We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the hotel management are arrogant and unprofessional” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Ghubra 32, Way No. 3215 | 18th November Street, Muscat 133, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BEST AVAILABLE RATE
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“the hotel management are arrogant and unprofessional”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2006

the BA flight arrives at night so we arrived late - were booked into the suite as all other rooms were full

early next morning reception had no qualms about giving us persistent wake-up calls (i guess thats included in the $495 pnight rate)

we were given a letter on arrival welcoming us to a wonderful world of benefits thanks to our reservation of a suite - of course when we tried to make use of these we were constantly checked via tedious phone calls to reception because no one wanted to believe we were at the suite..oh and if you're not staying in a suite.. forget about using the library or their one single internet connection

the beach is pebbles and has a lovely view of some kind of cement factory about 400m away.. we didn't go into the water

on our last day i had a terrible cold thanks to the persistent turning on of the room's airconditioning by the cleaning staff (of course, it was physically impossible to open any of the windows)
i requested a late checkout as our flight was in the early evening... absolutely no chance, and management very keen to oblige me to pay another day's full room rate just for the benefit of 7 hours of cold-relief

we ordered a taxi to the airport via reception - which was according to our 'welcome letter' included in the room charge - of course when we arrived at the airport the taxi driver claimed no such thing

the staff were wonderful - shame that management treat them (and pay them) so poorly

i will actively boycott this hotel group in the future

  • Liked — the restaurant
  • Disliked — hotel management
  • Tips/Secrets — stay somewhere else
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    268
    120
    41
    28
See reviews for
139
851
44
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2006

My girlfriend and I visited the Chedi in November. We were looking for a special and relaxing destination with guaranteed weather - both the Chedi and Muscat provided this.

The plus points were:
- Close to airport (I counted fewer than 6 planes go over our heads in 8 days so not a problem)
- Fantastic welcome
- Amazing design and ambience
- Excellent food and choice (they are building a new beach restaurant which will allow more tables than existing poolside bar, particularly in the evenings)
- Choice of two swimming pools and plenty of sun loungers
- Great service, particulary in the Setai restaurant
- Reasonable value for money

The negative points were:
- Mediocre beach which can be very windy (but this is the Middle East not Maldives)
- Desalination plant (however this is barely noticeable and you cannot see it from the pool areas)
- Concierge service was not up to scratch for helping with excursions/dining/diving etc
- Standard rooms are ok with no bath and low level TV (really worth it to book the deluxe suites)

Although this is not necessarily a honeymoon destination, it affords the opportunity to just relax or enjoy the outdoor activities that Oman offers. The Chedi is a fantastic hotel and I would recommend to all couples bored with London!

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2006

My wife and I have just come back from a two week honeymoon at the Chedi and I feel that it did not live up to our expectations.

To list a few points the beach is presented as sandy, although it is covered in pebbles, the hotel lies directly in the flight path for Seeb International Airport with planes taking off and landing every twenty minutes and the rooms (Deluxe Suite) are small and lack a bath. Also various parts of the hotel are off limits to guests not staying in Villas such as the library.

However the main problems are a clear lack of training for staff and the managements general indifference to your concerns and issues, in fact this sometimes borders on being aggressive.

The hotel is beautiful, the general staff kind and it has a great restaurant but there was definately an approach that I have not experienced at any other leading 5* hotel that I have stayed in.

JonnyL.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2006

If you want to relax in a great climate and do little during your stay then this is for you. Set outside Muscat in beautiful grounds, its fab for lying round the pool sipping drinks as we did. A seperate (2nd) infinity pool is for adults only and adjoins the beach. Possibly the best spa treatments we've had, particularly the four-handed Chedi massage - and if you go with your partner they do this in a double treatment room . . 1.5 hours of bliss.

Our Club Exec room was very nice if a little small. Complimentary mini bar and laundry were a nice touch - took fewer clothes and used the laundry every day, Free wireless in rooms and lounges was also helpful.

The main restaurant was imaginative and served good food - no repetition problems after a week's stay.

Problems? Service around the pool was a little slow - how long does it take to refil the iced water glasses (trivial I know but irritating)? Also and unfortunately, there'd been a spillage at the oil refinery up the coast which meant that if you used the sea (the warmest i've been in) there was somewhat of a tar problem when you came out.

overall, most relaxing and well worth it, particularly if you're into beautiful design. Would i go that far for a week's R&R again . . maybe not.

  • Liked — The design
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Tips/Secrets — Upgrade from the standard rooms. Well worth it
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

Oman is peaceful and The Chedi property and architecture are really nice. So, for you folks looking for a quiet getaway and don't want the hassle of Dubai, it isn't all that bad. You want to bake your fair selves in the 40 C sun...have at it. The Chedi wants to be a five-star property, but it is missing some basics that, in this day and age and for the price you pay, are unforgivable. Other Aman properties--such as Amanpuri in Phuket are the real thing. Amanpuri is a five-star hotel. The Chedi is not.

The exercise facility is way below five-star standards. Plus, it isn't open early enough. It needs to open at 6:00 AM every day, not at quarter-past whenever the gym dude wants to show up. The room is small, the equipment is old and not well-maintained.

The Restaurant is good, but it is mostly a victory of form over function. Or...maybe a triumph of frills over food. It just isn't THAT good. Room service was excellent and prompt. I can't believe people are coming to Oman for pastries and chocolates....but there wasn't a piece of baklava in sight.

