We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs upgrade” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muscat Way 2818 Shatti Al Qurrum | PO Box 86, Muscat 134, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Muscat
Doha
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Needs upgrade”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This hotel is in desperate need for a upgrade and we were very dissapointed in the furniture used. The bathrooms were a disgrace and both toilets were leaking unto the bathroom floor. The breakfast was not nice at all, we had eggs fried in old oil. No variety at breakfast buffet, maybe because it was Ramadan. But on the possitive the flats was spacious and big. We had a booking for 3 nights but left after 1 night, the beds slept very nice, but the noise from the street and the light shining into the bedrooms were terrible. The service was good as they did try to move us to a different flat, but by then we just wanted to leave, especially after the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    35
    16
    14
See reviews for
18
28
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our family stay at the upmarket Shatti Al Qurum area, the Beach Hotel was a bad experience because of poor service. We walked down the road for 5 minutes to reach the beach and Jawaharat A’Shatti shopping complex.

This budget hotel seems more like a building. The rooms are okay but the service needs improvement from the I don't care attitude which can be easily made out by the hotel staff’s responses to your telephone calls before you check-in. My family and I would never want to go there again.

Room Tip: Nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed here as a family so had a fairly large 2 bedroom unit with a kitchen. The hotel is in desperate need of investment and given its great location could be so much better. Furnishing, carpets and fittings are very old and everything looks dirty. It wasn't the cleanest of hotels. Not many staff so don't expect high levels of service. You get what you pay for here. Hotels in Muscat are expensive so as a budget option it works as long as you don't spend much time there. I may be tempted to Stay again for a 1 night cheap stopover and it is directly opposite the Opera House so perfect if you want to go there. So if the location is where you want to be and on a budget then fine, but if you can afford more, Itercon is just down the road and is much much nicer

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khobar
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A great location, 5 min walk from the beach - not 'on' the beach at all though.
A nice building but not converted in a very hotel friendly way.
Wifi is ridiculously expensive - 50 UK pounds for 7 days, 10 UK pounds for 1 hour! Rip-off!
The reception staff are so rude - they do not help at all - my case was lost and they wdnt help by phoning the airport for me, they wdnt give me a map or any tourist info - I asked if she could print one off the internet and she said do it yourself.
When I checked out they tried to charge me a different price, 200 pounds more - even though I had my original booking receipt they said it wasn't valid. Luckily I had an Omani friend who spoke Arabic - he said they are "bad".

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Hi,
We stayed at the beach hotel during the Last Ramadan, and it was a decent experience.
Rooms and breakfast are average, with no Hot option like freshly prepared eggs etc.
But the location is good, walk able distance to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The place is very nice. Every room has his own entrance from outside, which is hot when you cannot find your key immediately and you stand in40 degrees. It is good because it gives you the feeling of having your own place.
The room was nice and clean but no kitchen as in the picture. So I asked for a room with a kitchen and I could move to a bigger apartment. It was excellent . The people were nice and friendly. The pool Is also nice to have.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Hotel

Address: Muscat Way 2818 Shatti Al Qurrum | PO Box 86, Muscat 134, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Muscat

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.