We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the glitzy experience that some hotels offer in this part of the world, but pleasant enough for a week's stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Muscat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Muscat to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Muscat
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Muscat
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not the glitzy experience that some hotels offer in this part of the world, but pleasant enough for a week's stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2009

October is the ideal time to visit Muscat and Oman, and this was our 3rd visit to the country. Having stayed at the Hyatt a couple of times we thought we would try the Crowne Plaza as it seemed nearer to the city. Not so! Even though some advice given was that it was within "walking distance" to the main shops etc it was in reality quite a hike, and in the heat of the day completely impractical.
The hotel itself was quiet and a times we had the pool area almost to ourselves. The rooms are quite small and the decor dated but the bed was comfortable and the room very clean. The pool area is in need of refurbishment and looks a little old fashioned. We did ask for the "musak" round the pool area to be turned down as loud pop (coming from speakers disguised as rocks!) is very intrusive. Guests also need to be aware that the private beach is down a considerable flight of steps which was no problem for us, but guests with children or for those less mobile this would be a problem.
Service at breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Generally the Crowne is not on a par with the Hyatt and its companions and this is reflected in its 4 star rating. Oman is a fabulous destination. Rent a car and get out and about to see Nizwa, the mountains and a bit of local culture.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear LavenderEngland,

I would like to thank you for your review of the Crowne Plaza Muscat.

We appreciate your comments as this will enable us to focus on what guests are expecting during their stay with us and it also shows us how we can improve certain area's.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you back at our hotel in the future,

with regards,
Ronny Fuss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    348
    94
    27
    9
See reviews for
121
219
48
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

I stayed here for one night while on holiday in Muscat. The rooms are small and clean, with comfortable beds. There is a nice pool overlooking the Gulf. The service was efficient and polite. But, the rooms were fairly expensive, especially in relationship to the actual amenities of the hotel. Unless you absolutely need to stay right on the Gulf, I wouldn't recommend staying here; you can find similar hotels at cheaper rates.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear MPLSKevin,

i would like to thank you for your review of our hotel and am sorry to hear that you found your stay with us expensive as we believe we have the right pricing for the product and service that we are offering.

If you would like to give me more information about your expectations/value for money, please feel free to contact me on ronny.fuss@cpmuscat.com.

Your comments and suggestions are very important for us so that we can understand our guests' needs.

With regards,
Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Very welcoming. All members of staff very professional. Beautiful room - worth paying for sea view room. Had a club room which included use of club lounge. A very useful addition - peaceful, free use of internet, somewhere to relax in the cool other than my room, snacks and drinks available at all times. Breakfast great in Tropicana restaurant. Dukes bar - had great Steak and Guiness pie in there! Come Prima - best Tiramisu I have ever tasted! Pool and beach area clean, tidy and welcoming. I realise that there are superior hotels in Muscat and I visited many of them during my stay. What I like though about the Crowne Plaza is the 'homely feel.' I was made to feel 'special' by the staff and not just another tourist. I can't wait to come back

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear JobySolihull,

i would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your review and comments about our hotel and hope to see you again in the near future.

With regards,
Ronny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briancon, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

No WOW factor here, although it does have a commanding position above Qurum Beach and breakast is quite a spread, complete with perfectly cooked scrambled egg, ( no mean feat!!) The rooms are perfectly adequate, clean and comfortable, & perhaps more designed towards the business traveller. Sadly, we had expected the food at the "inhouse" Shiraz restaurant to provide the missing wow factor. "Time Out Muscat" raved about it, but the dinner costing @£100 had no more finesse than you would find at a local London kebab house, although the bread basket was delicious but at what a cost!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear Jelliski,

i would like to thank you for your review of our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate your comments and i am sorry to hear about your experience at our Iranian "Shiraz" Restaurant.

I have passed your comments to our executive chef and i can ensure you that this will be discussed with the team.

Once again, thank you for your comments and i do hope to see you back at our hotel in the future.

With Regards,
Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

hotel is placed on a private beach, delicous dinner and awesome breakfast...

Stayed October 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear Delhaye83,

thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us.

We hope to see you again at our hotel in the near future.

Regards und freundliche grussen,

Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

This is a tourist hotel and not a luxury hotel, although it is a 4-star hotel. Too expensive and poor service compared to the other 4 and 5 star hotels in Muscat. Be wise, pay a little bit more for Grand Hyatt or Intercontinental. Location of Crowne Plaza is beautiful with a lovely seaview, so if spending the night here, pay extra for seaview. Rooms are small and old fashioned. Wireless internet is rediculous expensive. When ordering a drink/ food on the terrace of Duke's Bar, don't be surprised you'll have to wait a long time before the waitress is coming to take your order. This doesn't meet my expectations of a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear A3aan,

I would like to thank you for your comments and your review regarding our hotel.

We appreciate your comments and i can only apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay with us.

I can ensure you that we have discussed your comments regarding the wireless, rooms and service in Duke's in order to avoid any such occurances in the future.

I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the future,

Regards,
Ronny Fuss.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

Lovely hotel, great location, the greatest view, very very cooperating staffs, huge variety of breakfast - what else one needs when holidaying? Staffs were very very friendly. When I was into the gym, a Philipino Health club staff played with my 5 years old daughter though out the period. I didn;t even ask him to do so. He even insisted me to go to Sauna & Steam & he would take care of my daughter. But I didn;t, because I knew my daughter might look for me & cry. Tha's the biggest thing counted when staying at a 4 star hotels.
The Breakfast had a great variety. One day we were having lunch, the restaurant girl (Tropicana restaurant) informed us that they would have sea-food night in the evening & we shouldn;t miss that. The sea-food were started from Lobster to anything & everything. Wow...!!! But the other days' Buffet was a bit high priced compared to the food given.
Room is not much big, but it hardly matters. The view from my room was just AWESOME. The Hotel situated on the top of a hill & down it's blue sea. We already planned to stay with them again in my next Muscat trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnyFFOM_CPMuscat, Executive Assistant Manager at Crowne Plaza Muscat, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Dear ghoshsarkar,

i would like to thank your for your comments and the review of our hotel and the services offered.

We appreciate your comments and i can inform you that we have passed them on to the departments concerned.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With regards,
Ronny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Muscat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Muscat

Address: Qurum Heights | Po. Box 1455, Muscat 112, Oman
Phone Number:
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Muscat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Muscat
#2 Family Hotel in Muscat
#3 Luxury Hotel in Muscat
#3 Business Hotel in Muscat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Muscat
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Muscat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Muscat 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Muscat is magnificently nestled at the tip of Qurum Beach with breathtaking panoramic views of the Gulf of Oman. The Crowne Plaza Muscat is ideally located a short 5 minute drive from the shopping area of Qurum, 15 minute drive from Muttrah Souk, 20 minute drive from Seeb International airport, and a 10 minute drive from the government and diplomatic districts. Set in 10 acres of lush landscaped gardens within the prestigious 'Qurum Heights' area of Muscat, the Crowne Plaza Muscat's leisure facilities offer you the ideal mix of relaxation and workout after a busy day at the office. The facilities include floodlit tennis courts, swimming pool, children's pool, squash courts, a fully equipped fitness centre and a private beach. The Crowne Plaza Muscat offers 200 elegantly appointed rooms ideal for both corporate and leisure guests. Choices of dining experiences are available in the hotels restaurants. Tropicana offering International selections for breakfast, lunch and dinner, Shiraz the only authentic Persian restaurant in Oman and Come Prima with pure Italian delights. Each offers outdoor dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Muscat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Muscat Hotel Muscat
Muscat Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Muscat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.