We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and warmly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dungbeetle River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Dungbeetle River Lodge to your Saves list
Dungbeetle River Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   76 Aqua Vista Crescent | Cannonville, Colchester 6175, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Colchester B&B and Inns
Usedom Island, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect and warmly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very warmly experience! Congratulations to Etta and Derek who did everything to make our stay unforgettable! Very nice river location, a few "footsteps" to Addo - can't have it better. Etta offers the best breakfast in the world - including fresh home made bread!

Room Tip: The two suites with balcony to the Sunday river are the best choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    37
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
135
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a magical stay! Etta and Derrick are great hosts and made it a memorable time! The location is truly fantastic, being right on the river. Sitting on the deck at night seeing the sun set and then watching the moon rise was straight out of a travel magazine. The animal experience tours are also a great attraction of this magical venue!

Room Tip: Book early to ensure that you get a river-facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently spent a night at this lodge (14 December 2012) as there was no accommodation in the Addo Elephant Park camps. I was pleasantly surprised by the attention to detail for guests, the tasteful interior decorating, the cleanliness and the exceptional friendliness, warmth and hospitality of the lodge owners. I was taken to the Sundays River mouth, a must see destination when one is in this area. The river mouth has huge sand dunes on the western side and makes for good sand boarding and photography. A trip on a fishing boat was arranged without any fuss by the host (Etta) once I had indicated my desire to explore the bird life on the river. The Addo Elephant Park's southern gate is just a few kilometres away. The lodge is situated ideally for day time access to the park. The hosts offer guided day trips into the park as well. The accommodation is far superior to that offered in the park. Potential guests should arrange to book a room overlooking the Sundays River, of which there are two. I had the benefit of experiencing the most restful sleep in days. The water quality is also far superior to the accommodation in the park. The garden birds on this property engaged my attention for a considerable time.Recommended. .

Room Tip: book a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

My wife and I arrived just after lunch, in time for an afternoon/evening safari at Schotia which had been booked for us by Etta. The lodge is easy to find , just off the N2 and we stayed in the Lion room. The room was spacious but unfortunately didn't have a view, you have to book one of the two river view rooms for that. The rear of the lodge is situated on the river and it is a lovely place to sit and eat your breakfast. As others have said on here, the breakfast is excellent and sets you up for the day in Addo. We booked our trip to Addo with Etta and we learnt so much more than we would have done with a self drive. She went out of her way to make sure we found the lions and we only got out of the park just before closing. For an evening meal ,there is Grunters pub, just down the road. The pub is not the most luxurious but they serve up some great food.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It rained almost non-stop for the first four days we were there but the comfort of the place was fine for us as we just wanted to rest up. The staff were helpful and courteous. The breakfasts still amongst the best you will have anywhere - just ask the 'cops' who dropped in! Grunters pub nearby also a great local place for eating and a fine waterhole. Grunters closes early on Sunday so D&E organised a braii to which everyone staying contributed - Sydney did a great job as braii-master! No one went hungry or thirsty! The two day trips to Addo were top quality and Derek and Etta are excellent guides. The Fish Eagle Room was nice and spacious - quite unique really - just wish the weather had been kinder so we could have used the balcony! We have been friends of Derek and Etta for many years and enjoyed our stay with them as much as ever. Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sion, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are going to break the trend here and disagree with many of the reviews before. On our month long trip around SA we found that the Dung Beetle Lodge is way behind their competitors despite the 4 star rating.
Whilst Derek lived up to the praises which are listed here, we must have caught Etta on a bad day and found her service manner quite abrupt.
The room has everything needed to meet the necessary ratings standard but the bathroom ceiling showed signs of mould and the furniture by their competitors standard is out dated.
The washing machine below our room sprung into life late in the evening and early in the morning to hinder a good nights sleep. Be aware also that if your neighbors like to talk above an average level you can listen to their whole conversation.
If WIFI is vital during your stay double check that it is working as they work with a dongle and not with ASDL like some of the neighboring B and Bs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
natureguideAddo, Owner at Dungbeetle River Lodge, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The Dungbeetle River Lodge is in fact the only lodge in this area that has a router and wifi in the sense that guests are offered log in and passwords so that they can conduct their business of personal epads / blackberries etc. There is also a public computor in the lounge area where guests who do not travel with personal equipment can log in and use the facility. There are NO ADSL lines out here, we all depend on wireless service providers. Just prior to their arrival the Eastern Cape had been lashed by violent storms. The Vodacom reception was not good enough to the router, but guests were offered the facility of the public computor. These guests were most upset that they were not able to conduct their business on their private equipment, and also declined the public computor. The ceiling in their bathroom was most unfortunate, it is also as a result of people closing the bathroom window during the heavy rains. The extractor fan taking moist air out only operates when the light is switched on. The situation was addressed on the first day the suite was vacant, when the smell of fresh paint would not be a problem. Together with all this, we had major damage to our river bank. Etta runs and maintains the lodge and surrounds. If her stress was passed on to this guest, she appologises. It was unintentional. This lodge is run to the quality expected by all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I can't speak highly enough about Etta and Derek!! AMAZING hosts!!! Staying at Dungbeetle River Lodge was one of the biggest highlights for me while in South Africa. What a treasure to find! They helped organise all our activities and even when the sun wasn't shining they still made it as special as ever!! Etta's breakfasts in the morning were the best meals I ate while travelling through SA. Their staff are truely fantastic. The rooms brilliant - all individually special. I cried when I left this place cos I just didn't want to leave, I felt so at home.
Thank you so much for having us Etta and Derek!!! And for the fabulous experience!!! We loved all the activities you recommended!! I hope to visit again one day.

Room Tip: There was no swimming pool but there was a big river for canoeing on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dungbeetle River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dungbeetle River Lodge

Address: 76 Aqua Vista Crescent | Cannonville, Colchester 6175, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo > Colchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Colchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dungbeetle River Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Safari Style accommodations at Dungbeetle River Lodge near the entry point to the world famous Addo National Elephant Park and some of the finest game reserves in the Eastern Cape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Dungbeetle River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dungbeetle River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.