We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve"

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve" to your Saves list
Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve"
Greater Addo Region, Kromrivier Valley | Addo, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 56 Greater Addo B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A special experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had such a special experience at Addo Palace. We have never been any place like it. I was getting nervous during the long drive down the dirt road to get there, but it was well worth it. It was breathtaking there. We were treated so hospitably and felt so special. They even provided a babysitter so we could take our toddler on a safari without our infant. The rooms are beautiful with such unique touches. They also did a great job suggesting activities for us to schedule. We would highly recommend it. The only thing they need is a womanly touch on some of the day-to-day issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve", responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello there
Thank you for your positive review - I appreciate it.
Just to let you know - the WOMANLY TOUCH is here! You should come and experience the new look and feel of the Palace.
You are invited to visit us again when planning your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    15
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
21
24
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Gallen, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We received a very warm welcome from Laura and Emilio. Our lodge and the rooms were designed with loving attention to detail and very african-like and authentic! Impressive!
There is also a swimming pool.
As it is a self-catering accommodation, do not forget to bring something to cook - we forgot it, but were helped instantly by the nice hosts! They provided us with ingredients for spaghetti bolognese, which was really very nice! :)
The Addo Palace is located in full nature, about 1 hour 20 min away from the place, where our game drive began.

If you like some silence and peace, you should not miss this place! We can only recommend this guesthouse! The hosts are very nice and helpful! Absolutely worth it!!
Thank you again, Emilio and Laura - muchísimas gracias otra vez por la ayuda y por el tiempo maravilloso que hemos pasado allí!!

Saludos cordiales desde Suiza,
Jenny & Désirée

Room Tip: Ask Emilio, he surely loves to help you! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve", responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there friends from Switzerland.
Unfortunately I did not meet you personally, as I took over as Manager in May 2013.
I would like to thank you for your positive review. It is great to hear that the guests enjoyed their stay.
The Palace has been upgraded and now we have a feminine touch in the Palace.
If you ever return to South Africa, please visit us again. I would love to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were totally blown away by this hidden gem hidden right under our noses. We stayed in the main lodge and it was simply amazing. Addo Palace makes one feel like they are in a home away from home rather than at a guest house. Service was second to none. Facilities are top notch. Totally recommend it to any and everyone. We are already discussing a return with a whole bunch of friends.
Thank you for making our getaway memorable.
Anees and Nicole Mohamed

Room Tip: If in the main lodge try and get a room facing the same direction as the lounge/braai area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addo P, Manager at Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve", responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for your response. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

What a wonderful experience! It is so beautiful, and the lodge is stunning inside.
We were received with such a warm welcome! great hosts! wish we could stay longer !
Very relaxing, amazing views, beautiful decor inside the lodges, and a absolute must to stay over if ever in that area.
Thank you Addo Palace for treating us like royals, we would defnitley be back for more!
Highly recommended.

Ansone Stoffberg & family.

Room Tip: All 3 lodges are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine E, Manager at Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve", responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi there!
Thank you for your positive review - it is much appreciated.
I have taken over as Manager in May 2013.
I invite you to come and visit us again, as the Palace has gone through an upgrading which I think you will appreciate.
Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve"? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve"

Address: Greater Addo Region, Kromrivier Valley | Addo, 6105, South Africa (Formerly Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge")
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Greater Addo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Greater Addo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently opened, Addo Palace "Ndebele Bush Lodge" offers luxury accommodation on a spectacular and peaceful 2,500 acres private property close to the Addo Elephant National Park. On arrival our guest are impressed by the magnificent colours of the African Ndebele painted thatch lodges, situated in a beautiful and natural area. Addo Palace has a total of thirteen luxurious rooms distributed amongst three magnificent buildings. Our interiors have been carefully decorated with high standard colonial antiques to create a perfect balance between the African bush and luxury. We offer our clients a choice of accommodation only, bed and breakfast or full board. We are located one hour from Port Elizabeth, close to the world-renowned Schotia and Shamwari Game Reserves. We can arrange all your excursions in the area including Elephant Back Safaris, Private Plane Charters, Big 5 Game Drives, Mountain Bike Trails, Hiking Trails and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve" reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addo Palace "Ndebele Private Reserve", register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.