We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not return due to hard selling sales reps with aggressive behaviour, who take over the pool area every day!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chayofa Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Chayofa Country Club to your Saves list
Chayofa Country Club
3.0 of 5 Villa   |   Calle Morro Chayofa, 2, 38652 Chayofa, Arona, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Will not return due to hard selling sales reps with aggressive behaviour, who take over the pool area every day!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We booked a weeks stay at the Chayofa Country Club via a kgb deal at £69.00 (after our experience there, we would not return for free)! Although it appeared to be a bargain price, it was a big mistake, as a 90 min orientation meeting during our stay, was expected of us. We agreed to the 90 min meeting which was supposed to be about holiday promotions, excursions etc. when in actual fact it was a hard selling timeshare meeting! To cut a long story short... they were trying to sell us a holiday voucher for accommodation all over the world but at a price and we weren't interested whatsoever! When we told them we had no interest and that we were leaving the meeting after 90 mins, the rep (Ian) brought in one of his managers who was very aggressive and told us that we could not leave the meeting, although we had been there the time stipulated on the kgb voucher. We did get up to leave and he said that he would 'bill us' so we asked him to do so. The manager must've thought that he could make us stay longer because of his threats! What he didn't understand was that we are neither vulnerable or gullible people who will be bullied by this type of behaviour and therefore left the meeting. To top it all, a different manager followed us to the pool area and wanted to chat about the situation but again we weren't interested in what he had to say so walked away from him too. I wouldn't recommend a meeting with these reps and think that more transparent information should be offered on the deals so that customers aren't misled!

On a more positive note, the hotel staff were lovely, especially Paco, on reception, who was really helpful. The hotel & surroundings are fine if you want a quiet holiday in an area that has limited restaurants, one expensive supermarket and very dated rooms. The whole complex needs some tlc & a make over. The pool area looks very attractive and would be more inviting if the sales reps weren't taking up all the tables & seats everyday. They are there from 10am until approx. 6/7pm. There had been some other complaints about their behaviour.

We had a car so was able to drive to Los Cristianos & Las Americas so we made the most of our stay. We holiday in Tenerife on a regular basis and have tried quite a few of the hotels and apartments there and can honestly say that we will not be staying at Chayofa in the future. One last thing... do not pay for the wifi, as it isn't accessible in the apartment and it is free (on your own device) in reception/bar area.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    59
    24
    7
    14
See reviews for
48
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We are just back from our second stay. It was so good last year that we came back again this year. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with good on site facilities including a launderette and little supermarket. As tennis players, the tennis academy is a bonus. The bar is lively without being noisy and the restaurant is good value. The location is quiet while the bright lights of The Playa de Las Americas and Los Cristianos are just a few minutes away by car. As we had a car we didn't use the local bus service, but it's there for those who don't want to hire a car. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. We hope to go back to Tenerife next year and we will not look further than Chayofa Country Club.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Chayofa for a week this January. It wasn't a particularly warm welcome when we arrived and the receptionist was more interested in getting the deposit of us for the room and payment for the rental of the safe for the week that'll cost you an extra 15 euros but they did let us check in to our room early. Basic information was given and when I asked if there was somewhere else for us to go and eat as the food in the hotel was quite pricey she said no, which later turned out to be untrue. The room was comfortable, very spacious and clean. We had no lighting in the bedroom but the maintenance man soon came and changed the bulbs. Also, the receptionist gave us the wrong controls for the TV which after 2 changes the maintenance man then finally got us the correct one. It wasn't particularly good reception for the TV channels. We had a small balcony which was under the staff smoking area, which as we are non smokers was foul. What you should know about this hotel is that it is one of the offices of RCI a holiday/timeshare company so there are many couples having "presentation" meetings. We did attend one such presentation. In a nutshell they are trying to sell you a lifetime of luxury holiday accommodation. Trying to sell luxury accommodation at the Chayofa seemed a bit strange to us as it certainly wasn't luxurious but they did show us a luxury apartment ... it was bit like Bullseye's "let's see what you could have won". To be fair once you say you are not interested they then leave you alone for the rest of your holiday. The fact that during the week the place is full of sales men/woman selling and holding meetings around the place gives it a strange atmosphere as they tend to be around the pool area. The pool is freezing so we didn't use it and barely saw anybody else use it. It's an isolated location and I would say you would need a car if you stay here otherwise there are only three places you can eat. El Zorro which is the hotel restaurant, The Treehouse and a tapas bar. We ate at The Treehouse which was very average British grub. If you love meat you go to El Zorro they do an unlimited BBQ platter for 10 euros which was great value and very nice. Senior Zorro, the owner, is a great host and is a devil with the Jaegermeister. There is bus stops outside the hotel so you can get around by bus but I would definitely recommend hiring a car. On a positive note, the place is very quiet and there is no problem with noise at night and the staff were friendly and helpful. All in all we personally didn't enjoy our stay.

