We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Glacier

Cafe Glacier
Zakher Mall | Al Khuwair, Muscat, Oman
+968 98007111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 201 Restaurants in Muscat
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert
Description: Welcome to Café Glacier - Oman's favourite continental bistro! We are a small family-run business, established in 1995 as a Belgian waffle house and crêperie. Over the last few years, we have evolved into a high-quality bistro-style restaurant, with exceptional continental grills, salads, snacks and more. And of course, we still serve our signature Belgian waffles and ice cream, as well as a new range of home made cakes and desserts for the serious epicure.Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review or read about us. You can visit our website or our Facebook page, and we hope that you will take a moment to read about our food philosophy, and take a look at our menu. More importantly, please do come and visit us soon. Once you've tried us, we're sure you'll be one of the family before you know it!
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

One of the very good cafe in the city with a lot of menu varieties
They prepare the best waffles and their different types of juices
And mock tails are to die for ,the service is impeccable and the
Price is reasonable.The set up is simple and clean.i recommend

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeGlacierMuscat, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Glacier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Well thank you - it's always good to hear a happy customer talking about our signature fresh Belgian waffles!

I hope you'll come back and try some of our new dishes too - don't miss the chocolate fondant!

Thanks again, and do come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oman
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“my second home page”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

the best waffel's for ever you can find there
so yammmy and delicious with black coffee
i like to been there usually

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeGlacierMuscat, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Glacier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! I mentioned below that we had some menu changes, but rest assured that all your old favourites like the Glacier Club and our fresh juices, are unchanged!

Please come back soon, and get in touch any time if you have any more comments or queries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

You want to try their club sandwich and their juices. A good atmosphere to be in. Located in Zakher mall in Al-Khuwair makes it very convenient to arrive to.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeGlacierMuscat, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Glacier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words - we certainly agree that having easy parking and being close to both main highways makes it easy to visit us!

Come back soon, we look forward to seeing you, and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

slow service; not correct food selection for a café; ambiance is more a train station hall, then a café;

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeGlacierMuscat, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Glacier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your experience at Café Glacier earlier this year. If it's not too late, I'd very much like to invite you back and see if we can make it up to you: I'm especially interested that you didn't think the menu or ambiance were what you would expect. Your thoughts would be welcome.

We've made a few changes to the menu, coming this week, getting more in line with the bistro theme that we set out to achieve with the remodeling. I hope you will like them.

Please do drop us a message if you're still in Oman, and I hope we can have another chance to make you happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Once a great cafe, now in shambles!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Cafe Glacier has been well known for their pancakes, coffees, desserts and home made (Belgian) ice creams/frozen yoghurts. We have been its loyal customer since its inception in 1990's.

The cafe changed hands early this year - their Belgian partner left, when the Omani partner handed over the cafe to his relatives to run and since then, it's not the same.

Months ago the original menu was replaced with a "temporary" menu of loose pages, replacing quite a few popular dishes, removing all the desserts, etc. The new owners brought a new manager, who is not at all customer friendly and does not care for the old loyal customers. He runs the cafe at his whims n fancy; or may be trying to bring in changes to please the new owners.

One of the new rules introduced by him is about the last order at 9.30PM, since the cafe closes at 10PM, but not made known to customers by a written notice. Last week we took our overseas family guest to the cafe, reaching there at 9.20PM. After we were given the table, the waitress told us that she cannot take order for main dishes, except pancakes. When we pointed out that it was not yet 9.30, she went to call the manager, who came to our table at 9.30 and told us that the kitchen is closed for new orders, since he is short of staff! Having informed him that we came in at 9.20 and requested him to take our "last"order, particularly when we are their old and regular customer and that we had an overseas guest, fell on deaf ears and he refused to budge and went away from our table! What an example of hosptality, the industry which runs on good service!

The waitresses, who know us well, were apologetic (and polite) but could not help. So we had to leave the place on empty stomach and embarassed in front of our guest.

We are definitely not visiting this place again, which we had patronized over the years!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CafeGlacierMuscat, Public Relations Manager at Cafe Glacier, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the trouble to write about Café Glacier. Although it's been a long time, I hope it's still worth replying to you.

It's true that we had a serious staff shortage last year, but that shouldn't have affected how you were served. At that time, you should still have been able to have anything you wanted from the menu, and with good grace!

I don't know if you're still in Muscat, but if you are, please do drop us a message and we'd like to invite you back and see if we can make it up to you. We're a small family business, and I hope we can repair any mistakes we make, especially with loyal customers like you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Glacier also viewed

Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
Muscat, Muscat Governorate
 

Been to Cafe Glacier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Glacier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.