We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous hotel, seaside location, great restaurants & pools” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Save Saved
You added The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   North Ghubra 32, Way No. 3215 | 18th November Street, Muscat 133, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BOOK EARLY AND SAVE
Ranked #2 of 33 hotels in Muscat
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
240 reviews 240 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Marvellous hotel, seaside location, great restaurants & pools”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We love the Chedi, so much fun in such a mall place.

Lovely rooms with baths the the size of Ireland, that take 45 minutes to fill.

Great choice restaurants, the Asian fusion is the best.

Beachside bar is a great place to chill.

Souks and wadis are a must.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa away from the min building and pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sm0ky,

Wow!! Thank you in volumes for your incredible review!! It is always nice to hear such wonderful feedback. We will make sure we share it with our staff. We are happy that you enjoyed as well the beauty of Oman.

Looking forward to welcome you back at The Chedi Muscat soon.

Sincerely,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    817
    245
    109
    36
    26
See reviews for
122
735
40
81
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha,Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at The Chedi. We booked one of their packages through the hotel website which included a 3 course dinner and a 60 minute balinese massage.

Hotel - Absolutely beautiful architecture throughout the hotel from the reception area to the Long Pool. The resort grounds are so big that even with full occupancy you would think there was only a handful of people staying. Lovely water features all through out the complex.

Room - We stayed in a Club Room, it was adequate for our 3 night stay which included a free mini bar which was replenished every day!!! Our only dislike to the room was the toilet, with only a glass door which isnt totally sealed and a toilet that amplifies this can make for a lot of embarrassing moments. There is also no where to hang towels so you end up having to leave them on the floor. There is a small (and Im not kidding) small line inside the shower cubicle to hang your swimsuit on.

Restaurants - We only had the chance to enjoy the Friday Brunch and a dinner both held in "The Restaurant". Friday Brunch is definitely worth attending and the price quite reasonable for a typical friday brunch in the Middle East. (I think its about OMR$26++ per person) Great selection of Asian, Indian, Arabic and western food. Also had a great selection of seafood.
Our 3 course meal in The Restaurant was also well presented, huge portion sizes (so be careful what you order, we just had enough room for dessert - just!!) We would definitely eat there again.

Pools - There are 3 pools on the complex, each one as beautiful as the other. The one closest to the sea is The Chedi pool. The Long Pool which is the one in most pics is great after 2pm. There are no umbrellas or any type of shade so is only enjoyed mid afternoon onwards. The Serai pool which is located closer to the main complex is the only pool that children are allowed to swim in. Its still a beautiful pool.

Spa - Our package included a 60 minute balinese massage for 2. We saved this for the last day but regretted not going earlier as we wouldve booked in for more treatment. we enjoyed a great massage by 2 ladies from Bali!! Bonus!! The room is beautiful and relaxing and you really dont want the 60 minutes to end. The highlight though of the spa is their RELAXING ROOM!! After all treatments you are invited to transition in the relaxing room. Its probably in our opinion the best place in the whole complex. You are invited to relax and offered light refreshments and left in there until you are ready to leave. It has a water feature in the middle and probably one of the best views out towards the ocean where you can recline in one of the chairs facing the view.

STAFF - I take my hat off to the staff, you are always acknowledged by them all, from the reception staff to the grounds mans. having some difficult clients to deal with we bore witness to some very patient and accommodating staff. They truly made our stay enjoyable and hassle free.

To wrap up I would say YES it is expensive, and really doesnt accommodate families but for people like us (a couple) it was a great way to spend a long weekend. Anything longer is too much I reckon. Theres not enough to do there but EAT, SWIM & SLEEP.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear melindoha,

Greetings from The Chedi Muscat.

We are so glad you had a memorable experience and thank you for taking the time to write this review.

If we may second your sentiments, the architecture of the resort is beautiful and making our guests feel relaxed and comfortable with our service and the different activities we offer is important to us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed this.

Concerning the Toilet, thank you very much for your feedback and we addressed it already with our Engineering Department for them to find a solution.

We will be only too happy to welcome you upon your return, so please let us know when you do.

Yours sincerely

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

From the welcome to the checkout this sumptuous hotel ticked many if not all the boxes. Restful, private, romantic, quality service (some comments were lost in translation, but easily forgiven). The architecture stole the show, the Omani, Arabic style and inspired layout added to the experience, the infinity pool was stunning.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Winstone7,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at The Chedi Muscat.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed at the Chedi in a Suite for five nights. Suite was large and very comfortable . Found the hotel staff to be excellent, especially the housekeeping and dining staff who were efficient and helpful. WIFI was fast and allowed me to watch a football game with no holdups. Restaurants pricey but good quality and breakfast ( included in the our rate) was also first class.
Mix up when we checked in on an AMEX upgrade, but my wife sorted it with AMEX the next day and all was well. They even saw it was my wife's birthday and gave her a small cake in the room-good work.. It is true that there are some areas of the hotel off limit for children, but when you are trying to relax after a very long day, is that so bad?
Will stay there on my next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Sim0n_2009,

Greetings from The Chedi Muscat.

So glad to hear that you had a great stay! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed the our WIFI and our Breakfast. I will of course have a look at the mix up concerning the Amex upgrade, and we will make sure at your next stay there will be no mix up anymore.

