We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, friendly staff throughout the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Ghubra 32, Way No. 3215 | 18th November Street, Muscat 133, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
TEE-OFF IN STYLE
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant, friendly staff throughout the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I was travelling with my elderly father who is a bit forgetful at times. I informed the staff and they made a wonderful effort to be friendly and helpful to him and make him feel at home. everyone without exception had our comfort and enjoyment at heart. so thank you for making us feel so welcome. I would definitely return. the hotel facilities etc are amazing and the place is ideal for a peaceful and calm holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Screenname40,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your enjoyment of your stay with us. It was indeed a great pleasure being of service to you all, especially your father who the team found utterly charming.

I am so pleased to read that you would like to stay with us again and encourage you to contact me directly using my e-mail address below to make a reservation if you so wish.

With Kindest Regards,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    951
    267
    119
    41
    28
See reviews for
139
846
44
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wow, what a weekend. We loved the Chedi, we stayed there for a weekend getaway and had a deal on booking.com, and every bit of it was fab. The venue is absolutely amazing, Arabic in influence but not overtly, and even though we were in the most basic room it was still lovely, I can only imagine what the suites and villas are like. The long pool is the best pool I have ever seen, and I did a yoga class with a lovely instructor. We based ourselves at the adult pool as the long pool doesn't have shade, and experienced great service and great food at the restaurant there. The breakfast is the best I have seen in a hotel, and in the Middle East that's saying something. We ate at the beach restaurant which gets full as only has a few tables outside, so reserve if you want to eat outside which is worth it for the fire pits. My husband also had a medical issue and had to have an ambulance called, and the hotel were amazing, sending someone with us to the hospital and a car to get us which they didn't charge us for. They also left a fruit basket in the room as a get well present. Obviously as its a five star the food is very expensive and you can't really go anywhere locally for a nice meal, but this is the only draw back, if you're prepared to spend you can have a fabulous time.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea facing room, the ones on the other side have no view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Julia Bahrain,

It gives the team at The Chedi Muscat and I great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is our aim to have this affect on all our guests, leaving you relaxed and refreshed.

It is a shame your husband was unwell during your holiday but I hope he is now feeling much better.

We truly hope that you will choose to spend your vacation with us again in the future so that we may pamper you both in luxury.

With Kindest regards from Muscat,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had to go to Muscat for business trip and meetings which we held in the hotel board room. Check in was ok and then walk up to room, via, lift, was not what I expected. Its the middle of summer so corridors very hot as only split A/C units. Room was well appointed but really cold with tiled floors and no carpets. Shower good and Nespresso machine for coffee was nice treat. Beds were comfortable and soft cotton sheets so pleasant sleep. Dinner was nice and relaxing in good ambiance. Breakfast was ok but food is spread out over the restaurant and not the traditional buffet style. Lunch was fine too and good quality. The service in restaurant was good but not so good at the front desk as they spent more attention to their mobile phones than bona fide guests. Guess I got the wrong shift?? I never used any of the facilities so cannot comment on them. All in all the stay was very quiet and perfect for my meetings but would have liked to had an extended check out. As the Lead Organiser who booked the three rooms I was told my check out was 12 noon, and this was an issue. My two colleagues were extended until 4pm and no alternative was offered to me, this was disappointing as I was leaving at 6pm for airport and a shower and change of clothes would have been welcome.

Room Tip: Go for the higher rooms and book online for better deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear SentosaDubai_UAE,

Thank you kindly for spending the time to give your review of your experience at The Chedi Muscat.

I'm sorry that we did not meet your expectations regarding the communication of your late check out. Furthermore I am disappointed to hear that the service you received in the reception was not up to our expected high standards.

Guest feedback such as you have provided, is our most valuable means of monitoring our service and is the only way of achieving and maintaining excellence as it is our goal to provide an exceptional experience each and every time. Rest assured that we will take the appropriate measures to address these issues to avoid any recurrences in the future.


In the future the entire team at The Chedi Muscat would like another opportunity to welcome you back to impress you at every turn.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for a reservation or any additional assistance needed using my e-mail address below.

Again, thank you kindly for your comments, they are invaluable.

