We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Muscat Holiday

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Muscat Holiday to your Saves list
Hotel Muscat Holiday
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dohat Al Adab Street, Al Khuwair, Muscat 00111, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I was put up here by Oman Air- NOT a pleasant experience…- and it was a welcome sight after my journey. The breakfast is plentiful and the staff were very helpful. My only complaint is that I didn't have long enough in the very comfy bed (again, Oman Air's fault, not the hotel) and that the pool area was under renovation. I think it would be better to do that in winter when none wants to swim rather than a blazing hot summer day...

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Muscat Holiday, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear jmm73,

Many thanks for your time sharing your stay with us especially your comments about our staff. We would be glad to welcome you back and enjoy a longer experience sooner or later.

Kind regards,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    57
    26
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
19
14
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I have been staying in this hotel on and off since last 18 months. It's been a great stay for me. The location is really nice with a lot of restaurants around the hotel. There's a bowling alley just opposite the hotel and the hotel is very close to the highway which makes it easier to travel. Breakfast spread is fine and please ask Naushad to help you with some really amazing masala scrambled eggs (bhurji) and masala tea. He makes them really well. The hotel does not have any garden or lawn but has a swimming pool and gym. The hotel staff is very warm and the cleaning staff do a really awesome job to ensure the rooms are perfectly clean.

Room Tip: Prefer 3rd, 4th and 5th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Muscat Holiday, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear SiddharthS,

We are really pleased that you are always considering us whenever you are here in Muscat. Our staff is truly grateful for all your remarks and for that, our warm welcome will be waiting for you once again.

Kind Regards,

Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The property is very old but has been renovated. It is right next next to Ibis and Oman bowling centre. The location is great. Hotel rooms are newly renovated and looks modern and sleek.The reception and exteriors still looks old.Good for business not for family.

Room Tip: Choose rooms newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel,is easy to find from the main highway and only 10 minutes drive from the airport. Large reception area, well decorated and plenty of comfortable seating. Rooms are comfy with everything you would expect to find, mini bar, safe etc. The hotel has several different bars and restaurants which are well served and offer a excellent choice of food and drink, the staff are well briefed, polite without being over attentive.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRODept, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Muscat Holiday, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Richard M,

Thank you for such a concise and encouraging comments shared on Trip Advisor. We couldn’t be more delighted to have you back and stay with us at Hotel Muscat Holiday.

Kind Regards,
Guest Relations Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

I am staying in that hotel frequently, originally it got recommended to me by a customer. It might seem a bit outdated, however I always found all facilities in clean and working condition during my stays. Of course you cannot compare it to a resort hotel with waterfront, but on none of my trips I found anything to complain about.
Also the rooms always made a clean impression, internet was working fine during my visits.
The food variety at the main restaurant is rather simple. The bar next door "Churchill's Pub" serves some snacks in addition to the buffet in the main restaurant. It is obviously not a 5 star kitchen, but more than enough for a business traveler. I found the Churchill's Pub quite cozy, however I can imagine it is not everyone's taste. I think there are not that many bars in that area of the town in walking distance. For me it was fine. (there is a sports bar next door on the same level, however I never really tried it, it makes more of a cold impression)
For those who like to stay out late the hotel has another bar on the basement level called "Layalina". I am not so sure what this place is meant to be, some might find it entertaining, some might find it a bit bizarre. It is a bar with a kind of catwalk stage with some ladies dancing and singing...it is a bit smoky as well. So if you don't like noise and a bit bizarre live performances just avoid a visit there, if you are adventurous just walk in, entrance is free for hotel guests.
The hotel staff was always friendly during my stays and was greeting me always with a smile. The place is not necessarily the best for sight seeing, since they are a taxi ride away which might take 15-30 minutes depending on the traffic.
If you are around in Muscat for a business trip, you should give it a try.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

I stayed in this hotel early in May 2014.

The general impression is of a tired and rather down at heel establishment.
The décor is sombre and wearing thin at the edges. The furniture is as tired as the hotel itself.
The internet facility is stil ancient and is only available by purchasing a card at reception. These are available in units of a half hour, an hour, twelve hours and twenty four hours. That leap between an hour and twelve hours is disingenuous at best.
The breakfast is poor as is the general standard of food.
I visited the Churchill bar which definitely looks like it hasn't had any TLC since the death of that famous politician. I ordered a chef's salad. This was delayed because the Chef had gone off to pray and when it did arrive it consisted of a large amount of coarsely sliced processed meat and sweet peppers and a tiny amount of lettuce. This was accompanied by a spicy sauce. Very poor.

On a brighter note, the staff - although similarly shabby - are a delight and could not be friendlier.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was a great choice for us on our arrival to Oman. The staff was friendly, and the breakfast spread offered a great variety both hot & cold including eggs/omelettes to order. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Best of all was being able to swim with our 7-year-old in the afternoon when it felt too hot to do much else. We also took advantage of the free shuttle to the large MGM mall.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Muscat Holiday? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Muscat Holiday

Address: Dohat Al Adab Street, Al Khuwair, Muscat 00111, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Muscat Holiday 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Muscat Holiday reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Muscat Holiday, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.