakia.congratulations to Koliba Likava

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Wicklow, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Lovely place in lovely surroundings and while some of the dishes on the menu warrant praise, unfortunately they skimp on things like fresh vegetables. Still, definitely one of the better in the region.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Koliba Likava also viewed

Ruzomberok, Zilina Region
Ruzomberok, Zilina Region
 
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
 

Been to Restaurant Koliba Likava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Koliba Likava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.