We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Slea Head Drive

Slea Head Drive
Ireland
Improve this listing
Activities: Driving
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic drive from Dingle Town to the Dingle Peninsula and back.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was a beautiful drive. We enjoyed it so much more than the Ring of Kerry. We almost didn't do this drive because of the Kerry drive the day before. The roads are so much better and the scenery is in a different class. I know it doesn't seem the two would be that much different but they are. We loved this drive. We had a rare sunny day for this drive and were so disappointed when we completed it, because we wanted more. Absolutely beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    33
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A scenic drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful views, windy roads. Watch for places to pull over and take photos. Views look back over bay and are a scenery photographers delight.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Quiet in March gladly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

A perfect day for a scenic drive. Bitter cold and extreme wind chill, but bright sun on the snow covered mountains and dramatic skies as snow flurries came, Plenty of places to pull in and see the views slowly,, and plenty of places to pull in to gaze .NB the narrow parts are one way. So many beauties; seeing the Blaskets and the Skelligs also, evocative in the distance. It must get very busy and there are so many tourist attractions that look tacky, bu then folk have to make a living,, one place I found was the Reask Monastic Enlclosure; far more poignant and telling than any of the false beehive huts along the way, and free.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spectaular!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The Slea Head Drive was recommended by our innkeeper and we were so glad he did! It is hard to come up with words to describe the beauty of this drive. The road is a little scary in places as there is only room for one vehicle - but thankfully we did not meet an oncoming car! The water is amazingly blue and the rock cliffs are awe inspiring. Have your camera ready and be prepared to take many photos. Be brave and take this drive and you will be well rewarded with some of Nature's best work!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Slea Head Drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Our Paddywagon tour took us on the Slea Head Drive. We got to see some really beautiful sights. Some of our tour went a bit crazy and took a dunk in Inch Beach, and a few others decided to go in at Coumeenole Beach - FREEZING.
We got to see a lot of Country Ireland on the coast.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slea Head Drive also viewed

County Kerry, Province of Munster
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Dingle, Dingle Peninsula
 

Been to Slea Head Drive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Slea Head Drive, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.