Room Tip: Try not to get an apartment at the front of the building under the staff smoking area if you are a n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We Have just arrived Back 30th Jan 2013 and i can honestly say that this has been the most relaxing holiday ever, Yes It's out of the way a little but that means no Young groups shouting and balling and whatever else they get upto, The rooms were lovely and big they were also well laid out, They were clean with plenty of towels and bedding,the kitchen facilities were basic but hey who goes on holiday to stand cooking all night, I have read some of the other peoples comments and would say the following: 60euro deposit can be put on a credit or debit card which will only be taken if there is anything wrong with the room, The Supermarket is basic but there is a large one at Los Chritianos Bus Station,There isnt much to do in Chayofa except sit around one of the nicest pool areas i've even been to,Yes The waters cold but when your baking in 33 degrees it's very refreshing lol, then maybe a stroll to the Treehouse where there is a lovely pub with good grub and great staff, Or even Try the all you can eat BBQ At Zorro's for only 10.50 euros which is gorgeous,Overall if your looking for a holiday to chill out and recharge your batteries then look no further, We will definately be giving Ceri a call to book again.

Room Tip: Pay that little extra for a one bedroom rather than a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The initial look of this place was fantastic when we arrived, but that was the only highlight of the trip! When we arrived, we had to leave a 60 euro deposit just in case of any breakages during our stay, which would be refunded if everything was ok, but we didn't know about this in advance because we had only changed enough money for what we thought we needed on the holiday. Then, when we got ourselves settled in, we asked the receptionist if there was a supermarket near the complex, to which she told us to get a taxi to either La Camella or Los Cristianos, but my husband and I had spotted a bus stop at the end of the road on our way in and asked for the times for that instead, which did save us some money for the trip to Los Cristianos. We later found out from one of the reps that there was in fact a supermarket on the complex!

We used the cooker in the morning for our breakfast, but once on, the rings on the cooker wouldn't turn back off again, even though the knob was turned all the way to the 'off' position. However, we didn't realise this until we came back from a day out, which seems a little dangerous. My husband also tried to used the toaster, but it seemed that no matter what setting you had it on, you just got burnt bread. The microwave was filthy inside and only had one foot on it, so rocked everytime you touched it. Because of this, we decided to check the oven because we had bought food to heat up the oven, but when I opened it, the glass fell off the front and onto my foot! This then lead to the whole door coming away in my hands! Then the phone in our room didn't work either! We reported this to reception, but it couldn't be fixed to the next day, so we then had to go out to eat.

The oven door was then apparently 'fixed' the following day, but when I went to use the oven that night, the door came off again! So we decided to check out El Zoros, but was then told that it was shut that night!

I also burnt myself a few times in the shower because the layout was just wrong and everytime I turned around, I cought the hot water side of the tap.