If you're travelling on business, you can spend your money better elsewhere. The workspace in the rooms is mediocre. The desk is a narrow shelf directly beneath a 40-inch plasma screen TV. I appreciate the "majlis" layout in the suite, but please...a couple of nice chairs and a table would also be a good idea. There aren't enough outlets spaced to plug in a computer and a phone charger at the same time. And..the killer...there's no high speed Internet access in the rooms. You can buy a wi-fi card to use in the lobby area, but until this simple problem is corrected, The Chedi will not be a legitimate business destination.

Regarding service in general....they're trying really hard. But let's face it; Dubai still gets the best of the expats that want to work in the Gulf hospitality business. So, you're getting those who either couldn't get a job in Dubai or weren't aggressive enough to try. Regardless, unless you just have to have the quasi-Aman experience, spend your hard-earned cash where you can get the same value (and the same gritty beaches) for less--Radisson, Crowne Plaza or Intercontinental.

  • Liked — The landscaping and architecture are beautiful.
  • Disliked — No high speed Internet access in room, gym is poorly equipped, service is mediocre.
  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2006

See seperate review on the Shangri La - I id a split stay :

Cannot understand what the hotel tried to achieve architechtually. It appears to me to be a mix of Japanese and Middle Eastern. The standard room is tiny. Storage facilities are minimal. The bed is low ( Japanese style ) as is the television. The television has about 2/3's of the channels that the Shangri la have. The bathroom had only a shower. Ice is from room service.
Only 2 pools, which of course house a limited number of loungers. Go at a busy time and you'll be stuck.
Beach - again, not the white sand type. More coarse than the Shangri la and lots of stones, including the sea. The sea is very shallow, warm but gave up with the damn stones and swam in the pool. Waiters come around with plastic glass of iced water. Despite the hotel being perhap only 1/2 full or less, this was infrequent.

Breakfast was again, buffet style. I hated the restaurant layout. You order your eggs at your table, a lot of the food is served to you from various ports around the restaurant.
Lobby is pleasant, a mix between bedouin/Ottoman.

Pro's and Con's :

Chedi is not in the ' middle of it all ', Muscat is spread out, but closer to where you want to get to than the Shangri la.
You need to call a taxi from the Chedi to go anywhere the same as you would at the Shangri la.

Staff at the Shangri La were a mixture of Oman's, Phillipino's and Indian sub continent. Extremely friendly and helpful.
Chedi, by and large from the Indian sub continent and not as attentive.

Chedi is NOT a resort hotel. They have a large German clientele, in fact most that were staying whilst I was there were German.
I've read that the Chedi aims for a certain clientele - this may be the case but they still pile their plates as high as a ' average ' traveller at breakfast, so I don't buy any of that.

The photos of the pool appear to be an infinity pool - it's not in the true sense of the word. It does not run into the sea nor filled with sea water.

Muscat is not Dubai or Abu Dhabi. It does have a fairly rich history. However, it's a city that is spread out and ideally you should negotiate a taxi for the day, hire a car or take a tour.

Taxis are a pain. They do not have meters. I enjoy bartering, but not outside of a souq and several times a day.
Rule of thumb. 1 Riyal is approx £1.45, from town to the Shangri La a local would pay about 5 Riyals. Try for the same. 7 would be a true maximum. Whatever you negotiate for a taxi, you will rarely get to pay what a local does.

Gold is cheap in the U.A.E.

Massage : Both hotels offer Massages of varying degrees with prices to match.
Treat yourself if you want, but you can find cheaper outside of the 5 star resorts and remember that ' massage parlours ' in the Gulf are not sub descriptions for another trade as they are in the west, but use your common sense.

If you would like a 2 centre break, i.e. Shangri la and something closer to town, try the Intercontinental and Sheraton. Both are next to each other and the area is lively during the weekend.

A recommendation, more the ambience than food is Kargreen.

This forms my personal opinion and as an airline employee, have travelled extensively. I suspect that someone with an endless budget wouldn't be reading reviews at this site, at the same time, if you've spent £500+ getting here, there's no need to spend another £500 - without being tight and not taking away the ' i'm on holiday ' factor, you can spend wisely ... Hope this helps some folk !

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nauru
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
344 helpful votes 344 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2006

After staying for six nights at the brand new shagri-la, we finished our trip for a night at the chedi. Having been here before I knew what to expect. The chedi is a truly magnificent place. It is relaxing, cool and so beautifully built.

After having stayed at the new shangri-la at bar-al-jissah of course the location is sort of a setback. Anyone who has been to both places will know what I mean. The beach is nothing special either. The good thing is probably that it is a lot closer to the airport and to take a taxi from here is a lot cheaper than from the shangri-la.

But to come back to the actual hotel itself. This continues to be my favourite hotel in this world. It is so nice here. Although it will not be for everyone. This is a couples hotel and surely not a family hotel with entertainment. Do not come here if you look for that.

Staff attitude is not as friendly as at the shangri-la but still welcoming. Rates off course are steep even for omani standards but I guess the hotel is deliberatly doing this to target a certain market. Love it, will love it more when I come back here again soon. But next time I will do it 50-50; half time at the shangri la al bandar(or al husn if I have a good month) and half time at the chedi because both hotels although completely different are a destination itself.

  • Liked — the gardens,the rooms the atmosphere
  • Disliked — staff attitude is good but could be better
  • Tips/Secrets — stay here
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way No. 3215 | 18th November Street, Muscat 133, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#3 Family Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acres 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away.The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.