We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST LIKE CHEERS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Du Lac

Auberge Du Lac
Rue Maurice Vaudoir | Barrage de Vezins, 50540 Vezins, France
+33 2 33 48 03 48
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Vezins
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: European, French, British, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Beautiful lakeside restaurant with bilingual staff (English & French). We produce fresh, homemade and original food in a relaxed and informal setting. All of our clients agree that we are worth the drive off the beaten track for lunch or an evening meal to remember! Close to Mont St Michel and the American cemetery at St James.
Isigny-le-Buat, France
1 review
“JUST LIKE CHEERS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ambiance & good humour abound, food is very tasty & the staff pleasent & efficient.
Range of food suited us, a very pleasent evening for all the family.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    15
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had breakfast, lunch and dinner at this beautiful restaurant with our two young children. Warmly welcomed by Amanda and Marcus, our every need was more than catered for. Plenty of locally sourced, delicious food complimented by excellent wine from the well stocked bar. Anyone visiting this part of Normandy should really visit this restaurant for a truly exceptional restaurant experience. We will most definitely return.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fougeres, France
1 review
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been eating there more than a few times now and the food has always been wonderful. The restaurant has such a cosy atmosphere and the proprietors and staff are very friendly. It caters for everyone and also offers a half a portion/price for most items on the menu for children. They are also providing special events for kids and curry nights etc. , so have a look on their website. To find something like this in France that offeres such a great variety of different types of food (incl. French and British) is a rarity. I have also taken some of my French friends there to eat and they also agree now with me, that the food (e.g. Fish and Chips) there is truly amazing.
Just try it and you won't be disappointed. Bon Appétit !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We visited the Auberge du Lac for Sunday lunch, following a friend's recommendation, and I have to say that the food was excellent, truly exceptional. In fact, it was the best roast pork I have ever eaten! We will very definately be returning!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Domfront, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Happy Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having visited in October we promised ourselves we would eat again at the Auberge du Lac. The opportunity came on January 10th 2013, when we visited with friends for a celebratory meal. Midweek in midwinter, bare trees, rain and mud. The Auberge was a haven with a good fire and a friendly welcome. The food was just as we remembered. Pate to start with was very good and prettily served. However those of us who had celeriac and apple soup had no reason to regret their choice. For the main course one of our party had fish and chips which he pronounced excellent and the rest of us settled for navarin of beef. Succulent and tasty and perfect for a winters day. We were spoiled for choice for pudding, but the Baileys and chocolate mousse was a perfect finish, with our 'fishy' friend demolishing a chocolate pudding which we were solemnly assured with a grin, was 'calorie free'. All served with an excellent house red and followed by decent coffee.

The bill was more than reasonable. Unhesitatingly recommend this place. It is a bit of a trek, but well worth it. We shall be back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Auberge Du Lac also viewed

 
Avranches, Manche
Isigny-le-Buat, Manche
 

Been to Auberge Du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Du Lac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.