Markus Iseli,
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Most fantastic check-in I've ever had! Lovely, accommodating staff. The decor and ambience of the hotel is like being in a spa! Well worth the visit. A proper five-star hotel that I will definitely be returning to!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Aisling C,

We are most grateful for your generously complimentary review and we are very glad to hear that you enjoyed the luxurious look and feel of the hotel. We would be honored to welcome you back once again to stay with us with an equally impressive experience.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally via my e-mail address below to make a reservation at any time.

With Kindest Regards from sunny Muscat,

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

I found the service of this hotel far below expectations, especially when taking into consideration its price level.
There are a few positives, which I am happy to point out as well:
- design is nice and thy makes the fest impression positive. The main restaurant is also having a nice ambiance.
- room size
- amenities provided

Unfortunately, the negatives far outweigh the positives:
- on too many occasions the staff was just plain rude; or at the least I can say very impolite. Some examples: I walked into the restaurant twice. They asked a question about my room and when I answered I got ignored. No mentioning of "welcome" or anything close to that- no the staff just walks away and you will have to guess that you are supposed to follow them to the table. The hostess was too lazy to lift up her feet and just slides her feet over the floor.
- no wifi in restaurant and when my friend came to see me for a chat in the lobby he had to pay OMR 5 for logging in. Seems Chedi has not yet reached 2014 and maybe still lives in 90's.
- many times when I saw a staff walking around I was the one to initiate to do a greeting, but many times I did not even get a reply!
- room cleaning was of bad quality and I found several dirty items from previous guests..one of them too dirty to mention

- the reception and concierge are clueless to what activities one can do in Oman. They did not come much further then "check the souq". There was clearly no interest from their side to provide a great stay. Every question I asked they made me feel as if I am bothering them.

The food is very average and considering the atrocious prices they charges it becomes very unreasonable to dine there. I would be happy to pay for great food, but they charge near Michelin prices for brasserie food.

I must unfortunately say that the Millenium in Muscat provided much better service for 30% of the price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Rinstory67,
Thank you for taking the time to write a thorough review and share your feelings and observations during your stay at The Chedi Muscat. Guest feedback as such you have provided, is our most valuable means of monitoring our service and is the only way of achieving and maintaining excellence as providing a perfect experience for each and every guest is our goal.

I am glad to note that whilst you enjoyed the design, the main restaurant, the room and the amenities we have provided, I sincerely apologize that in some areas we failed to meet your service level requirement from some of our staff in the restaurant and that you were not delighted with your experience at the reception and concierge. I am very sad you did not come forward while on property which I am confident that a mutual beneficial solution could have been found to turn your stay with us a pleasantly memorable one.

Please be assured that these issues concerning your feedback has been already addressed through a refresher course training for our staff on effective guest interaction.

Once again please accept my sincere apology for disappointing you. I hope that you will give us the opportunity to reverse the impression of your last stay and visit us again in the future.

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Simply a wonderful experience.
Food, service, and amenities..
A gracious and well trained staff.
The beach service was exceptional, pools and poolside restaurant.
I cannot wait for my next business trip to Muscat.






  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Carla C,

Thank you for sharing your The Chedi Muscat experience and capturing the entirety of the hotel with your descriptions.

I too, and the rest of the team can’t wait to welcome you back as a member of our growing Returning Guest family in the not so distant future.

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Chedi is absolutely magnificent. We stayed on our honeymoon for 4 nights last week during the Oman summer and Ramadan. Despite being far too hot outside, the hotel and staff were spectacular alike. The rooms, restaurant, pools, gym and gardens are all amazing, and the friendly staff cannot do enough for you in an entirely subtle way. Well worth it. Hire a 4x4 yourself and drive up to the Grand Canyon at Jebel Sharms. Amazing! The Grand Mosque is extraordinary.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with GHM Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, General Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sam G,

Thank you very much for your positive and brief review of The Chedi Muscat.

I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, stunning pool, gardens and you found our rooms equally amazing.

Our friendly staff will be very proud to be mentioned for their attentive and professional care. It is always good to read when guests have taken full advantage of our facilities as you did during your 4 days stay with us.

Once again Sam G, thank you for sharing your holiday memories with us. I hope we can welcome you back very soon.

Markus Iseli
General Manager
miseli@ghmhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way No. 3215 | 18th November Street, Muscat 133, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#3 Family Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acres 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away.The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.