This was meant to be a nice birthday present from my husband, but unfortunately, it was disasterous through no fault of his. I would not recommend this place to anyone and will not be returning any time soon!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Does what it says on the tin. The site is very beautiful and peaceful with well maintained gardens. We stayed in a one bed apartment with relative who slept on bed settee. The apartment was very clean and had most of the basics, though how you are meant to flip your fried egg over without a fish slice is an enigma . No washing up basin and we had to prop up the fridge leg with cardboard as it wobbled and squeaked when opened. To be fair, I was told our apartment was due to be decorated/upgraded soon. Bed was changed roughly 5-7 days, although we had to request our refuse bin be emptied more often as it was attracting bugs.
Safe in apartment was 10 euro deposit and 15 euros per week. Computer (in foyer) 1 euro for 20 minutes. Laundry washer/dryer 4 euros. Refundable deposit of 60 euros required to be paid on arrival. Bus 480 and 482 to bus station run once an hour, cost 1.45 euro each way unless you purchase a 15 euro Bono card (at bus station) then it's 1.15 euro for same journey, takes 5 minutes, last bus back from town 8.55pm. We spent in the region of £135 travelling back and forth to Los Cris/Las Americas. No shuttle/courtesy bus, and no money exchange at the Club although there is a sign outside saying Telebanco, machine has been removed. The site shop (expensive) open each day, not Sundays, from 8.30 till approx 1pm, daily papers sold in reception. We bought most of our groceries on the way back in the supermarket at the bus station. Taxis 8 euros one way. Bar 5 on site does all day breakfasts for 4.90 euros, and their fish, chips and peas around 7 euros, good value. They also have entertainment on some evenings.
Did not try Zorros at 10.90 euros, but would recommend the Standard Nachos with cheesy chilli 4.90 euros in the Tree House Bar which is a 5 minute walk down hill from Club, they also have Sky telly. No dogs allowed but the apartment above had two yappers. Incidentally the pool though beautiful and enticing is icy cold so beware, only ventured in once.
If you can bear to spend time listening to a sales pitch about woolen bedding products, then for 10 euros (the trips are sponsored by the bedding firm) there are several bus trips around the island lasting most of the day and including a meal and wine. I would recommend the boat trip and the bodega trip fabulous value.
Eating out in Los Cristianos, The Red Lion and The Devon good choices and excellent value for money.
If you could move the site nearer to the beach we would definite stay there again. If you are brave enough, hire a car, otherwise lack of transport was our main bugbear.
Many thanks to Ceri (pronounced Kerry) and Paco for their help with our taxis transfer home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here twice, both in Dec 2011 and again in 2012... Apartments spotless, location 10min bus journey to Los Cristianos. Reception kindly provide a free bus pass( Bono card) which is essential . English lady on reception is very helpful as are all the staff. Studio apartments are huge and all are equipped with every convenience going.. Only gripe was that we ate in Zorros restaurant on site. We had the barbeque meat platter which looked lovely but unfortunately the steak was gone off badly and the chicken breast was raw in the middle, so much so that my boyfriend had to leave to get sick( and was not well along with myself for the entire night ) . I bought this to the attention of the waiter very quietly and politely so as not to cause embarrassment to the establishment as it was very busy. The waiter apologised and agreed that the food was off and half cooked. I asked for the bill and was shocked to see I was charged the full amount for inedible food. Very disappointing......
Apart from staying away from Zorros restaurant we will definitely return to the Chayofa country club as everything else is a plus...
Sharon and Stephen. . Dublin

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chayofa Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chayofa Country Club

Address: Calle Morro Chayofa, 2, 38652 Chayofa, Arona, Tenerife, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Arona > Chayofa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chayofa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chayofa Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chayofa Country Club is set in the perfect location for a relaxing, rejuvenating holiday. Customers can stay within the complex confines or choose one of the nearby villas with private pool. It offers the best of both worlds being only 5 minutes by shuttle bus from Los Cristianos/Las Americas and 5 minutes from the local town of La Camella with its traditional Spanish shops, tapas bars and restaurants. Chayofa has a great very friendly family run pool bar and restaurant opening day and night. The owner David Knaflec is a well-known Personal Trainer. He runs many fitness programs and is always happy to offer a free training/induction session. There is a second restaurant famous with locals called Zorro's, which opens in the evening only. We include a third bar and restaurant, which though not part of Chayofa, is only 100 yards away. English owned and very popular, it's well worth a visit. Simon the owner runs entertainment most evenings. The main swimming pool area is very attractive. It has a Jacuzzi and a separate child's pool and is surrounded by well-kept gardens and a great chill space with sofas and umbrellas. The Chayofa tennis academy is famous in Tenerife and certainly worth a try (additional cost), as is the gym and sauna, which is run by David the pool bar owner. We have extensive discounts available for the Tennis, Zorro's, Siam water Park and a lot more. The apartments are large and have well equipped kitchens all have microwaves and some have dishwashers. All have satellite TV. Free Wi-Fi is available in the pool bar and in reception where there is a small charge. If you like the idea of arriving in style, we strongly recommend our Stretched Limo service from the airport it's a must. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chayofa Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chayofa Country Club Hotel Tenerife
Chayofa Country Club Tenerife, Canary Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chayofa Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.