Looking forward to welcome you again at The Chedi Muscat


Warm Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great find!! The Chedi Muscat was a wonderful stop over for a 4 day break after travelling in Africa. The grounds and gardens are divine! The staff are attentive and helpful and go the extra mile. The rooms were tasteful and comfortable with beautiful garden views. There is choice of 3 pools and a bunch of restaurants. The food was excellent! Laundry service, spa, afternoon tea and cocktails all stand outs. I can't fault the Chedi. Such a peaceful beautiful spot.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Heiners,

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your recent stay at The Chedi Muscat!
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and we are delighted to read that you appreciated every moment of it.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards,

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The Hotel is really gorgeous, the architecture is fantastic, a modern arabian style, the pools are unforgettable......but if you have a child, please change hotel because for you and for your family the 60% of the Hotel is forbidden! Child are not welcome and the only possibility is to stay in the Family Pool and close to it where all the family are grouped......
The employees of the Hotel are not up to work in a 5 stars hotel and I'm still waiting for a call from the SPA where I asked for a manicure.....
Wi-fi is terrible and planes on your head every 10 minutes....
Oman is great but next time we will go in Al Bustan for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Silvia C,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and sharing your experience with us about your stay at The Chedi Muscat, which we very much appreciate as it help us improve both our service and our product.

We truly apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced during your stay at our hotel, and we of course understand your comments concerning the Kids Policy.

We wish to assure you that your concerns are well noted, and would appreciate allowing us to contact you, seeking more details how we can improve on your Experience.

Kindly send us your contact information at cgirsch@ghmhotels.com. We look forward to hearing from you.

best regards
Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a wonderful 8 night stay at the Chedi. Its a great place to go to relax and unwind. The hotel grounds are beautiful, and the swimming pool areas wonderfully designed, and are a pleasure to spend the day relaxing around. Some people have mentioned noise polution from the airport. I guess it depends where you come from and what you are used to (we're from Central London - so by comparision we found there to be very few airplanes and noise polution to be limited). The airport is about 10km away and from time to time aircraft do pass over the hotel on approach to landing. I think you'll only find it disruptive if you are not from an urban area.

As well as the grounds we found the standards in the various restaurants excellent. The staff were always on hand to help and were polite, friendly and very efficient. I even needed to make a conference call for work on one of the days and they provided me with business facilities.

We returned to our lives following the holiday, feeling relaxed refreshed and wished we could have spent more time there! ....but now to list what we felt were the only downsides:
1. We felt that the standard of the room was below our expectation. I thought this as soon as I entered the room. Some of the soft furnishings in the room looked a bit tired and worn. Also the minimalist style and general decor of the room is beginning to look a bit dated. It was at the bottom of the range of what I would expect of a 5-star hotel.
2. There are a number of restuarants in the hotel, and whilst the standard of food is very good, they are very, very expensive. Each evening we had main course and desert and one glass of wine each, with water and typically the bill was £90-£125 (GBP). We dined twice at the more expensive 'beach restaurant', and this was £150-£160 each time. We also had lunch on a few days, this was equally very expensive. A few pool-side sushi snacks with a glass of wine each, cost the best part of £60. We didn't dine outside of the hotel in the time we were there (checked it out online - and it didn't look great). I don't know how these prices compare to European or US standards, but compared to London for the quality, I would say pricing is about 30-40% higher.

(note that I understand that this sort of pricing is typical in the region...so you'll find it at the other hotels in the area and indeed in Dubai. It is good quality but be prepared for a steep bill on check-out.)

3. Finally there is next to no information given by the staff and in the rooms regarding things to do in Muscat. In fact one of the staff whilst giving my wife a treatment in a spa told her about the men in the town, and that she didn't feel safe as a woman going outside...and that was it... my wife was then reluctant to explore Muscat!! Great, I might as well have gone to Marbella.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chedimuscat, Manager at The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Ali_23h,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.

We will review your comments in details and see how we can build upon them, our goal is to anticipate and exceed our guests' expectations; it is through your constructive feedback that we are able to constantly strive to improve our products and facilities.

I do however hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to welcome you back to our Resort.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you have any questions.

Until then I remain with warm regards from Muscat.

Christoph K. Girsch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel

Address: North Ghubra 32, Way No. 3215 | 18th November Street, Muscat 133, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
#2 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#2 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 Family Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying a prime beachfront location, this exclusive 21-acres 5 star beach resort is located 20 minutes north of old Muscat, the capital of The Sultanate of Oman, at Al Ghubra. The Chedi Muscat is ideally located for business and leisure travelers alike as the main tourist attractions, the financial centre and Muscat International Airport are only a 15 minutes drive away.The Chedi Muscat, a member of “The Leading Hotels of The World” and Oman’s first contemporary hotel, opened its doors in 2003. The resort offers understated elegance and a perfect mix of Omani architecture and a profound Asian Zen-style. The minimalist lines of the low-rise buildings are accentuated by gardens of symmetrical simplicity, with lines of manicured hedges and ordered pools of water, creating an implacable Zen calm. All 158 rooms have breathtaking views across the gardens and ponds, mountains and the Gulf of Oman. As well as a 370m private beach, The Chedi Muscat offers guests a choice of three pools: the adults-only infinity Chedi Pool, surrounded by cabanas and with a superb seafront location and the recently opened 103-metre outdoor pool The Long Pool, and the family friendly Serai Pool, with its black mosaics and elegant canopy plus 2 flood lit tennis courts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chedi Muscat Hotel Muscat Governorate
The Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Oman
Chedi Hotel Oman
Chedi Hotel Muscat
Chedi Muscat Oman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chedi Muscat – a GHM hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.