We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Restaurant in the Area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant Marco

Hotel Restaurant Marco
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant Marco to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant Marco
Chemin de l'Ecole, 46090 Lamagdelaine, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamagdelaine
worcestershire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Our favourite in the Cahors area for 20 years, we have made two visits to the restaurant on our recent trip. Now known as Restaurant Robert & Claude Marco, Claude spends his summer running the adjacent Hacienda restaurant, with his son, Robert, providing cooking continuity. It remains the best around, well deserving the Michelin Star rating. The hot foie-gras is amazing- I had it once with pear and pineapple, the other time with artichoke. My wife loved the cod whist the pigeon was the best that I have eaten anywhere so I had it twice in a week. We have not stayed at the hotel but it is very pretty with lovely grounds and looks like a perfect stopover.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
2
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

We spent three nights here and only wished it could have been longer. This restaurant with rooms is situated about 7k outside Cahors and has gated secure parking for overnight guests.
We were warmly welcomed by a member of the family and shown to our room. The accommodation consists of 5 ground floor rooms facing the pool -each with its own small terrace with table and two chairs. Our room was spacious, nicely furnished, well appointed and very comfortable - in fact, in our opinion, even the fussiest person would have had trouble finding something to criticise. The continental breakfast was a little limited in choice but the quality of the croissants, pastries and bread made up for the limited choice. Above all, to us the accommodation with breakfast represented really good value for money.
We ate in the restaurant each evening - two evenings as a party of four (we were travelling with friends) and the final evening as a party of eight (we were joined by friends, who live in the area for part of the year) - and everyone thoroughly enjoyed every course of every meal. Also, although it is not an inexpensive restaurant, we all considered it was worth every euro! The menu offered a good choice of local produce - well cooked, well presented and professionally served - and the wine list was more than comprehensive.
On our final day my wife and I had lunch in La Hacienda - a terrace restaurant (open only for the three summer months) adjoining the main restaurant and also owned by the Marco family. Again this was an enjoyable experience - less expensive than the main restaurant but still offering a good choice of locally produced food - well cooked and presented.
We hope to return and will certainly recommend Hotel & Restaurant Marco to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cahors, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2007

Marco is a superb restaurant. The "foie gras tartin" is mouth watering! Le Gindreau and Marco are 2 of the best restaurants in the Lot.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

We stumbled on this hotel on our way to Cahors - it's a few minutes away - and were rather glad we did! The owners and staff do not speak any English but were very charming and friendly.

The 5 rooms of the hotel are arranged around a garden with a small pool and ours (which cost 115 euros for the night) had its own little terrace with chairs and table. The room itself was nicely fitted and furnished with a mini bar and the very large bathroom had a huge jacuzzi bath.

Dinner was a real experience in a cavenous room with lots of atmosphere and delicious food and wine. Service was impeccable.

We thought it was good value for money overall and, even if you don't stay there, the restaurant is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Very peaceful and excellent food
  • Disliked — Only a hand held shower
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Restaurant Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Marco

Address: Chemin de l'Ecole, 46090 Lamagdelaine, France
Location: France > Midi-Pyrenees > Lot > Lamagdelaine
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lamagdelaine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.